Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria, UK

Wonderful family-run hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: In particular, the fact that it was a family-run hotel and that the manager made a point of coming to speak to us at breakfast each morning.
Cons: None
Location: A quiet location, a pleasant 15 minute walk into the centre. The town was picturesque and interesting with pleasant walks along the river and gardens
Everything about this hotel was good, the comfort, the facilities, the staff, the food and the view from the balcony were all good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Pleasant hotel in beautiful town

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Good facilities and mostly friendly staff
Cons: Everything is written in German or Italian so language was difficult for some visitors
Location: Quiet location 20 minutes up the hill from the centre of town but good for walking to several attractions like the Gardens.
A traditional touring hotel not too far from the town centre and well placed to visit the magnificent gardens on the hill
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a quiet area

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Location: 15-20 min walk to the center of Meran as well as gardens.
Very friendly and accommodating staff, generous breakfast and exceptional service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel!

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Cons: Utilization of the outdoor patio for dining.
Hotel Juliane is a beautiful hotel up in the hills within walking distance of town and the gardens. The staff is so friendly!
5 out of 5
by C & B from London

Excellent location,

Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent location, clean modern rooms, average breakfast. Very helpful staff and friendly service
5 out of 5
by Tom from London

Fantastic Food

Posted Jun 26, 2013 on Hotels
The half pension dinner that we ate for four evenings was as good as any we have eated for the price, only 20 euros. the outdoor and indoor pools were in immaculate condition and large enough for a good swim. The staff was very helpful and responded quickly to any request with good humour. The only drawback to our room was the lack of air-conditioning or a fan which would be useful during hot nights.
3 out of 5
by A Ray oSunshine from New York

I would recommend a Different Hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2012
Pros: small breakfast
Cons: the room was too noisey, the hotel staff were not friendly, could not come and go as you please, vistors not welcomed, overpriced amenities and drinks
Location: The location was quanit and quiet, but if you do not know Merano you will have a difficult time finding the hotel. STAY IN THE CITY CENTER
I thought the room was nice except for it was above the kitchen, so there was a lot of noise. I thought the staff was not friendly, especially check out day. I thought charges such as to use the sauna for 16 euros was ridiculous and should not have been an extra charge. I did not like the heavy hotel keys or the feeling of not being able to leave the premise at any time or return at any time (night) this was not kosher to me. If I had a guest for a few hours the hotel staff were not friendly, and even said mean things to my friend, even though this friend did not stay over. The location was quaint, but if you did not know the area it may be hard to find, but it was a short walk to Merano and other attractions. Overall the breakfast was nice, my room was clean, but only one chocolate on my pillow the first night. Even though this a small touch (detail), it is a four star hotel, and should be an everyday thing. Especially becuase as an American getting an Italian chocolate is a treat! I thought the drinks in the fridge were overpriced as well. I will not be going back to this hotel. I will find a nice hotel that I will have more freedom to come and go as I please, as well as a friendlier staff, as well as not try to nickel and dime me for everything. Maybe Hotel Therme where I stayed the time before last. I better hotel, and well worth the extra money, where you can come and go as you please, have guests, and the hotel staff were friendlier.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kaysville, Utah

Hotel Juliane

Posted Oct 27, 2011 on Hotels
Aftern we found Hotel Juliane and the across the street parking, we grabbed our luggage and headed over to check in. My wife and i are in our mid 30's and from the moment we walked in we felt out of place. Most of the guests seemed somewhat long term and older. That being said the staff was very helpful and courteous. The room was clean and had decent view of the mountains around town. We didn't spend much time at the hotel but it seems a nice place if you'd like some peace and quiet. If you want to be downtown keep looking. Hotel needs a little TLC but if you want quiet, clean and good service, this is the place. If you want modern, convenient or easy to find, move on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Berne, Switzerland

Convenient Comfort

Posted Sep 28, 2011
Hotel Juliane lies in a residential area about 20 min on foot from downtown Merano. Most of the clientele are German of a certain age who take the half-board option and eat in the hotel. However, during our stay we saw a number of younger couples with childen on a bed and breakfast basis. I can highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to spent a few peaceful, restful days in this tranquil environment. The room we stayed in had all necessary comforts and was both clean and well-kept. The breakfast buffet was very enticing and it was possible to order a cooked breakfast as well. The hotel has plenty of other facilities, two swimming pools, sauna and spa, although we did not make use of them. It also has a bar and provides information on all the neighbourhood activities. There is a large car park that is closed at night (after 21.00). The hotel is somewhat on the expensive side for Italy but Merano is an expensive region with heavy demand for good hotel rooms. We enjoyed our stay and would go back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Juliane in Meran

Posted Jul 28, 2011 on Hotels
The staff is friendly, room is clean, nicely renovated bathroom, bedroom is a little old-fashioned. Spa area is tiny. Food is delicious and very fairly priced.