Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Isolation in Heaven

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Great place for romance, seclusion from crowds. Staff there to make visit memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW

Great hotel! Absolute paradise.

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Wotif
We had a great time at this hotel. The nature around the property really makes the place special. The staff are great too!
4 out of 5
by Addy from Holland

Great place, could be made even better

Posted Dec 1, 2013 on Hotels
The only thing that would make this place even nicer/better would be that activities would be made more known to guests, and perhaps charge a little less. For the rest all is just really, really nice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Fiona from London, UK

Getaway from it all

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Pros: Tranquil location
Location: Stunning location
The hotel is located in a beautiful area and has a rustic charm about it. If you really want to get away from everything then this is the place for you. The food is great and all of the staff are very friendly and helpful and quite prepared to help teach you some Balinese if you're interested. There is a variety of local wildlife to be seen around the resort. We would definitely go back there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lee

Like very comfortable camping

Posted Jun 12, 2013
Pros: Snorkelling !!!
Cons: Bungalows were not constructed very well in my opinion
Location: Remote. In Nat'l park.
It's very unique if you want to get away from all the hustle and bustle on the island. Snorkelling is great, the food was good and the bed was hard but comfy. This is your best chance to see wildlife in Bali. However when they say "welcome to the jungle" they are not kidding. The bungalows are not constructed air tight, there are huge gaps in the doors and windows where creepy crawlies can get in during the night. So tuck in your hanging mosquito net into your mattress and watch where you step at night if you get up to pee or something. There are no roads to this resort, you need to take a little brown boat run by the hotel from their 'office' located on the mainland. The boat shuttle takes 20 minutes and a return trip is included in your hotel cost. The main complaint I read about the hotel was about food, but I thought the price and selection was very reasonable. The staff were all friendly and the service was just okay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Liz from Melbourne

Great experience of nature, terrible food

Posted May 27, 2013
If you like a rustic experience of the wilder part of Bali, this is a great place to enjoy it! My favourite bits were snorkelling and hiking. However, food is terrible! This place should invest in a better chef! We tried western dishes and local dishes and even Gado Gado was so terrible I wasn't able to finish it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kate from Australia

Rustic resort tucked away in nature

Posted May 14, 2013
If you are expecting a luxary resort then this is not the place for you. It is an eco-resort and is rustic in its appearance and upkeep. The food menu is limited. And there is no TV. BUT if you want to escape to nature, go snorkelling, see deer and monkeys, trek through the bush, eat your meals in the tree tops and relax with massages listening to the ocean waves then this is definitely the place for you. Very peaceful. A great place to go and be in another world.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Valerie from Singapore

Stay at Waka Shorea slighly disapointing

Posted Mar 11, 2013
Pros: The snorkelling
Cons: The food
Location: Isolated
The rooms are in good conditions but the surroundings is in terrible shape. It is a nice place to relax and fantastic to snorkel or scuba dive but as it is isolated there is nothing else to do. Not really good for kids (I went there with my 2 children, age 6 and 8) as there is nothing for them and no snorkelling equipment available in kid's size. Finally the food at the restaurant is limited, small menu with half of the choice not available all the time. Not great quality and not great cooking either but they are trying...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Waka Shorea Bali Barat National Park

Posted Feb 20, 2012 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the hotel. We got our room at a last minute bargain price, so for what we paid we considered it good value. We stayed in unit 14 which had a magnificent panaramic view over the bay. The air conditioning in our room could have been alot better.Very comfortable bed. Food is definitely average, so dont expect to much there. We found the staff very friendly and accomodating. We saw monkeys , deer and wild pigs, which just wander through the resort. The water at the front of the resort is beautiful and clear, snorkeling at Menjangan island is very good, apart from alot of rubbish in the water. Massage was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stuttgart

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Sehr schön gelegenes Hotel mitten im National Park. Während dem Frühstück kann man Rotwild etc. beobachten. Sehr aufmerksames und nettes Personal.