Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Louis

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is very cute with an interesting decor but it appears sorely unmaintained. The breakfast was very underwhelming, but the china plate ware was a cute detail.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
Super relax, my mom and I sleep great, no noise at all. Beds and great big and comfy, nice AC and fan, warm Water, good size tv with cable , deco is Spanish style super cute and the pool super cute and clean !!!! No bugs !! We will come back and will recommend this hotel .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia PA

Really quaint, charming and unique place.

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: Architecture, decor, charm, pool, peace and quiet.
Cons: It would be nice if the kitchen had a more efficient set up.
Location: You want to take a cab into center, unless you have comfy shoes and don't mind the walk.
I close this place because in the pictures I saw all the rooms furnished in antiques. I am somewhat of a buff, and was not disappointed. They have some beautiful pieces. I got a single room which was clean and charming with a balcony overlooking the courtyard garden and pool. There was only one other couple there so I felt like I had the place to myself. They have a "self serve" kitchen with the basics, coffee, beer, some alcohol, bottled water, and set up continental breakfast in the morning with fruit, cereal, juice, coffee and coffee cake. There is a large grocery store around the corner, so if you wanted to make your own meals you could definitely do that as there aren't any restaurants close by. Center is about 12 blocks where there are many restaurants. There is a rooster close by which starts trumpeting in the early morning which added to the ambiance. I only stayed one night, between towns, but could have enjoyed a longer stay if I was in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from strasbourg, france

nice quiet place in a good location

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Location,friendly staff
Cons: Coffee at breakfast
Location: Excellent! Right in downtown area but in quiet part of 59 st.
Staff is really helpful and noce.very wuiet place with a small pool to plunge in if too hot. No restaurant or bar service but a couple of blocks away you will find supermarket, a cantina ( yes a real mexican Cantina were I met some Nice locals) and other stuff since 59 street is a happenning street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

A hacienda that's a 20 minute walk from centro

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Nice courtyard, historic setting
Cons: Rooms aren't well ventilated. Repair the furniture. Keeping the front entrance door closed would reduce the road noise that gets into the courtyard.
Location: Merida has interesting sights and lots of evening events. Closer to the zocalo makes it easier to take more in.
We had booked the Casa De Las Columnas for 14 days in January/February. This hacienda was built around 1900 and converted to a hotel 8 years ago. There are about a dozen rooms on two floors surrounding a very attractive courtyard with greenery and a pool. The rooms are a bit dark and furnished with antiques that could use repair. The rooms can smell a bit musty when unoccupied for a while in the Mexican heat. A bit of fresh paint would help. Our room was a reasonable size and our bathroom was large. Our bed was comfortable and we had crisp clean sheets every day. The air conditioning was good and the wifi was strong and fast. Being on the main floor gave us direct access to the pleasant courtyard. The breakfast was very basic so we supplemented ours from the very good supermarket that is just a two minute walk away. Some of the staff speak English but others either are unable to or are too shy. It's a 20 minute walk (or 5 minutes by bus) to the historic center of town, directly down busy Calle 59. That discouraged us from taking in enough of Merida‘s many evening events. The hotel is not popular and had only a few rooms occupied for the entire period of our stay. I would recommend this hotel only to open minded people who appreciate historic Mexico but not to those who prefer more modern standards.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Potential health hazard - avoid

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Pros: Leaving it.
Cons: Gut the inside of the building and renovate the entire place.
Location: Merida is an amazing city. Just don't stay here.
I want to preface this by saying this is the first negative review I have ever written, and the first time I have ever bailed on a reservation. I've traveled a lot in Mexico, and often stay in hostels or rented apartments, so my expectations are not 5 star - but while it looks pretty on the outside, this place was seriously awful. When I arrived, I was shown to a room with no windows, which absolutely reeked of mould. Running the AC and fans did nothing to get rid of the stink. It got worse when we opened a closet to try and unpack - the stench inside was absolutely overwhelming - no WAY were we storing anything in there! The furniture, described as "antique" is actually just falling apart - mismatched beds, giant splinter on ever wooden surface, the bracket securing one on the headboards was pulling out of the wall leaving exposed screws and nails... and questionable garbage (something wrapped in kleenex) had been left under the beds. Also the room was FULL of mosquitoes, which was perplexing given the lack of windows. We arrived late, so had no choice but to suck it up for one night. When I took a shower and the ENTIRE room flooded (tile floor, water pooled under the TV, electrical cables hanging down), we decided to get the heck out the next morning. When I went to talk to the hotel staff, his only solution was to offer me a can of RAID. Ugggh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Oasis in the city

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: Antique furnishings Beautiful, secure courtyard Location
Cons: If listed as Non smoking, should be smoke free!
Location: Zoo 2 blocks away OXXO 4 blocks away CAME 20 minute walk Centro 20 minute walk
Cosy, exotic hideaway with comfortable rooms filled with beautiful Mexican antiques. Located on Calle 59 close to the Zoo and a brisk 20 minute walk to Centro. Only 1 block to a small grocery store and 4 blocks to OXXO. Rooms have air conditioning, tv, WiFi and are clean. There is a lovely pool, breakfast and sitting area in a secure, lush courtyard. Breakfast is minimal but included in the price of the room. They will let you use their fridge for small food purchases which was great. Staff is friendly and helpful. Only complaint I have is that the hotel is listed as Non Smoking.....NOT TRUE. People smoking everywhere; in their rooms and in the courtyard. I booked this place because it was listed as smoke free. Other than that, I would highly recommend it as it is a hidden gem with affordable prices. Well worth the price!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

This was a fantastic place to call home for 5 days

Posted Nov 4, 2015
It reminded me of some hacienda from days gone by. The staff was superb. The central area was a place where you could mingle with other guests in the morning, have a coffee and light breakfast, and trade stories about Mérida and area. I can't say enough about this place and was really sad to check out. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again because of the fantastic service. It was like home. A great place to stay in Mérida and the price can't be beat. It was my first time to Mérida, and it was a perfect home base. Gracias to the great staff!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the price!!

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Passing by not enoug time to really know it.close to town n safe to walk any where you like..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and spacious!! Great value

Posted Aug 24, 2015
This hotel is a mile way from the main plaza of Merida. It was a perfect staging hotel for my 10 day trip. Since I was traveling using the TAME bus station. The room was spacious and comfortable. My bathroom had a dressing area along with big shower. The bed was a full size and firm. The staff was very friendly an knowledgeable. Common area and rooms had a villa style feel. I enjoyed the older wood framing for door and windows. 4 blocks from a small plaza with a 24hr OXXO and market. Bus line to Merida Centro passes is front of hotel. Cons: When it rained the water came in thru bottom of balcony doors. (Quick phone call and the Staff brought towels and cleaned it).