Ratings based on 785 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lyons IL.

Nice area close to restaurants and shopping.

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Rug was not cleaned right, dirty rug and bathroom tub. Not pleasant at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Disappointed that web said and pictured a whirlpool and there was none. Plus the pool was freezing. The bar was really not a bar. Staff was very nice and place was very clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Hilton name and pretty exterior but needs manageme

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Pool and Exercise area where very nice.
Cons: Management to get the minor issues rectified.
I called down to room service and no one answered then the message recording came on that the mail box was full and could not leave a message. I went down to the front desk and told them and the lady said oh we have been trying to clear those and can't. A $10 breakfast you would expect higher quality food. No nuts for oatmeal or raisins, craisins. Fresh Fruit selection was cheaply done. For $10 needed to make it worth $10. Otherwise give it for free like the other hotels do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin, Ohio

Wonderful hotel with a super staff

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and clean room.
Cons: It was great. No improvement needed.
Location: Easy to find and close to the highway.
We had a great experience at this hotel. The staff could not have been any friendlier or attentive. The room was spacious and well arranged and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was not free, but priced very reasonably for a very high quality meal with lots of options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Wayne, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We're pleased to know we succeeded in providing you with cleanly and comfortable accommodations, and that our staff took such great care of you! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Clean room, comfortable bed. Was able to check in early after driving over 15 hours. My one complaint was that the pool was freezing and the maintenance man was gone for the weekend so it was unusable. Also there are photos of a hot tub in the pool room. It has since been taken out, so that was a slight disappointment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback regarding our hotel. Although we're pleased to know we succeeded in providing you with cleanly and comfortable accommodations, we are always striving and looking for ways to continuously exceed guest expectations and improve our hotel. We will look into all of your concerns and hopefully be able to better your experience should your travels bring you back to Merrillville in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Orbitz
Nice hotel. Nice location. Nice view. Friendly staff. Good housekeeping.
4 out of 5
by Samuel

Great service and clean

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
The stay was pretty good. Got moved rooms twice because of booking errors but other than that it was great. Only bad thing. No hot tub.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again and give you a five star experience.
5 out of 5
by Susan e

Posted Sep 1, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017
Thank you for the 5 star rating! We hope to welcome you back again and will strive to make your future visits just as great as this one.
4 out of 5
by Jill

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again and give you a five star experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Good for the night

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: It had a bed, coffee, television.
Cons: There was a wedding the night we stayed, and there was nowhere to park after the show at the Star Plaza.
Location: The Star Plaza is near by, but would have been so much better to stay at the Marriott--could have walked to the show, and not be stuck in traffic.
We just needed a room to sleep in overnight after a show at the Star Plaza, and the room was fine for that. There was not much in the way of snacks or breakfast. I visited my friend staying at the Marriott Residence Inn across the street from the Star Plaza, and saw what an incredible suite he had, walking distance from the theater, and cheaper than what I paid at the Hilton. Regretted that I was not the Marriott. Cleaner and newer than the Hilton.