Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Wonderful stay

Posted Aug 27, 2017
This was one of the best hotel stays I think we've ever had. From the checkout, to the property, to the room, to the staff- everything was phenomenal. The breakfast was really good and had a lot of options for the picky eaters in my family. The front desk and breakfast staff, especially Linda, were so super sweet to my children and made us feel welcome. We really enjoyed our stay. The only thing I will say that we didn't like was that the pool was freezing! My husband and 6yr old braved it and still had a fun time but my 8 mo and I definitely said no thank you! Lol All and all, we can't wait to come back to the area and stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Chantae, Thank you for sharing details from your recent stay at our hotel. We really appreciate the five star rating and are so glad to read of your wonderful experience overall! We look forward to welcoming you back again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Don't be fooled by the pictures. The hot tub they claim to have is filled in with cement. That's really the only reason we booked it. After Expedia messed up our original reservation. Terrible experience all around
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Nice hotel for reunion stay

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Friendly and clean
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Location is very good just off Interstate 65, many stores and restaurants nearby and within an hour from Chicago
From the late evening time we arrived until we left(7 days) the entire hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The front of the hotel was under some kind of renovation so you had to enter thru side entrance, but not a big inconvenience. The breakfast was ok, the hostess and servers were excellent. Rooms were well kept up and clean. Will stay here again the next time I come to visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dan, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We're pleased to know you enjoyed our cleanly accommodations and wonderful staff, as we take great pride in both! We appreciate your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
4 out of 5
by Debra

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017
Debra, Thank you for rating your recent experience with us. We strive for five star service and we would be honored if you would give us the opportunity to host you again so we can ensure your next stay is exceptional.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misleading your customers

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
The first unpleasant surprise was that the main entrance to the hotel is under repair. The appearance is terrible and then you must enter through a dark and foreboding hallway. We should have left then. The next surprise is that the pool heater is not working. The water is too cold to enjoy which spoiled my plan to enjoy swimming with the children. The rooms are clean but small. The staff was pleasant and Breakfast was ok but this did not make up for the disappointing experience. There are plenty of better choices of places to stay in Merrillville.
3 out of 5
by Jeffrey

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Still updating the hotel workers everywhere, pool was "broken", rude staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2017
Thank you for rating your recent stay. We're pleased to know it was a great experience for you! We'd love to welcome you back again.
5 out of 5
by Anthony

Great place to stay

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay very comfortable and quiet I would recommend this to everyone
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017
Anthony, Thank you for sharing that you had a comfortable stay! It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we'd love to welcome you back again.
3 out of 5
by Lori

Third time was not the charm

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
This was my third stay at the Merrillville Hampton Inn. I was disappointed during this recent stay because the building was being remodeled. When I checked in, there was a man working right outside my window and looking through the window watching me. I had to close the shades on a beautiful day. The room showed definite wear and tear as there were cracked tiles with pieces missing in the accessible shower (which floods part of the bathroom floor when in use). I inquired at the front desk about a safe deposit box or safe to place my medication in and she gave me a confused look and said "we don't have anything like that here". Disappointing.... My two previous stays were very good however this one causes me to rethink whether or not to stay there again when I'm in town on business.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback, especially during the renovation process. as it allows us to make improvements and adjustments to ensure our guests satisfaction. As we are coming to the close of our renovation, we hope that you will consider giving us another try the next time your travels bring you to the Merrillville area.
5 out of 5
by lanita

Extended Family

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
I must say that this hotel was nice despite the renovation construction. The construction stopped at a reasonable time and did not interfere with our rest or amenities during our stay. We will definitely stay there again. The staff is very polite and courteous!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017
Lanita, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, and thank you for acknowledging our great team here on property. We'd love to welcome you back again!