Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Very bad odors

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Coffee, friendly staff, good internet speed.
Cons: Should have a pet-free floor and better cleaning staff.
Location: Pleasing location, nearby lots of stores and restaurants.
Staff were friendly, facilities were in good condition. Sheets had stains and the whole room smelled really bad. Also the grab and go breakfast was poor but had good coffee.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 26, 2016
The overall experience of the hotel is pleasing. The hotel staff could be more professional. For the budget it is good. The configuration of the rooms is what I like allowing me to make my own food as a healthy alternative to restaurants over and over.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It is great to see you had a great experience with us for the affordable price you paid, and that you valued the fully equipped kitchen in your room. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to restaurants , shopping

Posted Jul 18, 2016
First night wasnt good fire alarm went off four times waking us up each time otherwise stay was nice had kitchen but nothing in to use maid service was extra so we did our own
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable option, reasonable price

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
The room was no-frills, a little dated, but adequate. Might want to bring a pillow, the three provided were pretty flat. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly. Room had a good sized desk and a full sized frige. The surrounding area has good shopping and dining options.
2 out of 5
by Marc

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Sophie from Minnesota

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
small room good just for sleeping nothing special
2 out of 5
by John from Elkhorn

very poor and untrustworthy

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was over shadowed by the fact that we requested a NO ANIMAL room and the room smelled like animals. I would never trust that hotel company again.
1 out of 5
by Robert from Missouri

Disgusting hotel!

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived at the desk to check in, Mary stated the computer system is down so she wrote our information down manually. She was eating at the front desk while dealing with us. She grabbed a post it and wrote our credit card number on it! We got the keys to #124 so we headed to our room. We walked in and it smelled like stagnant urine and wet ashtrays! We refused to stay here! Mary offered us another room but it did not have a TV. We left for a better hotel. We had to drive back to this hotel to "check out" so we could get a refund on the room from hotels.com. Worst experience ever, will NEVER stay here again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
The situation you described regarding the room is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. To ensure that a situation like yours doesn't happen again, will be initiating retraining. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business in Merrillville

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was friendly and helpful. Took me a minute to realize that you need to request kitchen equipment. But when I asked, it was delivered promptly. Appreciated the kitchenette as it allowed me to eat there most days. Quiet enough to work in peace. Comfortable bed and nice selection of pillows.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Great value

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: Clean, friendly, cheap
The check in staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was nothing special, but it was very clean and nice. I thought the hotel was quiet and I slept well there. The hotel rate was the best I could find anywhere around Merrillville and thought it was a great value.