Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US


Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Did not get to even check-in because the lady at the reception would not get a manager for us.
Cons: We had requested cribs prior to getting to the hotel and on getting to the hotel before check-in time we requested for the cribs but they only had one for us at check-in when we had requested 2. No manager was available to assist, instead the lady at the reception called the police on us and lied that we shouted at her. The police threatened to throw us in jail and call CPS on us just because we were requesting for a manager to solve the crib issue for us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from merrilliville, IN

Rude staff

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Their staff is very rude. My card was charged over $300 dollars due to a new staff member not knowing what she was doing. They gave us a free room for the night then took it back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Merrilville Indiana

Posted Oct 4, 2016
It was great until I got a $260.00 hold for 7 days for a $110 room for 1 night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City Mo

Be advised of extra charges.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: nice grounds
The breakfast that they charge for is the same breakfast that is free at most hotels. Also if you stay more than one night you are charged a $20 per night security deposit. I stayed there 5 nights and it has been 5 days since then and my credit card is still being charged daily. I called and they said they released the deposits and I will be refunded. I will not be staying there again. There are too many other hotels to choose from in the Merrillville area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indpls, in

Comfort of HOME

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Listed above HIGHLY RECOGNIZED! A little hotel, but sits well among the larger ones! Best kept secret!!
Cons: nothing
Location: Plenty of places to eat, shop and even see a live show nearby,
I have stayed here on several occasion's: class reunion, visiting home and stay over before my Honeymoon Trip. Was married @ a Clarion in Indy! Wonderful staff. They are remodeling but the hotel doesn't have any clutter! This time I stayed here to attend my cousin's wedding.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Exactly what we needed!!

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Even though the hotel is a little outdated, it was very clean and well maintained. There is no elevator so if this is an issue please make sure you request 1st floor accommodations. The location was perfect for our needs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Dirty pool. Had to get a new key card 15 times within 3 days...............
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Very nice hotel. Friendly staff. Will definitely be booking rooms here in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Churubusco, IN

Would definitely stay again.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Found a really, really cheap deal for this hotel on Expedia ($63/night) and it is normally a price point I won't even consider because it generally means it's a terrible place to stay. That is not the case. I noticed the review rating and looked into it more. They have great reviews and I'm adding to them. The room was very comfortable, 2 double beds, microwave, refrigerator, TV, nice towels and bedding. The staff was great. Alison at the front desk, especially so. My kids LOVED, the indoor/outdoor pool. The scenery around the pool area is beautiful. The whole hotel was very clean. Breakfast in the am was not included with our room but was very reasonable, $2.99 for kids and $6.99 for myself. It included waffles, bacon, eggs, sausage, hash browns, bagels, donuts, English muffins, and other things I don't remember. A variety of beverages and condiments. Coffee was free. The area it's in is great, lots of places to eat and shop and very close to Deep River Waterpark, the dunes, Albanese Candy Factory. The mall is right down the road too. They say they are a "no frills" hotel, but the only "no frills" I saw are they don't have an elevator to the second floor, but the staff will help you with your luggage and it didn't feel like there was a/c in the hallways. But the rooms control their own and the lobby, Bfast area is comfortably cool. I will definitely look into Clarions in the future and plan on going back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Room and facilities are good I would recommend this hotel