Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very welcoming.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Almost everything.
Cons: Shower heater temperamental.
Excellent breakfast convenient to centre and onsite parking.
5 out of 5
by CARMEN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definately recommend/stay again

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic stay Friendly staff Lovely breakfast
4 out of 5
by Rebecca from wisbech

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Guest house was a pleasant atmosphere.friendly staff. A good breakfast choice. Decorated to a high standard. Bus route outside the front door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dayton, Ohio

Felt like staying with friends.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Sam Burns, the proprietor, gave us the warmest welcome we had anywhere in the UK. He treated us like friends. The whole staff was wonderful and did anything they could to make us comfortable. The house was charming and the sitting room brought strangers together to chat as friends. I loved it there and would gladly return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simply amazing!

Posted Apr 20, 2016
This was better than we expected! Such a pretty B&B and GREAT location! Thank you for making our vacation so great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottinghamshire

Easily Accessible from The City Centre

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Pros: beautiful, clean and welcoming. Friendly staff and owner, breakfast is amazing
Cons: Somewhere to hang wet towels in the bathroom would be good, and maybe some leafelts of places to eat in the area too
Location: It is directly situated on a bus route, with stops only a few metres away and buses running every 10 minutes.Jambos is a lovely place to eat.
This guesthouse is a little gem. It is directly situated on a bus route, with stops only a few metres away and buses running every 10 minutes. The guesthouse itself is beautiful, clean and welcoming. Denise is friendly and polite and nothing is too much trouble for her. Veronica is also very helpful when asking questions about facilites etc and works very hard to ensure guests get their breakfast's in a timely manner. The breakfast is to die for. As much toast and cereal as you like (with juice and tea/coffee too), but if you complete a menu the previous evening, you can have a freshly cooked Scottish Breakfast, or salmon and scrambled eggs, vegetarian or healthy option breakfast too. The room we stayed in was on the basement level next to the working kitchen, so if you are a night owl and late riser, this would not be suitable for you, but we had no issues with this, and loved the fact we were away from the rest of the house. It was clean and tidy, with decor pleasing to the eye. I would recommend you try Jambo's African Steak and Grillhouse which is a 2 minute walk down the road. The food there is amazing, service a little slow, but this is because everything is made fresh and to order. Overall, I would definitely recommend anybody visiting Edinburgh to stay here, you will not be disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall is good but needs improved communication

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: - nice place and comfortable
Cons: - reservation system (through agencies or expedia) should be improved. - welcome from staff for check-in and check-out - no animals in breakfast
The place is really nice, including lovely breakfast. However, the reservation system (through Expedia) should be improved, especially in taking payments. Contact with staff here is quite informal and not responded in due course. No staff are there for check-in and/or check-out. Although breakfast is really nice, animals or pets should not be presented during eating time. By the way, the overall service is okay and acceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown, cozy place

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on CheapTickets
Location: Castle is close by, pubs and restaurants nearby. There's a great place for fish and chips next to montpelliers pub, which is also a great place.
We stayed in the cottage and it was cozy. The shower door was unhinged which was annoying but no big deal. There were pubs and restaurants close to the location, with a taxi stand just 30 meters down the road. It's a 15 to 20 minute walk to the castle but it's a very easy walk. It's about 6 pounds to rose street. Overall, great stay, very cozy with excellent staff and a wonderful breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RAF Lakenheath

Very nice, quiet place

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Booked the cottage for my family which was great. Very quiet and comfortable. Staff was awesome, especially Valerie and breakfast was very good as well. Un beatable price and within walking distance to the centre of Edinburgh.