Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Stijn

Pretty good.

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Okay value for money. Wifi could be better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Linda W.

Two Star Penthouse

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on HotelClub
Lovely hotel. The staff tries to help in every way. They are kind and respectful and will try and speak your language if you don't speak French. They are fun and friendly. Try and reserve the penthouse. It is cheerful and charming with a very large outside porch for sunning. The room is delightful. Breakfast is offered daily, and is less expensive than on the street. A lovely and safe 2 star hotel within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, casinos, touring sights, and the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Lovely hotel close to beach train station and shop

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Friendly helpful staff.rooms cleaned everyday fabulous location good food a few mosquitos so make sure you take repellant
5 out of 5
by Kieth from Dublin, Ireland

very nice people that work here..

Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
It was a great 5 days stay. The hotel is very spacious and they clean them every day. We did not avail breakfast, but we sometimes in the room from take aways. When we need plates and cutlery, they dont hesitate to let us borrow or even if we need to use the microwave to heat our food, they let use it. I can't believed how nice the people that works here. The hotel itself is few walks from the beach which is very handy for us. Food and shops are just around the corner. Neighborhood is safe and train station is just a walk away from the train station. I will recommend this hotel and would come back here when in Menton.
2 out of 5
by DallasBuyerClub

Great staff, poor infrastructure

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Orbitz
Wonderful location close to the beach and the train station. Smiling personnel always ready to help. No Internet connection upstairs because the signal is too weak. Rooms of good size but there are stains everywhere including on the sheets.
1 out of 5
by Marie from London

Awful!

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels
Avoid this place! It's really run down and 70s.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adequate

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Good location
Cons: A shower curtain would be a huge improvement
Did the job when needed for quick stay central location good for train stTion
3 out of 5
by shakin77 from aberdeen

great locatio

Posted Jul 18, 2013 on Hotels
Decent hotel in a great spot close to everything. Room was adaquate bathroom was very clean. The aircon was very loud and the bed was reasonably comfortable. for the price in the south of France it was ok I'd stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul &Karen from Cardiff, wales

Good value, if a little dated

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Pros: Price, cleanliness
Cons: The pillows
Location: Handy for bus and train back down the riviera
The Moderne is a great base for a few nights in Menton, not far from both train and bus stations. The rooms are a bit dated but spotlessly clean. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. It's A 10 minute walk into the main tourist centre of Menton, but the area the hotel is situated is more than adequately served by restaurants, boulangeries etc. If you are looking to use a private beach in Menton we would recommend the Helios, you will pay about 30 euros a day for 2 loungers and a parasol in high season but the staff are very friendly and the food is superb.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S.D. from California

Good location. Needs improvement.

Posted Jul 2, 2013
Pros: Location.
Cons: Needs a bit updating.
The hotel is a block away from the beach. Really nice location. The room can use some renovation. There were only sheer curtains and this was an inconvenience at night given there was a building with the same height right across the street. No hair drier in the room. I believe they provide such at the front desk if you request it. There was no shower curtain in the shower.