Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

Beautiful rooms with ocean view

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: The location, staff, cleanliness and amenities.
Cons: Based on my stay, I can't think of any improvements.
Every moment at the North Cliff Hotel was fantastic and I highly recommend staying here if you're looking for a nice stay in a beautiful room with great views of the ocean. The staff was extremely friendly, our room was immaculate and beautiful. We stayed in room 303 (superior king suite) which has a huge jacuzzi tub, fireplace, California King bed and great furniture. There's continental breakfast included (til 10:30 AM!) and the food was better than you'll find most anywhere. There was a huge selection of fresh items including house made waffles, fresh eggs, and hash browns plus all the usual things you'll find like bagels, toast, cereal, fruit cups and much more. Despite the front of the hotel being fairly close to the highway, we heard no noise from the road at all. If you're worried about that at all, request a room on the northwest side and you should be totally fine. We slept with the back door open and could only hear the ocean and calming wind (plus a foghorn which might get annoying if you can't sleep). It's minutes from downtown Fort Bragg, close to a supermarket and plenty of restaurants. Glass beach is nearby which is fun to check out and you're a 30 minute drive in either direction of many nice beaches and sights. I used to stay at the Heritage House in Little River (which is great) but the North Cliff Hotel is my new favorite near Fort Bragg. Especially great for couples, it's also an excellent hotel for families.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
got there at 2pm-told not very nicely to come back at 3pm-it should have been handled better. Breakfast was excellent-room was very clean & attractive- view was good-sign in parking lot said they were not responsible for any damage to guest's cars-if that is a problem, the parking area should be lit up at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pleasanton, CA

Nice hotel, close to a lot of things...

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, size of room
Cons: Room could be cleaner. Shower head was moldy. Also, house keeping didn't always replenish supplies (i.e. coffee, sweetener, etc.)
Location: Glass Beach is only two miles away. Downtown is a mile away. Harbor Drive is right next door. Russian Gulch and Mendocino Headlands are just South.
North Cliff is right on the inlet of the Noyo River, near Noyo Bay. The hotel itself is relatively clean and comfortable. The rooms are huge. Every room has a patio that looks out onto the bay and river. There's a jacuzzi that makes it easy to relax after a long day at Glass Beach or hiking the Mendocino Headlands or Russian Gulch. Breakfast is ok, but when you stay for more than a couple days, the same old scrambled eggs and pork sausage can get old. Parking is tricky too. Not many spots and some are very close together (hard for an SUV to get in and out). Everyone is very nice and helpful. The location is nice in that you're only a walk away from Harbor Drive where you can find several restaurants and charter boats. Downtown is only 1 mile North. An easy walk or quick drive. All and all, a very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Had a great time here. Awesome views, great staff, delicious breakfast. Will come again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: View. Comfortable bed.
Very nice, clean, spacious room with beautiful view of the sea. Comfortable bed. Staff were lovely. Wish I could have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bay Area,CA

Jacuzzi Tub and Ocean View!

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Jacuzzi tub and ocean Views! Breakfast was good and staff was friendly. Fog horn would sometimes blow in the distance and was a pleasant sound.
Location: (shops, beaches, hiking, food, drinks). The Marina across the way was nice with Kayak rentals, a few shops & restaurants. Glass Beach is very cool!
Had a great stay and enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub and ocean view. Many things to do nearby (shops, beaches, hiking, food, drinks). Glass Beach! Sea Glass Museum, North Coast Brewing Co., Skunk Train (didn't ride it this time but hopefully next time), MacKerricher State Park, Town of Mendocino just a few miles away was really fun with lots of shops. (Goodlife Cafe and Bakery was a neat little breakfast spot in Mendocino) Staff at North Cliff were great and the rooms were nice! The complimentary warm breakfast was enjoyable and the breakfast staff was helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Santa Clara

Beautiful hotel with great views of the ocean

Posted Jun 27, 2017
We had a great stay at the North Cliff Hotel! Upon arriving we mentioned to the staff that it was my 50th birthday and they gave us a very nice complimentary bottle of wine. The room itself was perfect. There was a love seat facing the ocean with a fire place just to the right. It was the perfect spot to enjoy the view and the wine. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were spacious. there was a nice walk down to a small beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Great View and amazinn Jacuzzi

Posted Jun 23, 2017
We ended up in a king suite and the room was amazing. Jacuzzi with an ocean view! A couple downsides: 1.there is no AC, I know this probably is not always needed but this particular weekend was a hot one and we had a baby with us so not having AC made it a bit uncomfortable. 2. You cant walk to anything especially with little ones. Everything is close but the hotel is on one side of a MAJOR highway with lots of lanes and fast cars so we found ourselves hoping in and out of the car many times. But I will still return for the views alone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2017
Very nice hotel and comfortable to spend the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Ashley (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you so much for writing a review! I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will come back and stay with us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bay area

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted May 27, 2017
Beautiful view, nice relaxing jaccuzzi, includes breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Ashley (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback! We appreciate it very much. I hope you will come back and stay with us again!