Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ciudad de México

Carencia de servicios

Posted Jun 12, 2016
El hotel estéticamente es bonitos, sin embargo en la habitación no había control para el aire acondicionado, se descompuso la chapa de la puerta del baño, o había agua caliente y nos cambiaron de habitación. Esto medio resolvió el problema porque al día siguiente tampoco hubo agua caliente, el.WiFi no funcionó hasta el 3er día. Deben cuidar más los detalles, no cuentan con suficientesu empleados, no nos pudieron preparar unos huevos extra para el desayuno y una noche que regresamos tarde la puerta de entrada estaba cerrada y tuvimos que tocar por 10 minutos hasta que abrieron.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toluca

Hotel de construccion colonial con las comodidades

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Si es confortable
Cons: Que tenga servicio de comedor. Ya que por ser chico. no tiene espacio y solo tiene tre lugares de estacionaminto y es en la calle
Location: El museo de historia y el zoologico
Lo use solo para descanzar y todo bien. Cerca del centro historico
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia PA

Really quaint, charming and unique place.

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: Architecture, decor, charm, pool, peace and quiet.
Cons: It would be nice if the kitchen had a more efficient set up.
Location: You want to take a cab into center, unless you have comfy shoes and don't mind the walk.
I close this place because in the pictures I saw all the rooms furnished in antiques. I am somewhat of a buff, and was not disappointed. They have some beautiful pieces. I got a single room which was clean and charming with a balcony overlooking the courtyard garden and pool. There was only one other couple there so I felt like I had the place to myself. They have a "self serve" kitchen with the basics, coffee, beer, some alcohol, bottled water, and set up continental breakfast in the morning with fruit, cereal, juice, coffee and coffee cake. There is a large grocery store around the corner, so if you wanted to make your own meals you could definitely do that as there aren't any restaurants close by. Center is about 12 blocks where there are many restaurants. There is a rooster close by which starts trumpeting in the early morning which added to the ambiance. I only stayed one night, between towns, but could have enjoyed a longer stay if I was in town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cuatro días, dos habitaciones cero desayunos.

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Lindo hotel con detalles cuidados, muy ruidoso por la avenida. Sin señal de TV's pero ni falta que hace. El desayuno es una mala broma, pésima presentación, autoservicio en una cocina que le falta aseo. Sería más recomendable una cafetera en la habitación. El personal con excelente actitud.
1 out of 5
by Christoph from Bayern

nur im Notfall zu empfehlen.

Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Hotels
Dieses Hotel war sehr preisgünstig, dennoch sollte es wegen des miserablen Services allenfalls als 1 Sterne Hotel in Ihrem System dargestellt werden. Weder das angegebene Restaurant noch die erwähnte Terrasse waren vorhanden.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from strasbourg, france

nice quiet place in a good location

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Location,friendly staff
Cons: Coffee at breakfast
Location: Excellent! Right in downtown area but in quiet part of 59 st.
Staff is really helpful and noce.very wuiet place with a small pool to plunge in if too hot. No restaurant or bar service but a couple of blocks away you will find supermarket, a cantina ( yes a real mexican Cantina were I met some Nice locals) and other stuff since 59 street is a happenning street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

A hacienda that's a 20 minute walk from centro

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Nice courtyard, historic setting
Cons: Rooms aren't well ventilated. Repair the furniture. Keeping the front entrance door closed would reduce the road noise that gets into the courtyard.
Location: Merida has interesting sights and lots of evening events. Closer to the zocalo makes it easier to take more in.
We had booked the Casa De Las Columnas for 14 days in January/February. This hacienda was built around 1900 and converted to a hotel 8 years ago. There are about a dozen rooms on two floors surrounding a very attractive courtyard with greenery and a pool. The rooms are a bit dark and furnished with antiques that could use repair. The rooms can smell a bit musty when unoccupied for a while in the Mexican heat. A bit of fresh paint would help. Our room was a reasonable size and our bathroom was large. Our bed was comfortable and we had crisp clean sheets every day. The air conditioning was good and the wifi was strong and fast. Being on the main floor gave us direct access to the pleasant courtyard. The breakfast was very basic so we supplemented ours from the very good supermarket that is just a two minute walk away. Some of the staff speak English but others either are unable to or are too shy. It's a 20 minute walk (or 5 minutes by bus) to the historic center of town, directly down busy Calle 59. That discouraged us from taking in enough of Merida‘s many evening events. The hotel is not popular and had only a few rooms occupied for the entire period of our stay. I would recommend this hotel only to open minded people who appreciate historic Mexico but not to those who prefer more modern standards.
4 out of 5
by Luz Estela

Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Hotels
El hotel es bueno muy bien ubicado.el desayuno incluido es muy muy malo y muy mal atendido.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Potential health hazard - avoid

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Pros: Leaving it.
Cons: Gut the inside of the building and renovate the entire place.
Location: Merida is an amazing city. Just don't stay here.
I want to preface this by saying this is the first negative review I have ever written, and the first time I have ever bailed on a reservation. I've traveled a lot in Mexico, and often stay in hostels or rented apartments, so my expectations are not 5 star - but while it looks pretty on the outside, this place was seriously awful. When I arrived, I was shown to a room with no windows, which absolutely reeked of mould. Running the AC and fans did nothing to get rid of the stink. It got worse when we opened a closet to try and unpack - the stench inside was absolutely overwhelming - no WAY were we storing anything in there! The furniture, described as "antique" is actually just falling apart - mismatched beds, giant splinter on ever wooden surface, the bracket securing one on the headboards was pulling out of the wall leaving exposed screws and nails... and questionable garbage (something wrapped in kleenex) had been left under the beds. Also the room was FULL of mosquitoes, which was perplexing given the lack of windows. We arrived late, so had no choice but to suck it up for one night. When I took a shower and the ENTIRE room flooded (tile floor, water pooled under the TV, electrical cables hanging down), we decided to get the heck out the next morning. When I went to talk to the hotel staff, his only solution was to offer me a can of RAID. Ugggh.
3 out of 5
by MAria Eugenia from México

Buen servicio

Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Hotels
Un buen servicio en general,las personas a cargo muy amables. Nos permitieron guardar el equipaje y cambiarnos, pues nuestro vuelo salia por la noche. Lo único malo fue la cama (estaba muy viejo e incómodo el colchón), el wifi no llega a todas las habitaciones y el desayuno deja mucho que desear.