Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice inn next to Big River and near Mendocino

Posted Nov 18, 2016
We really enjoyed the nice room with fireplace, the excellent service, the beautiful grounds, complimentary bicycles that we could ride along the river, the indoor pool and spa, and the beautiful lodge with the restaurant
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

It's vegan only, probably won't come back.

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: Loved the horse back riding, the beaches, the wine tasting.....
It's staff was wonderful, the place was beautiful, but we didn't realize beforehand that it was vegan only and would have appreciated at least an egg, no offense, in the morning... It made is go to other locations for dinner but we managed quite well and had some remarkably great dinners, the little river, for instance had the best fish ever... They could have had all of our $$ if they catered the menu to at least some meals that weren't vegan. I mean, it's like insisting that everyone think their way and obviously they don't care about others in that way.... We like farm to fork food and eat very healthy ourselves but giving my husband tofu is laughable.... Loved the lamas, the horses, the donkeys, the goose and ducks soooo next time we'll definitely go and drink in the bar bec it's really well stocked but we're also cautious about not drinking and driving especially since it's so dark in the evening....so don't know if we'll stay there....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Location, gardens and salt water pool.
Location: You could going biking or rent a canoe for a trip up the Big River to see wildlife.
This was a great place to spend a relaxing time. The food was delicious and well prepared. Nice place for hikes, biking or enjoying the Big River via canoeing. The room we had was very comfortable and with a fireplace and balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens. The sunsets were great from the deck. HD DirecTV was weclome also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Stay

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Nice Room w/fireplace - tranquil hotel - nice pool - easy access to Mendocino town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

A Mendocino Must

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: I like the fireplace the lush gardens and the food which was excellent .
Location: The end is located just down the road from the town of Mendocino and a short bike ride to a very interesting beach area .
My experience at the Stafford Inn can only be described as excellent. The food is beyond great, everything I had was prepared with thoughtfulness and expertise. My room was comfortable and adequate with a small balcony overlooking the lush gardens. We used the fireplace one evening when it got cool. And the indoor saltwater pool is great for kids. A short walk to the dock and you can enjoy the canoeing. The next time I visit Northern California I will definitely stay at Stanford Inn.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, helpful staff

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Enjoyed fireplace in room, clean. Not our style - not into tofu and yoga
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Inn is very nice except for vegan proselytism

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Quality of accommodations and friendliness of staff
Cons: Stop the vegan proselytizing
The rooms are quite nice and spacious with fireplaces that are supplied daily. The staff is friendly and efficient. The only problem if you are not vegan is the vegan religious philosophy brochure that is handed to you when you check in. It is way over the top and makes you think you are dealing with "vegan Jehovah's Witnesses" in the form of the owners. The restaurant is vegan, and while not our cup of tea, is good - we tried it for breakfast one morning. All the rest of our meals were elsewhere since we didn't want tofu 25 different ways.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey, Ca

MENDOCINO COASTAL RESPITE!

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: Can't think of anything especially as I am sure if one is into Yoga and being Vegan, this would be heaven! Television service is abysmal.
Location: Well, it is Mendocino so not much but the walks, hikes and beach and the usual touristy stuff in the main town.
Hotel staff were helpful on check-in! Front desk person even came to our room to help us with the television which didn't work unless it was rebooted. TV never did work without rebooting throughout our stay. We couldn't even see a movie as Hotel didn't appear to have an agreement with DirectTV whereby the Hotel are billed and the customer billed through the Hotel. Thought we would try the Vegan restaurant which I don't doubt was pleasing if you were Vegan. The taste of my Buckwheat Pancakes made my decision to abandon the idea!! Hotel had many facilities for Yoga, meditation etc., none of which are of interest to my husband and I but the ambience of the place was certainly peaceful and serene. We took our little dog with us which was the main reason for choosing this in the first place. One thing a little puzzling was why we were put on the second floor when the Hotel was less than half full, it being February! Certainly not because of our dog as we were told there were no "dog rooms", dogs were welcome in all of the rooms as they were also welcome at dinner and breakfast in the bar area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Meadow Vista, CA

Very good hotel. Food is a problem.

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Cons: The restaurant.
Check in, check out, the room, the location, facilities (like the pool) are excellent. Breakfast was included at the all vegan restaurant. I felt like the prejudices of the owner were forced on me. I won't go back only because of the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Cons: Menu options.
Location: Downtown is easily accessed via walk, bike or car.
Very charming location and grounds. Very friendly and helpful staff.Bonnie showed us to our room and was very helpful. The only thing I was not completely sold on was the vegan format for nutrition. We chose to eat elsewhere due to limiting availability of protein,too many beans. Loved the pool and the yoga class.