Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near lots of restaurants, shopping, and highway.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
The hotel staff extremely helpful and courtesy. Very nice room and clean but some ants in the room unfortunately. I did not see them personally. My daughter did not mention until after we checked out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Andrea P.- Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to respond about your recent stay at our hotel. We hope you will come see us again when your travels bring you through Merrillville.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Clean hotel and helpful staff

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Lots of parking, close to everything.
Cons: Second bathroom in the lobby.
Location: Had an event in Shereville, many restuarants and shops on the way.
Alfonzo great at the desk and on the phone, very helpful. Our teenager loved the second room with the pull out sofa bed. We closed the door and she could stay up a little later.
1 out of 5
by joseph from Iowa

remodeling

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
first room(301) we were assigned to was near the noisy interstate due to single pane windows. they moved us promptly to rm144. Inadequate AC. toilet ran at different times. pool and exercise room closed for remodeling. We weren't offered a discount rate. the newly remodeled rooms had a smaller than average 'relaxing' chair. the bathroom sink was in a corner and the mirror on a side wall, making it awkward for shaving. the gentleman at the front desk,Demetrin, WAS very helpful. HE was the only positive thing about our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016 by Andrea Prentkowski, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville with us. I am very sorry our current appearance was not what you had anticipated. We strive to maintain the highest standards, not only in service, but also with regards to maintaining the overall look and feel of the hotel. Unfortunately, this sometimes requires essential renovations in our guest areas. Although we fell short of meeting your expectations during your past stay, I hope you will consider Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville on your next visit to Merrillville so that we can better deliver upon the guest experience you deserve.
4 out of 5
by Cindy from Avon

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Room was spotless. Demitri provided awesome customer service. Made great restaurant recommendations. My only complaint was that the bathroom was tiny. Overall though it was a great stay.
2 out of 5
by Raphael from Levittown, PA

Need better cleaning

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Walls must have been made of paper. You can hear every little noise in rooms next, across and above you. 1st night, bath tub was clogged. Fixed right away when I told the front desk. There was a plastic spoon on the carpet in the hallway the entire 4 nights that I stayed there. 3rd day, I awoke to ants in the bathroom. When I got back that night after telling the front desk, an overwhelming smell of pesticide in the room, but no ants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Andrea Prentkowski, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to respond to a guest comment survey. We appreciate your honesty and will work with the appropriate department to ensure a better guest experience next time. Thank you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Small rooms. Sink is in the same room as bathroom which is good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2016 by Andrea Prentkowski, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay. We hope next time you stay with us you will try one of our suites. You should find the suite very spacious.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Joseph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay place to stay for a night for business

Posted Feb 9, 2016
The staff was very nice and accommodating. Make sure to stay on the top floor. I was on the second floor and I could hear the person above me a lot! Good thing I had to wake up very early or I'd be very upset at this. I had to use their business center which was quick and efficient. You can definetely hear the traffic from 65 but if you put the fan on, it's fine. Overall, it's fine for just an over night stay.