Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice hotel, friendly staff

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pretty nice hotel, had a good stay here. Staff is very friendly, rooms are small - there was 4 in my party so things were kinda cramped. Free breakfast was ok. Rooms were clean and updated which I like.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Jeanette, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We're pleased to know you enjoyed your overall visit, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: The room
Cons: Breakfast
Location: The Star Plaza Theater is very close by
Nice, clean hotel. Close to restaurants and shopping. The room was very nice and the bed was comfortable. Their breakfast wasn't up to par for a Fairfield Inn. They didn't have biscuits or scrambled eggs when we first got there. We waited about a half hour and they finally brought out more but they were COLD. We checked out early and wound up going to a restaurant for breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. Although I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed our cleanly and comfortable accommodations, I apologize that your breakfast experience was anything less than exceptional. I have shared your notes with the appropriate teams to address opportunities. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future so that we can provide you with a five star experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Noblesville, IN

Quiet and relaxing hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: I liked it's proximity to I-65 and to restaurants. Front desk guy was great. Room was clean and smelled good. Breakfast good. Everything went well
Location: Located just off I-65 at Merrillville exit. Close to places to eat. Cocktail lounge nearby. Abuelo's mexcican restaurant next door. One hour to CHI
Nice clean room with a nice staff and an Abuelos right next door. Breakfast was good. No problems at all. Glad I chose it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Gerry, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We're so happy to know it was a great hotel experience for you! We enjoyed your visit and welcome you back whenever you are in the Merrillville area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Very friendly staff. Rooms were clean. Location is excellent. The breakfast was decent. During my stay they were having electrical issues, which caused the waffles to taste funny and the yogurts to smell sour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. Although I'm pleased to know you enjoyed our cleanly accommodations, welcoming staff, and convenient location, I apologize that your overall experience was anything less than exceptional. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future so that we may better your experience!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Not bad....not great

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Cons: probably should be remodeled...or sold off to Choice Hotels.
Location: nice candy factory a couple miles away
stayed here twice (2 nights each) over that couple weekends. First night room was fine. Last night room had a funny stench to it....maybe shower water leaking into a wall/carpet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Carol O, Hotel Management
David, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. I'm disappointed to know that you haven't been completely satisfied with your stay with us. We may have been the first and oldest Fairfield Inn Franchise but we have been updated last year. Since cleanliness is a big focus for us, we will investigate the odor issue you experienced. Hopefully we have no bigger underlying issues. We hope to give you a better experience when you back to the Merrillville area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Breakfast hours should be extended by one hour. It ends at 9 am and that is too early for folks vacationing.
4 out of 5
by Cynthia

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017
Cynthia, Thank you for the four star rating! We hope you had an enjoyable stay. We’d love to welcome you back again soon for a five star experience.
5 out of 5
by Christina

Excellent

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Nice and clean and comfy
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017
Christina, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We're pleased to know we succeeded in providing you with cleanly and comfortable accommodations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Over night stay

Posted Aug 11, 2017
We stay here often the facilities were very good as usual.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Sylvester, We're happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel! Thank you for the 5 star review. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
4 out of 5
by MIchael

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017
Michael, Thank you for rating your recent experience with us. We strive for five star service and we would be honored if you would give us the opportunity to host you again so we can ensure your next stay is exceptional.