Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa

Reservation request ignored

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Staying there with biz partner. Made res a week ahead. We were given smallest room with one bed to share when I requested 2 beds & alternative rooms in hotel were worse! You can't beat the location, we were late to my Art opening already, so we stayed. It was one of the garden "suites" . Good luck if it's a busy weekend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Petersburg, Fl

Historic hotel Great location

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pleasant staff Amazing housekeepers Extremely small room #3 with lobby noise until late in the evening
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Vintage Hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2017
We had a teeny tiny room with the bathroom directly across the hall. It worked great for us as we aren't hang around the room type folks. Lobby with morning coffee and tea was gorgeous. Great location. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Position, style, warmness.
Cons: The floor in our room was inclined. It was very easy to correct the position of the bed using something under its foot.
Location: The location is fantastic.
The location is fantastic, but the room are very small compared with the pictures that you see when you book the rooms. Also, the victorian room are over the kitchen and there is a strong vibration all the day (ending around 10:40pm and restarting after 7am). So, it is very nice, but it should be definitely improved.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

In need of attention

Posted Nov 21, 2016
The location is perfect. You have access within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, etc. The room itself is in need of repair. The fireplace was not in working condition. The reading lamps were falling off the wall. Carpets quite dirty. There was no coffee table for the couch. Hence no place for your coffee etc. Our room was in need of attention. I do not know what the other rooms look like, but with just a bit of work the room would have been much nicer. Perhaps we received this room as we had a 3 year old child with us. Mendocino in general is not a very child friendly place. It is an excellent place for a romantic adventure.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel in the heart of the town

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location in the heart of town with views of the ocean. Friendly, hospitable staff that make one feel at home. Food and drinks were available on the main floor. Other guests were less than considerate when it came to the shared bathrooms and often left them filthy. Signs reminding other guests of appropriate bathroom use may be helpful. I would recommend a room with a private bathroom.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was very nice and hotel is charming.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cool hotel that goes back in time

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
This was a cool hotel with bar and restaurant. The rooms are small and you share bathrooms on your floor. Reminded me of going back in time. Nice view, nice little town. Decorated with antiques. The staff was excellent. Definitely a place to check out on your travels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location with hostel-like accommodations

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The location is stunning, on the Main Street of Mendocino with a view that rivals just about any place on earth.
Cons: The rooms can be tiny, really tiny. Mostly shared bathrooms. Rooms are clean but a little dog eared.
Location: Just walk around, hit Cafe Beaujolais, go taste wine on highway 128.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No room at the inn

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel had a guest not move out and we had another room first night that was not as good. They discounted our room rate