Ratings based on 342 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice idea but poor execution

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The architecture and the ambience, besides it is very well located in downtown Merida.
Cons: Putting more attention to the condition of their facilities.
I was looking forward to my stay in this hotel but I was unpleasantly surprised. I arrived late night and I basically stored my bags and went to bed after some personal cleansing. However, next morning with a little more time in my hands I discovered that the plumbing underneath the bathroom sink was basically disconnected from the hotel's plumbing (first bad point) so I had to brush my teeth while in the shower. Then, when I was taking my morning shower I discovered that the drain was clogged, but not completely so the water was draining but very slowly (second bad point). After closing the shower door (the shower is in a room) I was surprised to discover that the door knob was still in my hand (third bad point). Finally, when I am laying up my clothes for the day, I discovered that there is no iron, I had to request it and they bring me a an iron with literally an iron board without legs so I had to place it on top of the bed. While ironing on the bed is perfectly fine for most pieces of clothing, the task is not that easy for formal shirts (fourth bad point). Anyway, upon leaving the hotel for the day I reported the problems with the room and they fixed almost everything (not the ironing board).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampton Roads, VA

Excellent boutique hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2017
We stayed in the private junior suite for 5 days in May 2017 and had a terrific experience; absolutely no complaints. It was only a ten minute drive from the airport and cost about $5 with uber. The staff was bilingual and helped us confirm several local tours that we had booked online. The decor was tropical and open and each room seemed to have a lot of privacy with lots of plants and trees around to make you feel like you were just hidden away. I recommend booking the private suite because you get your own pool, which is lovely.
5 out of 5
by Froy

Wonderful extended visit

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
This was our second trip to Merida to explore the city as a potential permanent retirement community. We chose the Art 57 to "live as an urban Merida resident" for our 9 night/10 day visit. We reserved a junior suite with daily continental breakfast. While the breakfast was a bit redundant for 10 days (shorter stays it would be fine). Our room came with private pool (cooling/splash tub for 2 people) at this colorful, yet tranquil boutique style hotel . The hotel is conveniently located in the historical district of Merida. Walking distance to many wonderful restaurants, shops, and the famous "Sunday Market" celebrated each and every weekend. For those destinations beyond walking distance, taxi and even Uber service can get you where you want to be quickly and very inexpensively. We even walked to the bus station and caught a comfortable, air conditioned bus to the beach in Progreso for 90 U.S. cents each way. Our room and the entire hotel for that matter was clean, tastefully decorated with the common areas lush with tropical gardens. The hotel staff was fantastic! Most everyone spoke a 2nd language in addition to Spanish. While the entire staff was as warm as the Merida weather, Natalia stood out as a shining star ensuring all our questions were answered and needs were met. We truly enjoyed our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Friendly, lovely, quiet, clean, convenient clean

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Decor, friendly, helpful staff, dipping pool, safe, convenient neighborhood, breakfast.
Cons: Please fix the TV.
Location: Close to to large parks with shops, restaurants, entertainment including carriage rides and nightly free performances.
Glad we paid extra for the room with a pool. The pool was a private "dipping pool" -- not large enough to do laps, but definitely big enough in which to stay cool and play. Staff was friendly, helpful and most spoke good English yet had the kindness to be patient as I practiced my elementary Spanish. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was fruit artfully arranged, rolls, juice, and coffee. While it's conveniently located in a safe neighborhood in the heart of the city, it's so quiet and pretty that you feel like you're in a resort. Only problem we had was that our TV never worked despite our letting the staff know, but that was a minor problem considering the assets.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HOUSTON

Bad experience

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Very unpleasant find cockroaches in the room, half of room without light, intermittent internet service, old worn towels, the price is high for the poor quality and condition of the hotel. The only good thing is the location near to the downtown
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Worthy of a Return Visit

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Very attractive, inexpensive, very good location, nice staff.
Cons: English-speaking news channel. Maybe the in-room coffee.
Location: within reach of everything that you would want to see in Merida. But not on the strip, so to speak. Great location.
This was my second stay at this hotel. It is a very nice boutique hotel in the heart of Merida. Great location and very affordable. No fuss, no drama. Cute, easy, inexpensive and within walking distance to EVERYTHING. It is my home-away-from home. I have a house on the coast and this hotel is becoming my city house:)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Natalia at the front desk was great! The hotel is in a good location, the condition of the hotel and private pool (for some rooms) need updating - for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cleveland Ohio

Nice quiet oasis in the middle of Merida

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Everything. All we asked for was provided from ice to extra towels, to more than the 2 bottles of water or more coffee packets for in room coffee pot.
Cons: Box Kleenex rather than packages. Body wash, rather than bar soap, in addition to shampoo, conditioner and lotion provided. No note paper or pen.
Location: Centro Merida and some great restaurants all within a 5 to 10 minute walk. We always felt safe walking back and forth.
After first night, we were upgraded to a larger room at our request which made all the difference. We had our own private pool area with lounge chairs and spent a good deal of time out there. The hotel has many tropical gardens with tall palm trees and it was like being at a resort in the middle of the city. The hotel is close to most everything in Centro Merida, yet was very quiet with little city noise. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Special kudos to Natalia for making our stay so perfect. A review we had read said that internet reception was disappointing. One evening, we could get no signal, mentioned this to the front desk and by that night it was restored. There was never another problem, any time of day. We have stayed at a much more expensive and lavish hotel in Merida and not enjoyed our stay or location as much, as at Koox. For us, there is no need to stay anywhere else on our next trip to Merida.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent central lodgings

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Central, clean, comfortable.
Location: The location is near everything a visitor would want. The beautiful colonial architecture, fabulous Yucatan cuisines, shopping, and lots of walking.
Stayed for 11 days at this very well run Hotel in the centre of the lovely city of Merida. Room was very comfortable, thick towels, hot water, great bed. Clean and very well maintained public area with a small charming tropical garden. Front desk staff were ready to help in any way, makig reservations for tours, suggesting areas to see, a very hospitable crew who all spoke good English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Clean hotel close to center

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and friendly staff who spoke some English.
Cons: Large front room should have a small table and chairs. Also, an easy chair.
Location: The Municipal square was within walking distance and restaurants too. Not so a grocery store which we could not find.
Helpful staff who speak some English. Hotel was clean and quiet at the back but not the front room which was close to the street. We kept window shut. Room was large but lacked a comfortable chair. It could accommodate small table and two chairs but had neither. Breakfast was standard and did not vary day to day. No eggs or meat. We could walk to the attractions in the city Centro.