Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by David O'Driscoll from Florida

Mosquitos, No AC

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels
The owner and her family are extremely nice people - top notch. Unfortunately I cannot say the same about the hotel. I had a view of nothing from my room. The bathroom is terrible. No fridge in the kitchen area. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. There was NO A/C and it was warm in the room. The fan on the ceiling made a racket all night. I was eaten by mosquitos as you have to leave the windows open to get air. Barking dog didn't help much either.
2 out of 5
by David O'Driscoll from Ft. Laudrrdale, Florida

Not Very Good

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels
Let me first say that the owner and her family are absolutely lovely people. However, the accommodations are not the best. There is still work to be done. My room had a view of nothing. My bed was highly uncomfortable. There is no A/C. The furnishings are old and mismatched. There were screens on the bedroom windows but not in the rest of the Suite. I had a net over the bed but was still eaten alive by mosquitos. I had breakfast and dinner there and both were good. The facility has potential but it's not there yet. AC and a comfy bed or the lack thereof need to be addressed ASAP.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy but Rustic

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels
The positives: Delicious food, wonderful hospitality, Spectacular views, personal service, clean room, spacious room and living area, convenient personal kitchen, good access to quaint beach, good selection of television channels. The negatives: no AC, interior furniture needs to be updated to be more comfortable and funtional, tv was small 12 inch tube, hot water was not working properly, wireless only worked in lobby and not in room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

island of friendly people

Posted Feb 28, 2013
great food great hospitality great location and views
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down, not worth the money

Posted Jan 21, 2013 on Hotels
One of those "Vacation gone wrong" movies come to mind. At least far as the hotel goes. It was laughable all the issues with the hotel and too many to go into detail with. But if you enjoy sharing the bathroom with a spider the size of your hand and being eaten alive by mosquitos due to a lack of window screens, no telephone in your room but a card that tells you what to dial incase of emergency. LoL, Then you may enjoy it here. I told them the fridge was filthy and didn't work. I was told it wasn't dirty, it had been sprayed and that's why it looked that way. I didn't dare ask what it was sprayed with and why. I do have to give them credit, they did change the fridge to surprisingly one that looked clean, hmmm. It was a 10 min walk to an ok beach, Lastly I'll mention no hot water but there was an electric water heater thing attached to the shower head that was cracked and dripped cold mixed with tepid water and we were concerned about being electrocuted, but we survived.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Island bay hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2012
Pros: Quite and close to the beach.
Great room, delicious food and very friendly staff. The owner is a very beautiful person inside and out she looked after us and treated us like family.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Great locale and wonderful staff!

Posted Mar 17, 2012
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: There aren't a lot of other places to eat in the neighborhood.
Location: Across from the beach, great breezes, and lots of sun.
We were in Dominica for bird watching and hiking. The Island Bay Boutique Hotel is well-situated for both especially if you have a rental car. The trail to Morne Diabolatin and the Sanctuary Trail are just to the north and the trail to Boiling Lake is just to the south. These are must do's for serious hikers. The hotel staff can help you with a guide which is helpful in both cases but particularly for the mountain. The beach across the road is nice and the Romance Cafe on the beach has free and relatively fast wifi. The staff of the hotel are excellent, friendly, and family. Embrace the food, sleep with your door open to enjoy the sea breeze, and make some friends.
4 out of 5
by travelsaroundtheworld

Nice Place

Posted Feb 13, 2012 on Orbitz
This place is away from everything peaceful and quiet if that's what you're looking for. Cost to/from airport is high though. Friendly staff and a nice view from the hotel. No internet you're pretty much all on your own you and nature kind of.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Great place to relax

Posted Mar 5, 2010
Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Only ate at the restaurant once but food and service were outstanding. Definitely recommend balcony view of the Caribbean - gorgeous view and sunsets. Mero is a quiet town so if you are looking for action this isn't the place. Be sure to make a reservation for any restaurant as they aren't always open.