Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Livermore

Very warm and cozy room with a rustic cabin feel

Posted Feb 20, 2017
From the moment we arrived - which was much later in the evening - there was a hotel representative there to walk us through everything found on the hotel grounds. When it came time to go down to our room she was nice enough to go out in the rain, walk down the hill and show us where we could park. Our room was wonderful. The walls were completely covered with pine boards giving it a real cabin look and feel. We also loved the wood burning fireplace and the nice deck and sitting area outside with a view of the hotel gardens. Another nice thing about the fireplace - they had kindling and firewood along with paper stacked outside your room for easy access. The room had all the ameneties we needed - microwave, refrigerator, and a Keurig. The lobby and adjoining dining areas were very nice. Same rustic cabin feel lined with pine along with a beautiful stone fireplace and a roaring fire. The breakfast menu is completely vegan and much of the food is actually grown in a garden on the hotel grounds. Not being vegans ourselves we were actually very surprised at how good and flavorful the food was. We would recommend the Stanford Inn to anyone seeking s quiet weekend getaway.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great get-away

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
Shortly after we checked in we had a complementary dessert hour; talked to the donkeys; walked down to the river; rested; had a yoga class; ate a vegetarian dinner; rested; had a hot tub; built a fire in our fireplace and whiled away the rest of the evening. Really nice staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice inn next to Big River and near Mendocino

Posted Nov 18, 2016
We really enjoyed the nice room with fireplace, the excellent service, the beautiful grounds, complimentary bicycles that we could ride along the river, the indoor pool and spa, and the beautiful lodge with the restaurant
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pricy for a small room without a true view.

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
A bit pricy for a fairly small room (room 202) which had a very comfortable bed and wonderful wood panels throughout. The partial bay view was over-emphasized as it was barely visible from this floor. Would be nice to have the option of selecting a higher floor. Mosquitoes on the deck prevented us from enjoying the deck. Love the bike shop and rental staff was fabulous and very attentive. Great trial along Big River. This stay was for my husband's birthday (who is not vegan) but I wanted to impress him that a vegan lodging could be 'wow'.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

It's vegan only, probably won't come back.

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: Loved the horse back riding, the beaches, the wine tasting.....
It's staff was wonderful, the place was beautiful, but we didn't realize beforehand that it was vegan only and would have appreciated at least an egg, no offense, in the morning... It made is go to other locations for dinner but we managed quite well and had some remarkably great dinners, the little river, for instance had the best fish ever... They could have had all of our $$ if they catered the menu to at least some meals that weren't vegan. I mean, it's like insisting that everyone think their way and obviously they don't care about others in that way.... We like farm to fork food and eat very healthy ourselves but giving my husband tofu is laughable.... Loved the lamas, the horses, the donkeys, the goose and ducks soooo next time we'll definitely go and drink in the bar bec it's really well stocked but we're also cautious about not drinking and driving especially since it's so dark in the evening....so don't know if we'll stay there....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Location, gardens and salt water pool.
Location: You could going biking or rent a canoe for a trip up the Big River to see wildlife.
This was a great place to spend a relaxing time. The food was delicious and well prepared. Nice place for hikes, biking or enjoying the Big River via canoeing. The room we had was very comfortable and with a fireplace and balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens. The sunsets were great from the deck. HD DirecTV was weclome also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Stay

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Nice Room w/fireplace - tranquil hotel - nice pool - easy access to Mendocino town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Warm and welcoming relaxing Inn.

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
The Stanford Inn was a wonderful surprise. They have classes and activities available (vegan cooking, art play, yoga, meditation, hiking trails, canoeing, organic gardening, etc.)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful!