Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by CLAUDE

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
Simply fantastic boutique hotel, beautifully decorated, very helpful and pleasant staff. We suddenly had the need for a prescription drug. Our doctor emailed the prescription and the staff phoned drugstores to find it and have it delivered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cancun

Cute & honey colonial hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Orbitz
This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and our 2nd stay was as great as the 1st. The staff remembered us from the last time & we even got to stay in the same suite as the first time which really made it feel like home. The bed is very comfortable and the water pressure in the shower is fabulous. We also enjoy the bathrobes they provide. The location is great for the Sat night entertainment and conveniently located in the colonial zone. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
by Simon

Wonderful Stay!

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent attention to guests from staff especially Roberto at the front desk! The housekeeper was very friendly and accomodating to our needs. The room was spacious and updated. Overall a wonderfull stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Hidden gem in perfect central Merida location

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff were excellent. Sara and Roberto were always available to arrange tours, make reservations and recommend places to visit.
Cons: There were comfortable armchairs around the open-air lobby, but it would have been nice to have one of them in the room.
Location: The location really was central; you could walk to most places in 10 minutes or take a taxi to a museum. The tour company picked us up at the hotel.
We stayed over Christmas and loved the Casa San Angel. Our room was comfortable, spotless and very quiet and it was an easy walk to numerous restaurants as well as the historic locations in Merida. We ate breakfast every day in the restaurant and enjoyed the variety of dishes as well as the excellent pastries and cakes. We had 5 full days to explore and decided to take 3 different tours outside Merida, as well as visiting the Gran Museo del Mundo Maya (a "must see"), the Plaza Grande, and walking the Paseo de Montejo. Our impression of Casa San Angel was warmth, a beautiful Mexican ambience and perfect tranquility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Hotel Casa San Ángel, Hotel Management
Good morning , thanks for you staying with us, appreciate your feedback and we will take that into account.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bend OR

Beautiful hacienda hotel with Mexican hospitality

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Staying at Casa San Angel felt like being in a Mexican hacienda, and enjoying Mexican hospitality, rather than being a tourist staying in a hotel.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood, between the main plaza (5 blocks) and upscale art galaries and shops (4 blocks). Lots of fun, local eateries.
From the minute I walked through the entryway with colorful murals, and through the open courtyard filled with tropical plants to the front desk, I knew I was in for a treat. The pictures do not do justice to this beautiful boutique hotel, which combines all the modern amenities with a traditional Mexican design style. The owners live onsite and make sure that everything works well. The breakfast at the hotel restaurant is good, and seems to be a favorite of local business people who come there for morning meetings. There is a soaking pool for cooling down after seeing the sights. My room was large and included extras such as robes and foot massager. The staff helped to arrange sightseeing trips, which made life easy since I don't speak Spanish. The hotel is several blocks from the central plaza tourist area, so it was easy to mingle with local people and enjoy the local food, music, and way of life. I traveled alone and always felt welcome and safe in this neighborhood. On weekends, the main avenue is closed and locals rent bikes to see the grand homes and have brunch. There is also a weekly folk festival and artist market held on the plaza outside the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Geoffrey M.

Special Christmas Vacation

Posted Dec 29, 2015 on HotelClub
We both decided to have a different Christmas this year in the sun . I had been to Merida before so I had an idea what to expect but my partner had not. We were both delighted with our room and service at this hotel and very well looked after. It and the rest of Yucatan did the rest. We will be back
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great oasis in Merida

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
We were greeted very warmly on our arrival by Roberto and he was very helpful throughout our stay! The hotel is beautiful. The room was spacious and comfortable. The restaurant is a great place for breakfast but too limited for dinner. However, the restaurant staff did make some excellent margaritas for our evening on the terrace watching Noche Mexicana. All in all a wonderful hotel.
5 out of 5
by Tim

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is exceptional in every category! I highly recommend it. There are no flaws, and will book this hotel again when visiting Merida.
5 out of 5
by GEORGE from Lake Arrowhead, Ca

Refuge in Merida.

Posted Jun 14, 2015 on Hotels
I travelled to Merida and Casa San Angel from Tulum...... Which was slightly rough..... No air conditioning and salt water shower. Such a pleasure to relax in my chilled room at the Casa. All staff were supremely helpful and breakfast and coffee a total delight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great hotel - Great location

Posted May 31, 2015
My wife and I stayed for the New Year´s Eve at this boutique hotel. Perfect for couples. Location is perfect as it is located in one of the most beautiful areas of Merida (Paseo Montejo) and also because is blocks away from downtown. Hotel condition and the service staff is amazing.