Ratings based on 768 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Clean room, comfortable bed. Was able to check in early after driving over 15 hours. My one complaint was that the pool was freezing and the maintenance man was gone for the weekend so it was unusable. Also there are photos of a hot tub in the pool room. It has since been taken out, so that was a slight disappointment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Good for the night

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: It had a bed, coffee, television.
Cons: There was a wedding the night we stayed, and there was nowhere to park after the show at the Star Plaza.
Location: The Star Plaza is near by, but would have been so much better to stay at the Marriott--could have walked to the show, and not be stuck in traffic.
We just needed a room to sleep in overnight after a show at the Star Plaza, and the room was fine for that. There was not much in the way of snacks or breakfast. I visited my friend staying at the Marriott Residence Inn across the street from the Star Plaza, and saw what an incredible suite he had, walking distance from the theater, and cheaper than what I paid at the Hilton. Regretted that I was not the Marriott. Cleaner and newer than the Hilton.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean hotel close to shopping and restaurant

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Staff
Location: Close to shopping, restaurants and transportation.
Convenient, clean hotel. The staff was very accommodating and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We're pleased to know you enjoyed our cleanly accommodations and wonderful staff, as we take great pride in both! It's been a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Great Place, Great Staff

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness of the facility and room. Exceptional staff.
Cons: Have more people to serve at breakfast or a manager in charge that can properly delegate. I felt sorry for those ladies! Both elevators are needed.
Location: Shopping and Dining options are unlimited. The lakeshore is about 30 minutes away. Chicago is about 1 hour.
I recently stayed again at this hotel as I frequent it often. It is very clean, spacious and in a good location. On this trip there were a few issues in that only one elevator was in operation (I understood they were awaiting the arrival of a repair person) and there are too few employees to accommodate the crowds at breakfast. All of the staff including those that were overwhelmed were very friendly and professional. The breakfast is great but with too few staff there is often dirty dishes on the tables long after folks have left, the wait staff is scurrying around to try to meet the customer needs, there was a sticky mess on the floor that no one could possibly clean up. They were so busy that I often went to the front desk and asked them to add it to my room bill because they did not have time to deliver a ticket to my table before I left. The rooms are well maintained and clean. There were a few on my floor who thought they could smoke undetected. It left a disgusting smell in our room and bathroom. Upon notifying the staff, they quickly attempted to assure me that the offenders would be fined and could be asked to leave the hotel. Such a nice hotel and some selfish fool tries to mess it up because they are too lazy to go down to the smoking areas. I will be back for sure. Next time I hope the smokers do what is right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
MBH, Thank you for sharing details from your stay as that gives us opportunities for improvement. We are dedicated to providing the highest quality and consistent level of service for all our guests and I have shared your notes with our team. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again so that we may better your experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible service

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Do need to improve customer service. Check in was the worst ever experienced. I had to wait at least 20 minutes, and when she finally got to me, first, she almost ignored me and then when I said I need to check in, she didn't even make one comment about the wait. When I finally got to check in and got to the room, the key didn't work. Went back down and asked for the keys that worked, she didn't not apologize about it. The second key didn't work, again, and while we are trying to figure out, some one else cane out and started to yelling. Turned out that the room was already occupied. Making a long story cut short, after over one hour later, we got our room. Room was not fully stock like other rooms but at this point, we just wanted to go to bed. We only got one apology and that is yet. Aweful experience, will never stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Our team strives to not only meet but exceed your expectations and it is clear that we missed our mark with you. I assure you that the lack of genuine care from our staff and the miss in guest room standards and amenities is a one off issue here at our hotel. I hope that when you are back in the area you will give us another chance to make it right with you
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
I was disappointed with my stay. I have stayed at this hotel this hotel and was very pleased with the comfort and cleanliness in the past. This stay the first room was dirty and smelled bad. The chair was faded in the curtains were worn and stained. I was given another room and it was cleaner and smelled better but the chair was faded, curtains worn, and one of the pillows was dirty under the pillowcase. I felt uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
by Nicholas

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017
Nicholas, Thank you for the 5 star rating! We hope to welcome you back again and will strive to make your future visits just as great as this one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the best choices in Merrillville/Hobart

Posted May 31, 2017
Cons: I wish I had known the pool was closed for renovation before I booked.
Location: Near mall and restaurants, yet a bit tucked away from the hussle-bussle. Plenty to do within 30 min of the hotel.
Staff was great. Room was clean and comfortable. I wish I had known the pool was closed for renovation before I booked, but since we had a very busy itinerary, it didn't affect us too much. The lobby was very clean and inviting, felt like I could sit and relax there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Mark, Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us. We truly apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to our pool renovation, but we're happy to hear you enjoyed the rest of your time at our hotel. You mentioned all the aspects that we focus on for a great stay--it's all due to a great staff, that provide such well-maintained guest rooms and common areas, along with excellent guest service. Once again, thanks for sharing your review and staying with us! We'd love to welcome you back again for a five star experience.
4 out of 5
by Andrew K.

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017
Andrew, Thank you for rating your recent experience with us. We strive for five star service and we would be honored if you would give us the opportunity to host you again so we can ensure your next stay is exceptional.
5 out of 5
by Sean

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017
Sean, Thank you for rating your recent visit. We're happy to know you had a five star experience, and we hope to welcome you back again!