Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted May 13, 2015
Big bed, good breakfast, tv didnt work at first, staff was somewhat bitter
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Oct 19, 2014
The staff was helpful and very professional, the room was perfect and the location is great. I look forward to returning to Mendoza and staying there again in the future.
2 out of 5
by Adventurer176

ADVENTURER176

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Orbitz
My main complaint was that I was on the 2nd floor, (really the 3rd floor according to US standards) and I heard traffic noise all night. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. It was close to the bus station. Just 20 pesos away.
4 out of 5
by Kristen

Raul is a rock star

Posted Dec 25, 2012 on Hotels
First, the things that could be better. It was a little bit far from the city center (though only a 10 minute walk), the wifi was weak in certain areas (which I happened to need) and the breakfast was meh, BUT the staff there were super helpful. I don't speak Spanish (note, it is really hard if you don't) and Raul and another gentleman whose name I didn't get were so helpful in making day trip arrangements and making sure I was able to get to the places I needed to go. They really went out of their way to be helfpul.
2 out of 5
by CKW from Exeter, Devon, UK

Sleepless night in Mendoza

Posted Apr 4, 2012
Pros: Reasonable proximity to shops and restaurants
Cons: The noise at night
Location: Located in a fairly scruffy street
Two couples in our party. One had a room at the front, and one at the rear of the hotel. We all had sleepless nights due to noisy traffic most of the night at the front and barking dogs at the rear. There seemed to be a pack with one starting off all the others. The Dakar is slightly out of the centre, so we thought it would be a little quieter - not so. However, in it's favour, it is within a 10 -15 minute walk of the main square, shops and restaurants. We would not stay here again, and in fact left after two nights, although we had pre-booked three.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norway

Posted Jan 29, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel offers a pool, but we never used it since it looked like it hadn`t been cleaned in a long time. The water was so dirty that it was impossible the bottom of the pool. The floor in our room was far from clean, but otherwise clean sheets and towels. Helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Jan 14, 2012 on Hotels
Was okay, but not all the rooms have wi fi. And they could'nt do anything, it stands when we booked on hotels.com that it should. But you have in the hallway and lobby. Our room smelled a bit funny.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santiago, Chile

Hotel Dakar convenient, well-priced and pleasant

Posted Dec 2, 2011 on Hotels
The Dakar is in walking distance of the bus station and within10-15 minutes of Mendoza's center. Our room was spacious but sparsely furnished. The bathroom was modern and spotless. Continental breakfast adequate. Wifi in lobby and breakfast area only. Exercise room and spa facilities are a nice feature.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santiago - Chile

Good hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2011
We had a nice stay and would return on our next trip. The personnel were very helpful at all times. It is a good hotel for the price we paid. Would recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Noisy room, huge pack of howling dogs outside the window

Posted Nov 24, 2011
Location: Plaza Independencia
This hotel had a good price and was okay for one night. But some of the front desk clerks were rude and unwilling to help us find things to do in the area, and seemed annoyed we were asking. A few of them were nice too, but one or two in particular were really rude and had no place in the service industry. They just seemed unfriendly and unsociable and had no recommendations - which is really why they are there in the first place! The bed was comfortable, with a king size bed with a soft down comforter, and a minibar stocked with affordable sodas, water, and local malbec. My main problem with the room, however, was the MASSIVE pack of howling, barking, yelping, mangy dogs just outside our window, that barked on and off throughout the day and night and were very loud! Even if I looked out the window down at them, they saw me and started barking frantically in my direction. That made me think they were malnourished, which was depressing. They seemed to be enclosed in small square areas enclosed by tall cement walls, like a prison, and just did not seem happy or healthy. Dakar should speak to the owners of the dogs about not keeping them outside all the time or not having a ridiculous amount of dogs to begin with. Also, do not advertise your hotel as having a pool and hot tub when both were empty (lacking water) during late spring/early summer, when it is peak period to use them. Next time, would want to stay in a more central location, maybe near Plaza Independencia.