Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by James

Mu's 80th!!

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay Dinner at Le Duze Michelin Restaurant in the courtyard is magic The room was 40m2+, bathroom & showerroom, 220cm bed fab Staff were excellent Fabulous position and views
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from israel

uniqe place

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: view
Cons: the hotel should find a way to improve the way guests are going from the bedroom to the bathroom. making the stairs muxh safer with a steady hand rail
the place is very uniqe' its an old castel that has been renovated. the room is actually an old bedroom and a batroom in two separte floors. it is not convinent,the stairs are too narrow and quite not safe. my partener sent to the bathrom down the stairs and slipped over hurting her leg and knee. i think the hotel is very special and uniqe but the wa the rooms are seperated from the bathrooms is unsafe. my partner is lucky that she didnt hurt her leg more seriosly. also the breakfast is poor and expensive,
5 out of 5
by Clifford

Wonderful place!

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Room great, grounds beautiful, dinner fantastic
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Commanding position overlooking surrounding views

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful experience, staying in such an opulent, ancient chateau.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay coincide with the grape harvest. We watched from the safety of the gardens above the cellars as huge amounts of red grapes were processed. All very modern...no purple feet here!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel. No air conditioning though....

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
It was unusually hot in the beginning of September. Temperature outside was about 100 degrees, our room was amazing, but had no air conditioning. It was impossible to get any sleep. Only three rooms at Chateau de Mercues have air conditioning. Personnel stated that they will have more air conditioned rooms next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

beautiful region, castle and hotel

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Very classy french Chateau, Nice staff and good food in beautiful region
Cons: absence of showers and abysmal wifi not worthy of even 2 star hotel
Location: Dordogne region, Lot "departement" is one of the most beautiful place on earth
all good except for 2 major things. 1/ The bathrooms do not have either a shower or a shower head holder above the bathtub. Hence it is impossible to take a shower without uncomfortably sitting in a bathtub and holding the showerhead above your head like in a "one star" hotel. This is totally unacceptable and extremely unpleasant 2/ The Wifi is terrible and maxes out at 1.5 MBS download so basically worthless for anything else than texting The access code varies by bedroom and is complicated enough to protect you from the NSA while requiring constant repeat of the needlessly complicated login procedure . All in all a huge waste of time for foreigners needing seamless WIFI for personal or professional use at an age where 2 star hotels in remote places of the globe have decent WIFI access and speeds
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fairytale Castle Awesome!

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
This castle is extraordinary. I stayed twice in a short span, classic room both times. First room was gorgeous, second room needed updating of carpet, etc. the food was definitely a 5, across the board and the wine offerings were great as well as reasonably priced. Grounds were gorgeous and it's in the center of a very interesting area to visit.
5 out of 5
by Daryl

An indulgence

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
A lovely location and venue. Supper excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Teesside, England

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: The whole ambience of the place was top class and the dining experience was superb
Cons: Air conditioning would have ben helpful as it was very hot but being at the top of a hill the breeze was pleasant
We used the hotel as a stop off point on our way to the South coast - what a treat !