Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Lovely spot

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Clean, nice staff, they allowed my dogs to stay with us
Cons: Possibly a larger selection of healthy snacks for sale in the lobby. As long as that wouldn't make it look trashy. It's very nice as it is now.
Location: One multiuse building in easy walking distance, otherwise drive to town, or the lighthouse, or anywhere along the beautiful coast.
From the initial check in all the way to the final check-out every staff member I met was nice, polite and cheerful. The location is beautiful, but a little remote - there's not much within an easy walking distance. I would absolutely stay here again if I were in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel next to the ocean

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Ocean view, nice cozy rooms
Location: Ocean, wharf view
Wow, what a scenic setting next to the Pacific Ocean! Hotel was just a stone's throw from the ocean and a breathtaking cliff view. Rooms were elegant with great animinties at a fair price...
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017 by Deb, Hotel Management
We are thrilled you so greatly enjoyed your stay with us here at the Wharf Master's Inn. We cannot wait for you to come back and visit with us again. Hurry! The whales are passing by our lovely cove. Jeff and Deborah, Innkeepers
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room, lousy approach to hospitality

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Location and the room quality
Cons: Hospitality from the staff
Nope, not this one. Keep looking. Despite booking and paying for three adults, they seemed suprised and a bit put out by our need for an air mattress to supplement. I was a bit put out myself, as the website lists the rooms as "sleeping 3." I expected a roll-away and not an air mattress. But no matter! But wait, matter, because this begrudgingly-provided air mattress leaked during the night. We tried to call for a replacement, but they keep no one on-site after about 9 pm. When I stopped by the office to let them know about the air mattress, the office door was still locked although the staff were inside. They looked at me waiting outside and largely ignored me. To their credit, they refunded me the cost of the leaky air mattress. To their discredit, their response to my concerns about our treatment and experience largely focused on blaming me. If they had been gracious in their response, I probably wouldn't have take the time to write this negative review.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017 by Deb, Hotel Management
Unfortunately, we were away when this occurred so we cannot speak directly for our front desk coverage while we were absent. However, we take great pride in our Guest Service and cannot imagine a scenario as you've described. That being said, we will diligently approach our staff with regarding your review and will be sure that excellent Guest Service is carried out - whether we are here - or not. We wish to extend an invitation for you to visit us, once again, and we will, personally, make sure you are well taken care of. Jeff and Deborah, Innkeepers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend getaway

Posted May 8, 2017
Great place to stay on the coast. Ocean views are spectacular. Staff was great and breakfast was very good. Will definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Deb, Hotel Management
Thank you for such a lovely review of your stay with us here at the Wharf Master's Inn. We are happy you are coming back to visit with us and this lovely part of the Mendocino Coast. Jeff and Deborah, Innkeepers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Fantastic location, great hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Absolutely beautiful location. Friendly staff and lovely rooms. If you can then pay more for a room with a view/balcony because it is definitely worth it here. The breakfast is provided and has everything you need to set you up for the day. Peaceful quiet location with very little around it but in a stunning location with wonderful views
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Deb, Hotel Management
Thank you, Hannah, for such an awesome review! We are thrilled you so greatly enjoyed your stay with us! Hurry back and watch the whale migration from your private balcony full ocean view room. Hope to see you soon. Jeff and Deborah, Innkeepers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area Ca.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Had a spectacular view of the ocean. Very private corner room was great. The only thing I would say is the little room heater on the fake fireplace wasn't enough to really warm the room up at night. High ceilings prevented the room from warming up to a comfortable level. Otherwise it was a great experience! Thanks!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Deb, Hotel Management
Thank you for such a lovely review. We have been experiencing more than normal cold winter storms. It's been a doozy of a year for us in California. There isn't usually a need for any extra heat. However, we wish you had let us know, we do have space heaters that we would've been glad to bring to your room. Please be sure to let us know if there are any needs we can reasonably accommodate. We take great pride in our quality guest service. Hurry back and visit with us soon!! Jeff and Deborah, Innkeepers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice get away.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: It was quiet and the bed was very comfortable.
Cons: It was all good
Location: Hard to find the hotel, it would have been very had to find in the dark. We went wine tasting.
Great view of the ocean, restaurant was close and very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by Deb, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 Star Rating. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back soon to watch the whale migration with us! Jeff and Deborah, Innkeepers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Lovely time- the breakfast is great idea-- wish they had more fresh fruit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Deb, Hotel Management
Thank you, Sysan, for such a kind review. We cannot keep fresh fruit as where we are located - it doesn't last but a day and we are nowhere near a market. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. Jeff and Deborah, Innkeepers
4 out of 5
by Kaitlin

Perfectly nice

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was difficult to find at night and power was out due to a storm, but the rooms were comfortable and cute. Not much to do in the area except for hiking, but great access to US1.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Gene, Hotel Management
Hi, Kaitlin. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with the Wharf Master's Inn. There are a lot of things to do in the area - you just needed to ask us. We are always glad to assist our guests with day adventures and evening fun and great restaurants. On your next visit, be sure to ask at the front desk what there is to do - because we are full of great ideas for places to go, see and experience!! Hurry back soon! Jeff and Deborah, Innkeepers
5 out of 5
by Christian

Loved it!!!!

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
Highly recommended for a romantic getaway! We spent our Valentine weekend here and it was awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you, Christian, for such a fantastic review of your stay at the Wharf Master's Inn. We greatly look forward to your next visit! Hurry back soon! Jeff and Deborah, Innkeepers