Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Room with a view

Posted Jul 1, 2017
The Riva is well located right on the beach so a sea view room is recommended, preferably on a higher floor. Nice balconies and a roof top sun deck with Jacuzzi complete a good offer. The rooms were well maintained and clean and friendly staff were keen to help. A good choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Nice location to beach and train station

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: location and cleaness
Cons: hopefully, can select the ocean view room when make a reservation.
Location: convenient to go shopping, station and everywhere
Unfortunately, my room was not ocean view. but, room was clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Modern and clean with gorgeous sew views.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Spotlessly clean, modern, its position right on the sea front, comfortable bed, friendly owner.
Cons: Maybe a kettle for tea and coffee in the room.
Location: Down from the main part of town, but within easy walking distance of the main shopping street, the old town, the market and the Cocteau museums.
Light, airy room with big windows and terrace overlooking the pebbly beach below. Plenty of storage space in the room, and a nice big bathroom with a bath. All very comfortable and practical. The road in front of the hotel is a busy one, so there was a fair bit of traffic noise but you get used to it, and the views make up for it. Staff were welcoming and friendly and were happy to help in any way. The hotel is slightly out of the main part of town, but it's an easy and very pleasant stroll to the main shops, market, Cocteau museum etc. A nice bakery close by on the street behind. All in all, a very enjoyable few days and I would definitely return to this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
It was a nice hotel with pleasant jacuzzi and friendly staff. The only drawback was, although the room had a lovely balcony the door stuck and it was unaccessible and also the room got very hot without being able to open the only window. On checkout I informed the staff who said the door was a problem and I should have called housekeeping. I don't agree, a person should not have to call housekeeping ever time she wants to go in or out of the balcony; if it is know to not work it should be fixed and the room not rented until all is in working order.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great room and parking nearby

Posted Mar 11, 2016
I stayed here recently and although I can't comment on the restaurant (I didn't eat there), the rest of the experience was great. Nice clean room, warm and a comfortable bed. Parking (free at this time of year) was next door. Less than 10 minutes to walk into the town centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Hotel right next to the sea. If you take a dip in the jacuzzi on the roof you have an incredible view of the Mediterranean. Room was clean and the service helpful. Close enough to walk to all the sites of interest. Would definitely recommend
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent price quality ratio

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
Calm and quiet location, beautiful location
5 out of 5
by Alison from Pulborough, West Sussex

Highly recommended

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
Just returned from a fabulous stay in Menton and we were VERY happy with Hotel Riva. Loved the exterior electric blinds which made the room pitch black & we found the the bed to be really comfortable. Room was spotlessly clean, staff were courteous & breakfast was good with a wide range of fruit, cereal, bread, cheeses, meats & yoghurt. We also loved the rooftop terrace & jacuzzi. Location was perfect for us, a relaxed 10-15 minute stroll into the centre of town suited us perfectly. If we're being picky, the only slight negatives were: there is no facility to hook up the shower to a high enough level to use it as a shower and the water pressure isn't great, so we had baths instead & just used it as a hand held shower to wash hair. Mini bar is expensive so buy anything you want from the local Carrefour & just use the fridge to keep it cold. The in-room safe is quite small and an iPad Only just fits! For us, these " negatives" didn't cause any problems but thought I would put them in as observations because for some, the shower situation might not be entirely satisfactory. Top room tip: it costs only an extra €6 per night to have a room with a sea view so if they have one available, I would recommend it. Also, a room on the upper floors (4-6) will give a much nicer view. All in all, we would not hesitate to stay at Hotel Riva again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: It was handy to everything. The mountain view from our balcony. The roof top spa pool and loungers.
Cons: Towels. Fluffy ones not well worn.
Location: Hotel was close to the Med, just across the road. Town handy uses close by also.
Had an enjoyable ten days. Handy to pleasant walks. Restaurants near by.