Ratings based on 1,085 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The floor was very dirty, the bathroom door was broke & wouldn't even close. We were very disappointed in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Thank you Maria De Jesus, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at the Red Roof In Merrillville. I do apologize that you encounter your room with dirty floors, and door broken. We will be sure to address this issue with our housekeeping and maintenance staff. As we take pride on making sure that we make our guest feel comfortable with there stay. Hope to see you again. Thank You Maria De Jesus
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
It was ok. I thought that my room was going to look better than that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Maria De Jesus, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Red Roof In Merrillville. Glad to hear that your stay went ok. Our rooms were remodeled in 2016 at the end of December and finish January 2017. We are always completing updates everyday. When visiting again you can our Superior King Room, there very spacious and big. Thank You Maria De Jesus
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Merrillville, Indiana.
I rented 3 rooms. All the rooms smelled of stale smoke, the floors were sticky and very dirty. There was dried food spread on the walls, popcorn on the chair and down the sides of the chair. The bedspreads were all stained and rather disgusting looking. We were given only one washcloth, one hand towel and 2 bath towels for each room. We had to park quite a distance from our rooms which did not make us feel safe at all. All in all, it was a disgusting hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2017 by Thank You Maria De Jesus, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Red Roof In Merrillville. We do apologize that you have encounter many issues with all 3 rooms. We find that we have excellent housekeeping staff, they take pride on making sure all our guest have a clean room. We will address all the issues you have encounter to make sure when you stay with us again you would not have to encounter these issues again. Thank You Maria De Jesus
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wi

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Was great. Only draw back was room odor. Needs a good airing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Thank you Maria De Jesus, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Red Roof in Merrillville. It's good to her that you had a great stay, we do apologize that the room had a odor at check in. We will make sure to resolve this issue as we take great pride on making sure that all of our rooms are sutable for all our guest. We can't wait to see you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from merrillville Indiana

No Irone and hairdryer

Posted Sep 24, 2017
The hotel location is good, The bad sheets were clean. In the morning I called the reception desk and asked for an iron and a hairdryer because there was not any in the room , The lady said she will ask the housekeepers ask and send one but nothing. She Not even called back to tell me or apologize. Or apologize
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by Steven Coster, Hotel Management
Thank you Rt for sharing your experience with us and for being a valued guest. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and that you noticed how clean our rooms are. We work very hard and hold ourselves to a high cleanliness standard. I do apologize for the iron. While we don't have irons in each room we do have several extra ones for guests that need them. We believe in great communication and I am sorry they didn't keep you informed. I assure you we take this very serious and will be addressed with the front desk team in our continued efforts to deliver a great experience for each of our valued guests. We hope to see you again on your next trip. Thank you, Steven Coster General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice ,no complaints.

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Very pleasant!!! Nice and quiet. Room comfortable and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Steven Coster, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for choosing us and for sharing your fantastic opinion. We take great pride in providing a clean and comfortable atmosphere for each of our guests. It is fantastic that you were comfortable and able to relax. Cleanliness is our priority in our continued efforts to provide a great value. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Thank you, Steven Coster General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Noisy hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Cons: need more efficient cleaning staff
Location: location was very convenient to restaurants and local shopping
Very noisy hotel next to a very busy highway. All we heard all night were trucks going up and down the highway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Steven Coster, Hotel Management
Thank you very much Darlene for choosing to stay with us and for providing your feedback. While we are rated very well with our guests we are always looking to improve and provide each guest with a fantastic experience. I am sorry that the noise affected your stay. On your next trip in we would be happy to assign you a room closer to the office to provide a quieter night of rest. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future. Thank you, Steven Coster General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lakeside Park, Ky.

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Room thoroughly cleaned to remove odors.
Location: Went to Candy Castle and Bakers Square
The room was non smoking, but the odor of nicotene permeated the room. It was in all the fibers of the room. There was a note that there was a fine if you smoked in the room. Went to front desk to tell of the issue, and were told we were the second people to complain about smoke smelling rooms. Said the housekeeper should have told her. Some one needs to tell them that just because you hang a no smoking sign on a room, does not make it nonsmoking - the room needs to be completely cleaned and refurnished to get rid of odor. When I awoke in the morning, besides a headache, my mouth felt like I had inhale smoke all night
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Steven Coster, Hotel Management
Thank you Bonnie for being a valued guest with us and for sharing your feedback. We are always looking to improve on our already great reputation. I am sorry that the previous guests broke our non smoking policy. I want to assure you that we have a deep cleaning process that is to be put in place if a guest breaks our rules. I apologize that you were still affected by the smoke smell. If we are made aware we would happily assign you another room so that you can enjoy your sleep. I will assure you that I will utilize your example with my housekeeping team in our continual improvements at our hotel. As your instance was not common we would love to have you stay with us again on your next trip into town. Thank you, Steven Coster General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Room was dirty and bathroom , they had to come and clean sheets and bathroom
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Steven Coster, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We pride ourselves on delivering a clean and comfortable room for each of our guests. I am sorry that the housekeepers had to come in and touch up your room but I am glad they did it so quickly and were able to get you back to relaxing. Your issue is not common here, I assure you. We would love to have you stay with us again and experience all we have to offer. Thank you very much, Steven Coster General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Sufficient for short-term stay

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Let me preface this by saying every member of the staff we encountered was very pleasant and friendly. The check-in process was seamless and quick. It's a quick hop on and off the interstate, which was perfect for our trip to Chicago. It was a great, cheap spot for one night outside of the Chicago area when we didn't feel like paying for higher rates in the city. With that being said, I would not have chosen to stay at this place for more than one night. Our non-smoking room unfortunately did smell like cigarette smoke. Although I realize in retrospect that I should have packed my own, I was surprised that a hair dryer was not available in every room. They are only available if you upgrade to a Superior room. I am a heavy sleeper so the noise did not bother me, but the location by the interstate does result in a lot of noise that could be bothersome to a lighter sleeper. All in all, it was perfect for a quick and cost-efficient detour to rest our heads for one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Steven Coster, Hotel Management
Thank you Milo for not only your patronage but also for sharing your comments. I am happy that you chose us and we feel that we are a nice clean place to stay outside of the city. You are close to the city of Chicago without paying hundreds per night. We are non smoking and I do apologize if the previous guests smoked in your room. We take extra cleaning steps to resolve an issue like that. I assure you it is not common. While not every room comes with a hair dryer, we have extras at the front desk for any guests need. Thank you for staying with us and we would love to see you again on your next trip into the city. Thank you, Steven Coster General Manager