Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Noblesville, IN

Quiet and relaxing hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: I liked it's proximity to I-65 and to restaurants. Front desk guy was great. Room was clean and smelled good. Breakfast good. Everything went well
Location: Located just off I-65 at Merrillville exit. Close to places to eat. Cocktail lounge nearby. Abuelo's mexcican restaurant next door. One hour to CHI
Nice clean room with a nice staff and an Abuelos right next door. Breakfast was good. No problems at all. Glad I chose it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Gerry, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We're so happy to know it was a great hotel experience for you! We enjoyed your visit and welcome you back whenever you are in the Merrillville area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Very friendly staff. Rooms were clean. Location is excellent. The breakfast was decent. During my stay they were having electrical issues, which caused the waffles to taste funny and the yogurts to smell sour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. Although I'm pleased to know you enjoyed our cleanly accommodations, welcoming staff, and convenient location, I apologize that your overall experience was anything less than exceptional. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future so that we may better your experience!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Not bad....not great

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Cons: probably should be remodeled...or sold off to Choice Hotels.
Location: nice candy factory a couple miles away
stayed here twice (2 nights each) over that couple weekends. First night room was fine. Last night room had a funny stench to it....maybe shower water leaking into a wall/carpet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Carol O, Hotel Management
David, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. I'm disappointed to know that you haven't been completely satisfied with your stay with us. We may have been the first and oldest Fairfield Inn Franchise but we have been updated last year. Since cleanliness is a big focus for us, we will investigate the odor issue you experienced. Hopefully we have no bigger underlying issues. We hope to give you a better experience when you back to the Merrillville area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Over night stay

Posted Aug 11, 2017
We stay here often the facilities were very good as usual.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Sylvester, We're happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel! Thank you for the 5 star review. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
5 out of 5
by Rhonda

Excellent stay

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is my family's go to hotel. It's clean and the service is good. The location is conventient to the surrounding events.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017
Rhonda, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We're pleased to know you enjoyed our cleanly accommodations and wonderful staff, as we take great pride in both! We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Chicago

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Noisy from the traffic but you get used to the noise. Breakfast was not great. Eggs were dirty. Selections were not appetizing. Went to Cracker Barrel for breakfast on second day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
gh, Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again so that we can provide you with a five star experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Nice hotel, friendly, helpful staff

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Room was nice and clean. The girl at the desk (Stefany) was very nice and helpful. She brought us a roll away bed for my daughter who didnt want to share the sofa bed with her sister. It was actually better quality than I was expecting from a roll away bed. My daughter said it was quite comfy. I also needed to print something from the computer but the printer was down so Stefany made a copy from the front desk for me. I appreciated that she went above and beyond to help me. This is why we always stay at Fairfield when we are in the Chicago area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Meredith, We are so happy to know that the service you received while staying at our property really stood out to you, and appreciate that you wanted to highlight it in a review! Thank you for your loyalty, and we'd love to serve you again on your next visit to the Merrillville area.
5 out of 5
by Julia

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017
Thank you for the 5 star rating, Julia! We hope to welcome you back again and will strive to make your future visits just as great as this one.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Service

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, and thank you for acknowledging our great team here on property. We'd love to welcome you back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Very clean

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Orbitz
Clean, courteous, and consistent. Highly recommended