Ratings based on 731 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

disappointing stay...

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: located right off the interstate... mall and every store you can think of, is within 1 mile of the mall, so location was the only positive of my stay.
the room had a musty odor-like a combination of liniment and old cleaning solution. there were several groups, adults & kids, at the hotel and the noise was unbelievable. I contacted the front desk around 10pm to try and calm the gymnastics taking place above my room. They apologized and put a temporary end to it.. but things ramped up again, although not as rambunctious as before. However, adults seemed to have picked up the momentum in the lobby/bar area-which emanated to my room until about 3am. I seem to remember being able to fall asleep by 3:30am. the next nite was better as it appeared the groups had gone. I was a bit disappointed that I even had to contact the front desk, as they should have been much more proactive in keeping the chaos at bay... combined w/the room odor & in light of the room rate - this was unacceptable. one would have thought a 'bit' of luxury.. but reality was more like a 30yr old unrenovated motel-6.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianaplois

Nice place to stay but horrible to sleep there.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: this is a lovely hotel and a wonderful staff
Cons: replace the crappy mattress
Location: very near Southlake Mall
this is a beautiful hotel - but the beds are horrible-how a bed ca be mushy and hard at the same time is confounding but these beds seem to do just that. Horrible nights sleep and still feeling the effects 2 days later.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Carolyn, Thank you very much for staying with us, and for sharing the details of your stay. Our culture is to ensure that we exceed our guests expectations and truly personalize their visit. We are all very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I have shared your review with my colleagues, so that we can address opportunities. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and make your future stays five stars!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Close to restaurants
Fast, friendly check-in. Quiet room with comfy beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and we are delighted to read it was a great hotel experience for you. We enjoyed your visit and welcome you back whenever you are in the Merrillville area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Goldilocks and the Three Bears

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Bed was a bit hard, pillows were too soft
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from INDY RICK

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
WAS THERE FOR A FUNERAL SO IT WAS KIND OF A LAST MINUTE DEAL STAYED FRIDAY NIGHT AND SATURDAY NIGHT. WENT INTO CHICAGO SATURDAY MORNING AND BROUGHT SOME PIZAAS BACK WHICH CODY WAS MORE THAN HAPPY TO PUT THEM IN THE FREEZER FOR ME, HE WAS GREAT ALONG WITH THE GIRLS ALSO.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Indy Rick. We work to provide our guests with an excellent experience, and I’m happy to see we were able to achieve this for you. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope you will continue to use our facility whenever you are in the Merrillville area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Would stay again for the location and cookies!

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was great about our stay with one exception: the bed! I travel a lot and it wasn't good. that being said there was a wonderful treat in the lobby when we arrived. it was sort of a square cookie with cranberries and lemon zest? I'd love the recipe!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for staying with us, and for sharing the details of your stay. Our culture is to ensure that we exceed our guests expectations and truly personalize their visit. We are all very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I have shared your review with my colleagues, so that we can address opportunities. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and make your future stays five stars!
3 out of 5
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016
restaurant wasn't prepared to serve so many people; my only criticism. otherwise, loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Lynn Hon, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding the service that you received in our restaurant. Our team strives to not only meet but exceed your expectations, and we missed our mark with you. I hope that when you are in the Merrillville area again, you will give us another chance!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Multiple Visits

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
My go to hotel for s STAYcation. Never had any issues. Spacious, clean, close to nice restaurants and shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
STAYcation's are the BEST! I am pleased to hear that you have chosen to stay with us during your getaways! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
1 out of 5
by John from Las Vegas

Corporate greed...you can't count on this hotel.

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
I booked a prepaid non cancellable room. They oversold the hotel and they canceled my room, even though it was prepaid, and I had received a notification that my reservation was guaranteed. They offered me a room at an inferior hotel in a poor location. Corporate greed. I was told I was a low priority customer because I booked through hotels.com. If you want to do business with people who treat customers like garbage, I guess go ahead and book. If you need to cancel, and they say you can't...tell them...you cancelled on john...we are canceling on you.