Ratings based on 269 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bel hôtel de style victorien près de l'océan.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Le style, l'authenticité et le personnel.
Location: Bel emplacement et tout ce fait à pied, galeries, boutiques et océan, lorsqu'on ne passe que 2 jours.
Je n'ai que passé qu'une nuit. La toilette et la douche sur l'étage me convient. Heureusement hors saison moins de monde. Excellente bouffe, je me suis régalée.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

In need of attention

Posted Nov 21, 2016
The location is perfect. You have access within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, etc. The room itself is in need of repair. The fireplace was not in working condition. The reading lamps were falling off the wall. Carpets quite dirty. There was no coffee table for the couch. Hence no place for your coffee etc. Our room was in need of attention. I do not know what the other rooms look like, but with just a bit of work the room would have been much nicer. Perhaps we received this room as we had a 3 year old child with us. Mendocino in general is not a very child friendly place. It is an excellent place for a romantic adventure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location with hostel-like accommodations

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The location is stunning, on the Main Street of Mendocino with a view that rivals just about any place on earth.
Cons: The rooms can be tiny, really tiny. Mostly shared bathrooms. Rooms are clean but a little dog eared.
Location: Just walk around, hit Cafe Beaujolais, go taste wine on highway 128.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mendicino

All is very lovely

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: its 18 th cent. ambience
nice nice nice nice nice------------------------------------------------------------------
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, tiny rooms, missing things

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Room was small and dark (room 22) and desperately needed a table or surface to put things on besides a 12 x 12 nightstand. Location can't be beat, and the room was clean. Bed was old, but not terribly uncomfortable. Not a bad stay for the price, would probably try to get a better room with more windows if staying again and that would make a world of difference. Lots of smells from the kitchen which was nice for a bit, but quickly became not as pleasant...not sure how to fix that. Felt like I was on the set of. BBC murder mystery. Definitely not a hotel I would recommend to everyone, but if you are flexible and look at accommodation as a place to sleep and shower that needs to be clean and have some personality as a bonus, stay here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Everything about the Mendocino Hotel was fantastic with the exception of the bartender (older gentlemen) who served us dinner the night we ate in the bar area. I usually would not complain about something like this but we've been there before and both times he was beyond terrible.
4 out of 5
by Bob from Boston, MA

Adequate Lodging at Good Price

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Small comfortable room with shared bath. No AC. Room got too hot & no way to change
4 out of 5
by Michelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Hotel needs some modern updating

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Very small rooms. Not enough clothes space. Wifi connection in room is poor. Cafe' downstairs emits gas fumes and smell of food upstairs. The carpet has a damp and musky smell to it. The bed frame is squeaky.
4 out of 5
by Dan from PA

Beautiful hotel in an awesome town

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel with friendly staff. Very clean, but small, rooms. The building is awesome and old, which has pros and cons. The bed was a little squeaky but otherwise it was comfortable.