Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Thrudur

Total scam - don't stay here!

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was a big disappointment and it is full of false advertising. We chose this hotel as it offered free parking as we were driving but when we arrived we were told by receptionist that parking is $100/day. I disputed this and pointed at our reservation document that there is complimentary parking and receptionist said OK. Also it said in our reservation and all over the Hotels.com page for this hotel that breakfast is included. Receptionist said it wasn't and so I pointed again at our reservation document where it clearly states "complimentary breakfast" but receptionist would not budge so we had to go out for breakfast each morning, adding extra hidden cost to our stay there. We were also given a room with a broken air-con (room 8) as it always turned itself off after 15 min and staff just thought we didn't know how to work it. Once they had also tried and failed they moved us to room 7 which was much better. Overall, receptionist was unfriendly, never smiled and obviously could not care less about his job. Also: On Hotels.com it says there's a restaurant on site, there isn't.
5 out of 5
by Debi

Quaint and beautiful

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was amazing. It is small and quaint and just absolutely lovely. The courtyard and pool are a beautiful site for having the delicious breakfast, the rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and nicely decorated, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is also in a beautiful part of town, a short walk from the main cathedral, and across the street is a super fun cantina called La Negrita where we ended up spending several Happy Hours.
3 out of 5
by Jeremy from Florida

Quaint Hotel With All the Essentials

Posted Dec 20, 2015 on Hotels
This is a quaint hotel located about a 10 minute walk from the heart of downtown Merida's main plaza. The hotel staff were very friendly, and they were accommodating to any requests that I had. There was one day when I returned to my room after a long day of touring the Mayan sites, and I was really looking forward to a shower, but the water was completely out. I went down to the front desk and alerted them to the issue, and after about 30 minutes they had the issue resolved. While this was an inconvenience, the hotel staff managed to fix the issue promptly, and I was pleased at their response. My specific hotel room also did not have a good way to block the windows for privacy, since one of the windows only had a sheer curtain covering the window. This was an annoyance, but didn't really affect my stay, but it would be nice if in the future they could put real curtains on all of the outside windows. I never had breakfast at the hotel since they don't start serving breakfast until 8:00am, and I was usually on the road prior to that time, so I cannot comment on that service, but it is available if needed. The hotel is also located right by a small convenience store where you can stock up on cheap snacks and drinks for the road. There are also plenty of restaurants nearby to choose from, so there is no shortage of places to eat within walking distance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach CA

Avoid

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: nothing to like
Cons: Everything
Location: On periphery of central old town, museums etc.
Worst experience of 50 year international travel. Walked away from 2 nights money. Came at 1:15pm. check in 2p.m. Had booked five hotels through Expedia, thought all were prepaid, after sorting through this by using laptop to review confirmation turns out for some reason this one was not prepaid, fine, got credit card out and done. Guy at desk very friendly, little english but brought up translation page and we both used keyboard to smoothly work this all out. Went for walk, back at 4p.m., new guy at desk showed me room, air conditioning and t.v. not working, walls dirty, bathroom cobbled together. Guy comes to fix things and thirty minutes later nothing works, shows me to other room, tv works but no air conditioning. I say I am leaving, guy says no refund. I say web-page says airconditiong he goes off to do other things. He speaks virtually no English. I leave The place is not a hotel, any intimations of cutesy bed and breakfast nonsense, it is youth hostel at best. While standing in street loaded with luggage I ask passerby who looked U.S.,if they knew nearby decent hotel. One laughed and said we stayed at this place 2 years ago and the airconditioning did not work, at least I felt I made right decision. Walked toward center of town and believe it or not spotted good ol' Best Western. Women spoke fluent English, heard my story, gave me room on top (6) floor with expansive 180deg view. All things good, almost cried in relief
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburg Texas

Pleasant, clean and safe - en el centro

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Central location, breakfast and parking.
Cons: The air conditioner in room 3 needs major maintenance - it is very noisy.
Location: Lots to do and see especially if you rent a car to travel to nearby beaches and archeological sites.
This was our fourth stay at Marionetas. It's a nice simple hotel - very clean but it could use a little attention in regard to maintenance. The air conditioner is very noisy in the room we stayed in - had to let it run to cool the room down and then turn it off to sleep. Fortunately, the weather was somewhat cool at night so it was o.k. The personnel in the reception are not particularly attentive to guests but the kitchen staff are great. Rooms are kept clean.
5 out of 5
by Josep from London

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly staff; nice rooms.
1 out of 5
by Alonso from Chula Vista, California

Disappointing added costs and false description

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
I reserved the room with two queen beds. We were provided two full size beds. When I brought it to the attention of the hotel representative he indicated the website had the wrong information and that the hotel did not have rooms with two queens. I informed him the information was provided by the hotel. The front desk person was rude with no manners to treat guests. The size of beds are one of my determining factors in selecting a hotel. Also, by error I reserved for two persons rather than four persons. The hotel ended charging me an additional amount about 2/3 more than the room's original cost, even though I showed to the hotel representative that Hotels.com website had no difference in cost. As for parking, they wanted more per night, which I was OK with the price, however, the sign in their parking lot indicated half of what the hotel was asking me. The hotel tried to make additional money where they could. In addition the acoustics in the rooms are terrible. You can perfectly well hear people walking and talking on the corridor at night. The bath room has a short wall open at the top to the rest of the room. No sound privacy. This has been my biggest disappointment.
5 out of 5
by Robert from Costs rica

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
Great little place. Clean, great location, nice owner and super other clients.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin USA

1st Time to Mexico

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Location: Located in the historical district, we found walking to restaurants, museums and shopping to be very safe. 9pm music in the street was great.
This was our first trip to Mexico and location was based on proximity to the dentist office. After the shock of acclimating to Mexico we very much enjoyed and appreciated the kind and courteous staff, clean room and tourist advice. The daily breakfasts were simple and elegant. The rooms were decorated according to local culture. We plan on returning next year for more dental work and will certainly call Marionetas first.
4 out of 5
by Holger

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels