Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cleveland Ohio

Nice quiet oasis in the middle of Merida

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Everything. All we asked for was provided from ice to extra towels, to more than the 2 bottles of water or more coffee packets for in room coffee pot.
Cons: Box Kleenex rather than packages. Body wash, rather than bar soap, in addition to shampoo, conditioner and lotion provided. No note paper or pen.
Location: Centro Merida and some great restaurants all within a 5 to 10 minute walk. We always felt safe walking back and forth.
After first night, we were upgraded to a larger room at our request which made all the difference. We had our own private pool area with lounge chairs and spent a good deal of time out there. The hotel has many tropical gardens with tall palm trees and it was like being at a resort in the middle of the city. The hotel is close to most everything in Centro Merida, yet was very quiet with little city noise. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Special kudos to Natalia for making our stay so perfect. A review we had read said that internet reception was disappointing. One evening, we could get no signal, mentioned this to the front desk and by that night it was restored. There was never another problem, any time of day. We have stayed at a much more expensive and lavish hotel in Merida and not enjoyed our stay or location as much, as at Koox. For us, there is no need to stay anywhere else on our next trip to Merida.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent central lodgings

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Central, clean, comfortable.
Location: The location is near everything a visitor would want. The beautiful colonial architecture, fabulous Yucatan cuisines, shopping, and lots of walking.
Stayed for 11 days at this very well run Hotel in the centre of the lovely city of Merida. Room was very comfortable, thick towels, hot water, great bed. Clean and very well maintained public area with a small charming tropical garden. Front desk staff were ready to help in any way, makig reservations for tours, suggesting areas to see, a very hospitable crew who all spoke good English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Clean hotel close to center

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and friendly staff who spoke some English.
Cons: Large front room should have a small table and chairs. Also, an easy chair.
Location: The Municipal square was within walking distance and restaurants too. Not so a grocery store which we could not find.
Helpful staff who speak some English. Hotel was clean and quiet at the back but not the front room which was close to the street. We kept window shut. Room was large but lacked a comfortable chair. It could accommodate small table and two chairs but had neither. Breakfast was standard and did not vary day to day. No eggs or meat. We could walk to the attractions in the city Centro.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Love the place
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

High Expectations, Room Location Not Ideal

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
I had high expectations before arriving. The staff are all nice and try to give good service. The room I got, however, did have the private soaking pool (which added to the per night rate), but I never enjoyed it much besides dangling my feet and legs in it for 15 min after walking in the hot, hot Merida sun. This was the first week of Dec when locals say "it's cooling down". There were small mosquitoes every morning and evening (3-4 stings). My room is on the ground level toward the back. It seems secluded, but the eating area atrium is where other guests sometimes chat. Their conversation and music (for 2 of the 4 evenings) were annoying for a few hours because of the acoustics. I would have preferred a room on the 2nd floor for that price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Two sleepless nights without air conditioning

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating.
Cons: Working A/C. Room was a little tiny for two people.
Location: Hotel was located in a great location. Easily walkable to the center of the city. The city bus tour gives you the best overall view of the town.
I'm only giving this hotel a bad review because 2/3 nights we stayed there we didn't have working A/C. Finally on the third night, after three days of complaining, they moved us to another room. Other than that, the hotel staff was very friendly and informative. They made excellent recommendations on restaurants to try while staying in Mérida.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great place to stay!

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: We walked and walked and walked! Located close to the city square - so many historical sites to see
The hotel was perfect for our stay in Merida! All of the hotel employees were great, especially Enrique! He was so helpful and went above and beyond to insure our stay was the best!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond

Delightful Stay

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Enrique who checked us in when we arrived at the reception was so friendly and always very open to help us with suggestions or anything. In fact, my mom and I wanted to say good bye when we left to thank him for his genuine hospitality.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Progreso, Yucatan, Mexico

Romantic, modern hotel in Merida

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
A nice modern hotel in a neighborhood just a few blocks from centro. For a treat, ask for the Lizama or Ponce rooms - the ones with private outdoor tubs!