Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Close to East Chicago

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Price
Cons: Breakfast
Location: I-65 at U.S. 30 - Star Theater
We were back in northwest Indiana for the third time in the last twelve weeks. We decided to try the Best Western in Merrillville. It was less expensive than the other hotels we used in the same area. We were satified with the room for the most part. Breakfast was very limited.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by Paras, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler. I am pleased to hear that you find our location to your liking. On your next visit, we are happy to share with you a sample itinerary that will help you maximize your stay in the area. I hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay elsewhere.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: Location is good
Was under remodel hotel was cheap but breakfast was less than desirable. We went elsewhere to eat. Pool is poorly maintained. Needs redone. Hot tub jets just spray water everywhere not bubbling. Last trip for us...
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Paras, Hotel Management
I hope this notes finds well. We have sent your feedback to the personnel concerned. I apologize for this bad experience. This is very disappointing to hear, but we hope you give us another chance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago Il

Perfect for a Night

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Location: The Hotel has a lot of restaurants and the SouthLake Mall located near by, there are also many stores outside the mall in the area.
My Husband and I decided to stop in Merriville for the night on our way to Indianapolis for our Honeymoon. We checked in about 10pm and the computers were rebooting and so the nice man at the desk just took a copy of my id and an imprint of my credit card and gave us our room key. As he was processing all the that he asked what brought us to town when we told him it was a stop over on our way to our Honeymoon chuckled and said well it starts right now and upgraded our room for free. It was extremely nice of the young man. The only reason I did not rate it a 5 on Facilities and Condition is because they are renovating so if renovations bother you than take that into consideration, but from what we could see its looking beautiful and we will definitely stay there again as we frequent the Merriville Area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by Nila Patel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We will be sure to let Paras know that he made an impact during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Has good reviews but

Posted Sep 21, 2016
I always read reviews because I travel with our toddler. The reviews were wrong. The hotel is outdated. The hotel itself had a funky smell to it. they were renovating and the halls smelled like paint. The room was okay. Sheets looked clean. The pool was old and smelled off.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Paras, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive comments and I am pleased that you had a good stay overall. However, I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay and don't hesitate to call me to share more information and I will try my best to rectify the situation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Very nice friendly service at the front desk. Liked the room and Hot tub area
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Paras, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at our hotel. I'm glad that you found our location convenient. Were you able to explore the area? If not, you can visit us again and we are happy to share with you the must-visit attractions as well as some hidden treasures in the area.
3 out of 5
by Juuso from Helsinki

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oshkosh WI

Loved how close to the interstate it was.

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Clean spacious room with professional nice staff
Cons: Thought bed was hard
Location: Close to interstate and places to eat
Thrilled with the spacious clean room. Mini fridge, microwave, flat screen television. The staff was beyond professional and nice. The only complaint I have is I thought the bed was too hard
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2016 by Paras , Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind comments. I will be sure to let our staff know how much of an impact they made on your experience. We are always pleased to be our second home when you're at the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Hotel manager was very unfriendly when asked questions. Pillows seemed very old, flat, uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2016 by Paras, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such candid feedback of your stay. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. We will ensure your feedback will be given to all. Furthermore, I will personally supervise that all your other complaints are addressed that everything will be in order on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back then.
3 out of 5
by Francisco

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.
5 out of 5
by Rita from Moberly, MO

will stay again.

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
I was only there to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.