Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels
Make no illusions about this hotel - the price is cheap, it is on the beach, the hotel is cheap. Staff was friendly and polite. The beach is a mere 100 yards away and you can walk into town by going up a few flights of steps. The beds were uncomfortable, the TV in the lobby was blaring past midnight, and the free breakfast is just a sad, sad thing. If you just need a cheap place to keep your stuff, shower, and occasionally sleep with earplugs in - then this is the place for you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid this hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels
I stayed 1 night and on arrival was asked for 30 Euros with a document stating it was for a "warranty in case of destruction, dirt, lack of towels or default on any extras". Other than to annoy me this was a pointless exercise as it was just returned to me at checkout. The hotel is run down, the bed was uncomfortable, the shower was cold, the TV didn't work, I won't be returning!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect for Couples

Posted Jul 19, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing was ever open
Location: Perfect for the beach - 170 steps to walk up to get to the main town. But I'd much rather be at the bottom of the steps as it's closer to the beach
If you intend to spend your days on the beach and your evenings in Bars and restaurants then this is a perfect place to wash and sleep - but that's it. Although everything was clean and the staff were polite enough, the bar on the terrace was not open once the whole time we were there, which wasn't really a problem because the "Rustic Bar Cala" which is 50 yards down the road gave absolutely fantastic service, is well priced and is right next to one of Europe's nicest beaches. If you're going away as a couple it's perfect, but i suspect Kids may be a little bored there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ccrab from London

Great location

Posted May 15, 2012
Went here as a solo traveler for a long weekend in May, was perfect. Three minute walk to a very lovely clean beach and two minute walk to trail heads and a nature reserve. So quiet at night all I heard where the frogs and crickets, and during the day birdsong. Also one of the cleanest hotels I've stayed in around the Mediterranean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CHILE

WORST SERVICE EVER IN THREE STAR HOTEL

Posted Sep 30, 2011
BROKEN SHOWER; HUMIDITY BAD SMELL; BAD QUALITY BREAKFAST; BAD PERSONAL SERVICE
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire, UK

Hotel Aquarium, Cala en Porter, Menorca

Posted Sep 28, 2011 on Hotels
Cala en Porter is a good location, near to both Mahon and the airport, and the Aquarium Hotel itself is in a prime position, nestling on the side of the cove and within 100 yards of the beach, whereas most of the town/village is built on the plateau above the cove, accessible only by negotiating 181 steps or a steep road! So it is in an ideal spot. The hotel itself is 3 storeys high with a splendid and extensive roof terrace, a swimming pool and bar. The rooms are reasonable in size, with adequate facilities and a balcony, and all of the rooms face west across the cove, some of them with sea views (like ours). The hotel could do with something of a face-lift because it is just a little bit shabby but it did not affect our stay. We also found the staff unfailingly helpful and courteous. So, an ideal holiday hotel? Well unfortunately no, simply because of the food. It was dire. Not even up to poor school meal standards. Maybe the cook/chef was working to an impossibly limited budget, but what was presented was unappetizing and monotonous. Sometimes there were odd batter-covered ‘things’ which were tasteless, chips which were cold, meat balls, sludgy vegetables (artichokes?) and even hints of re-used left-overs from the previous day. The only saving grace was the fresh salad stuff in the evenings. And no, we are not gourmet eaters. Good, plain, but wholesome food will do us very well. On occasions during the holiday we just couldn’t face another evening meal and “escaped” to eat elsewhere. So this otherwise perfectly acceptable hotel is dragged down by the food. Would we go again or recommend it to anyone? No, definitely not. Which is a great pity because this hotel has enormous potential and could do so much better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santiago, Chile

The worst hotel I have ever stayed

Posted Sep 16, 2011
Bad attention. No basic services in the bathroom. Difficult accesibility for handicap and elderly people. Bad wifi system and expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Lovely Hotel For Couples & Families

Posted May 23, 2011
Just got back from this hotel and really enjoyed it. Location is nearly on the beach and the cove is very pretty. One thing to mention is that the hotel is in Cala en Porter so you won't see Alayor on any transfer booking forms. Hotel was lovely, rooms very clean and comfortable and staff friendly. I'd give the hotel 4 stars if it wasn't for a few minor things to change which would make all the difference. Had to ask for cold milk (Leche) every morning as they don't leave it out for the cereals or tea. Fruit juices for breakfast come out of a machine and they are truly disgusting - worse than sunny delight. No cold drinks in the evening such as water unless you pay for bottles or wine/beer etc. In the room they have TV's but out of 42 channels there isn't one in English not even CNN. Also although there is a kettle in the room no tea, milk, coffee or milk is supplied so I'd take your own. Food was fine but I love Spanish food so it was ok. Everyone mentions the steps I have asthma and coped ok but you could take the road up which is shorter if you're heading for the lower bars. (View is stunning by the way) Bus stop is at the top of the steps and runs into Mahon at 10 & 11 and other times cost is 1.6 euros so cheap. Would I go back? Yes and I'd take tea etc for the room as well as a DVD portable player for the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Very quiet

Posted Aug 4, 2009
The hotel was mainly occupied by spanish - incredibly blissful as the purpose was to get away and simply STOP. A very quiet surrounding area - recommned to anyone who simply wants to get away and not do anything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Esther from Barcelona

Puede mejorar

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Su ubicación al lado de la cala
Cons: TODO
Location: La ubicación es genial y las actividades aceptables
Menos mal que en este mes de octubre lo cierran para hacerle una reforma ya que la estaba pidiendo a gritos,el bar estaba cerrado por avería y no pudimos hacer uso de él,las plantas de la terraza muertas,toda la pintura exterior desconchada, las tumbonas de la piscina sucias,el interior del hotel se salva un poco pero se ve anticuado,el bufet del desayuno podría mejorar...la ubicación del hotel es genial ya que está al lado de la cala,así que espero que le hagan una buena reforma así sería el hotel de 3 estrellas que tiene.Aún así cómo casi no estábamos en el hotel pasamos unos días excelentes en Menorca.