Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Had a little ocean view
Cons: Room needs to be updated from the 70s. New carpet and bedding and new bathroom.
Location: Very quiet area, town is about 3 minute drive.
Hotel was clean and comfortable. No frills. Wifi didn't reach out to our room. We booked based on Expedia star rating comparable to a Double tree or Radisson and we're definitely disappointed. We expected a much nicer hotel. We stayed at a Best Western the next night that in comparison was actally a 3 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Hotel grounds and private beach with gorgeous views are very nice
Location: Location is great for any nature lover. There are many nature trails nearby. Don't forget to visit Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens! It's a must!
My mom and I stayed here for Thanksgiving weekend. They let us in almost an hour before check in time which was very convenient. The room was pretty big, with a good size balcony from where we could enjoy beautiful ocean views. The small private beach is very nice, we would go there every morning and evening even when it rained. The hotel grounds are nice, with many flowered bushes and trees. The hotel itself is quiet old and needs some innovations. But for the price we payed it's good enough.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as advertised.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
No restaurant. Hasn't been open for long time. No wifi. Place is run down. First room had no heat in winter. Next room was cold and damp. I didn't go back. Got a different lodging. Seemed clean though. If u just want a place to sleep and go it would be ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fair oaks, United States of America

It was a close walk to a great beach

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Ocean view
Cons: NEED TO GET NEW BEDS AND FLOORING, COULD USE A COMPLETE MAKE OVER IN FACT BUT STAFF ARE GREAT
Rooms are basic. Nothing more than. A place to sleep. Very dated. 70s in fact. Beds terribly hard and upstairs guests ruined 2 nites by walking all nite long loudly on floor or they were just super fat. Nice ocean view and staff were super friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moreno Valley, United States of America

Private Beach

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Secluded and a great place to sleep. A very nice Thai restaurant onsite. Beautiful landscaping. Private clean beach on property and it was resort worthy.
Cons: No internet or cell service, though very nice to be unplugged. Rooms outdated as well as facilities, though hit the marks in other areas.
Location: At the end of town, so you will have to go back for restaurants and shopping. Nice getaway place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: view
Cons: Better wifi,
Location: Cali Coast and redwoods!!!
Good, clean and pleasant staff. I stayed, the place needs some upgrades but it is a nice place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016
From the pictures that I saw in the Internet it looked nice but when I arrived it's old place looking more like a motel. My room was not lighted properly, I did not have enough towels or paper towels. Still the bed was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Whitehall, Pa

Nice room with real wood burning fireplace

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Nice location
Cons: Larger bathroom with a tub/shower combo
Location: It's directly across the street from the ocean on a quiet street, with a very short drive to Hearst Castle, dining, gas and shopping.
We stayed just one night to see Hearst Castle. We arrived late after driving down from Napa, and we're pleasantly surprised to find the room had a real wood burning fireplace which we enjoyed relaxing by after our long drive with some drinks before going to bed. Bathroom is really tiny, with only a shower, but that is going to be renovated we were told. The bed was very comfortable, and it has really convenient parking right outside your door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Older style hotel. Minimum facilities

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Older style, quiet location. Direct TV..
Cons: Update facilities. bathroom fittings need modernizing and functional! - Improve WiFi - mostly nonexistent! Update TVs with flat scree
Access to private Beach included.. Miss the breakfast that used to be provided but restaurants a short distance away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach

Run down motel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Everything
This hotel is extremely rundown. The carpets were frayed, the curtains were torn, half of the light switches didn't work, the faucet on the shower fell off and the water was never warm. Additionally we had no phone service and no Internet in our room. The location is not bad as it is fairly close to Mendocino and the staff is pleasant.