Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Don't let the reviews scare you!

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Great value, right in town, cute Victorian theme, lovely gardens.
Cons: Friendlier desk people . I can see how the notes about staff not always being available might come off as a bit dismissive or uncaring to other guests
Location: Top of the hill in the village of Mendocino - 5 minute walk to the main grocery store.
Booked the hotel last minute for a weekend trip from SF to Mendocino. I was hesitant to book because so many of these reviews were negative, but I was pleasantly surprised to find a lovely and comfy inn when I arrived. The building is old, yes - but it is NOT dilapidated or falling apart, the garden room we booked did NOT smell weird, and it was actually really large! The bed was comfy, blankets clean, and the place was overall a great value for the price. The front desk lady wasn't particularly friendly, but I only had to interact with her for like 2 minutes. The hotel has a beautiful garden, and even though it's a little dated (mostly noticed the decor of the lobby) it is by no means run down! DONT LET THE REVIEWS SCARE YOU!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chico, CA

Hotel misrepresented online in poor condition

Posted Oct 17, 2017
The ad on Expedia stated there was a restaurant and a bar which did not exist. The room and furnishings and bedding were old and out of date making them feel & appear soiled . There was no glass Cover on the gas fireplacemaking it unusable & the window screens had holes in them with with bugs coming in, forcing us to close the window and have no fresh ocean air or ocean sound. Multiple cigarette burns on hallways outside. Office personnel were not always available. Left at 5 o'clock and doors to lobby locked & would not reopen until morning with a message stating if we needed something we were to contact a different hotel in the area which was very inconvenient. When staff was available they were very nice and personable We feel like we were overcharged for amenities we did not receive and believe some refund is in order. please contact us regarding this complaint
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The staff at this hotel treated my son and family very well this week as they were displaced by the wildfires. He had nothing but good things to say.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worn out, over rated

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Quite
Cons: Front desk person
Web site shows a nice dinning room and bar on site, well it is there but closed. Only used for special occasions .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2017
The bed was uncomfortable, the mattress worn, the hair dryer didn't work, the door to the bathroom could barely slide shut, the towels were small/old/rough. I expected higher quality all around than what this hotel provided.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma WA

Nice to stay - few amenities

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Within a short walk of Mendocino for shopping and dining.
Expedia description stated there was a restaurant and bar on the premises, which was the primary reason we. hose this property. Unfortunately there no longer is a restaurant or bar there. There are several option in town for dining. The rooms are quaint but wall outlets maybe inaccessible if you need to plug things in next to the bed. Hotel was clean and quiet and I would recommend just don't expect to be dining there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Housekeeping needs improvement

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Furniture and bible were very dusty. Nice and comfy bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by ruthann, Hotel Management
We apologize for your room not being clean. The issue has been addressed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dunsmuir, CA

Close to beach. Close to shopping

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: It has potential. Staff was helpful and friendly.
Cons: Cleanliness, outdated pieces. Time to refurbish.
Location: Location was great. Close to the ocean, close to town and shopping.
First room had a very moldy smell. Lady working desk immediately set us up with another room. Bathroom had hair on floor (yuck). Furniture very old and outdated. Woke up first morning dying for coffee and coffee pot in room didn't work. Accidentally locked my key in room and nobody around to open it. Had to call the sister hotel to have it unlocked. Really don't like that there isn't anybody in office from 8:00 p.m. or so til 6:30 a.m.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older dated hotel.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Older dated hotel. No elevator to our floor. Poor internet signal. Lots of maintenance needed around the property. Seemed the host lacked motivation. Not sure why we were given a 2nd floor room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by ruthann, Hotel Management
We apologize for the internet being out and lack of maintenance. We are updating the hotel but keeping the old world charm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Aug 29, 2017
They have new owners who're working hard to update and renovate the inn. Our room was spacious and nicely furnished. We would've stayed longer if we could.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by ruthann, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. Looking forward to your next visit.