Ratings based on 763 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean hotel close to shopping and restaurant

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Staff
Location: Close to shopping, restaurants and transportation.
Convenient, clean hotel. The staff was very accommodating and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We're pleased to know you enjoyed our cleanly accommodations and wonderful staff, as we take great pride in both! It's been a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Great Place, Great Staff

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness of the facility and room. Exceptional staff.
Cons: Have more people to serve at breakfast or a manager in charge that can properly delegate. I felt sorry for those ladies! Both elevators are needed.
Location: Shopping and Dining options are unlimited. The lakeshore is about 30 minutes away. Chicago is about 1 hour.
I recently stayed again at this hotel as I frequent it often. It is very clean, spacious and in a good location. On this trip there were a few issues in that only one elevator was in operation (I understood they were awaiting the arrival of a repair person) and there are too few employees to accommodate the crowds at breakfast. All of the staff including those that were overwhelmed were very friendly and professional. The breakfast is great but with too few staff there is often dirty dishes on the tables long after folks have left, the wait staff is scurrying around to try to meet the customer needs, there was a sticky mess on the floor that no one could possibly clean up. They were so busy that I often went to the front desk and asked them to add it to my room bill because they did not have time to deliver a ticket to my table before I left. The rooms are well maintained and clean. There were a few on my floor who thought they could smoke undetected. It left a disgusting smell in our room and bathroom. Upon notifying the staff, they quickly attempted to assure me that the offenders would be fined and could be asked to leave the hotel. Such a nice hotel and some selfish fool tries to mess it up because they are too lazy to go down to the smoking areas. I will be back for sure. Next time I hope the smokers do what is right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
MBH, Thank you for sharing details from your stay as that gives us opportunities for improvement. We are dedicated to providing the highest quality and consistent level of service for all our guests and I have shared your notes with our team. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again so that we may better your experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the best choices in Merrillville/Hobart

Posted May 31, 2017
Cons: I wish I had known the pool was closed for renovation before I booked.
Location: Near mall and restaurants, yet a bit tucked away from the hussle-bussle. Plenty to do within 30 min of the hotel.
Staff was great. Room was clean and comfortable. I wish I had known the pool was closed for renovation before I booked, but since we had a very busy itinerary, it didn't affect us too much. The lobby was very clean and inviting, felt like I could sit and relax there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Mark, Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us. We truly apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to our pool renovation, but we're happy to hear you enjoyed the rest of your time at our hotel. You mentioned all the aspects that we focus on for a great stay--it's all due to a great staff, that provide such well-maintained guest rooms and common areas, along with excellent guest service. Once again, thanks for sharing your review and staying with us! We'd love to welcome you back again for a five star experience.
4 out of 5
by Andrew K.

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017
Andrew, Thank you for rating your recent experience with us. We strive for five star service and we would be honored if you would give us the opportunity to host you again so we can ensure your next stay is exceptional.
5 out of 5
by Sean

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017
Sean, Thank you for rating your recent visit. We're happy to know you had a five star experience, and we hope to welcome you back again!
5 out of 5
by Sarah

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017
Sarah, Thank you for the 5 star rating! We hope to welcome you back again and will strive to make your future visits just as great as this one.
5 out of 5
by Tracy

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017
Thank you for the 5 star rating, Tracy! We hope to welcome you back again and will strive to make your future visits just as great as this one.
5 out of 5
by Paul

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017
Thanks for the 5 star review, Paul! We hope to welcome you back again.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017
Michael, We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and we are delighted to read it was a great hotel experience for you. We enjoyed your visit and welcome you back whenever you are in the Merrillville area.
2 out of 5
by Damien

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Very uncomfortable beds, and for the price a overall hotel could of been better