Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
It was a perfect stay, excellent service friendly staff great location very close to the center of town
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service, comfortable and convenient!

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Mauro and Cristina are excellent hosts, some of the best we have encountered! They have a beautiful hotel which shows great pride of ownership! The service they provided us was amazing, from guidance and tips on things to do in and around Merano, to restaurant tips, driving directions, local happenings, etc. The room we stayed in was very comfortable, nice bathroom, good space. And the location is excellent, right off the river promenade, very close to center of city and all activities, including many beautiful walks. We had a rental car and Mauro was very helpful in parking it for us in the hotel garage (convenient 10 euro daily fee). Buffet breakfast was very good, with assorted fresh fruits, breads, meats and sweets. Great cappuccino (and other coffee drinks), incomparable service. We highly recommend the Windsor for stays in Merano and if we return we will definitely stay again! 5 stars for sure!!
4 out of 5
by Ian from Nottingham

Elegant and comfortable

Posted Jun 22, 2015 on Hotels
The Windsor is a lovely hotel with a great location mid way between the train station and the tourist centre of Merano. The owners are extremely helpful and the breakfast they provide is excellent. Room fittings are modern and stylish. As Merano prices go the cost is not unreasonable. We would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Well worth a stay

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, location, good wifi reception.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Central location for exploring the area. Thermal spa in Merano. Walks above Merano and in the mountains above.
Pleasant hotel, well located near centre of Merano and train station. Extremely welcoming and helpful staff. Wide variety of restaurants within easy walking distance. Merano is a good centre to visit Bolzano and the Val Venosta region.
5 out of 5
by Enzo Ciarnella from Rome, Italy

Right on the main river promenade

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels
Exceptional Hotel in a picture perfect town. Brand new, clean, tasty breakfast and the most friendly and efficient staff. It beats any 3 and 4 stars hotels I have been before. Located on the gorgeous river promenade at the city centre.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Henley on Thames, UK

Convenient, comfortable and friendly.

Posted Jul 31, 2013 on Hotels
We had a great stay at this family run hotel. Our room was clean, comfortable and well soundproofed to sleep at night. The breakfast area, inside and out was practical and relaxing, and the staff worked hard to look after their guests. An outdoor pool seems relatively unusual that close to the centre of town, and the hotel is on one of the main "promenades" in Merano. The centre of town is only 2-3 blocks away along the river promenade, passing a good gelato store on the way. The family and staff work hard with guests in what is already a multilingual area - so German, Italian and English are all catered for. They have plenty of ideas of things to do, and the discount connection with local restaurants is useful for those just arriving. Finally, the Merano card that is provided gives free access to public transport and museums as well as other discounts, including to the Themes. Tremendously useful in conjuction with timetables and maps and leaflets also provided. Thank you everyone for our pleasant stay. We recommend the hotel and the area.
5 out of 5
by jez277 from Birmingham

Friendly service and a good breakfast

Posted Jul 26, 2013 on Hotels
Staff were very friendly and helpful, air con in room was very welcome as it was very hot outside, close to all amenities (such as train station and Meran centre) and they're one of the few places to serve a decent cup of tea outside the UK.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2011 on Hotels
Klaus,one of the managers was particularly helpful and charming
4 out of 5
by Sabine

Immer wieder

Posted Sep 14, 2017 on Hotels
sehr ansprechendes Haus, zentrale Lage, leckeres Frühstück,
5 out of 5
by cristina

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
Ottimo sotto tutti i punti di vista