Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

It met our needs for a short one night stay.

Posted May 18, 2017
Lowell is a Boston suburb. Some lovely stately homes. College town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 12, 2017
Had a great time staff was great rooms were in good shape
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Heating system was a bit weak. Generally acceptable and good walking distance to everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, NY

Very convenient for events at Tsongas Center

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Clean, quiet, friendly staff, great location
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
I wasn't sure I was staying in Lowell that night as I had an event at Tsongas Center, but decided fairly late and found a great deal on a room. As it was the closest hotel plus among the best prices I chose it. I had a late arrival of around 11 pm, the front desk was extremely caring and wasn't positive the room had been cleaned so she went up to check before checking me in. She was very nice and helpful. My room was 235, end of the hall and had a view of the canal and was somewhat unexpected as the front of building and the parking garage next door hides any clue that there is a nice view. Pleasant surprise. The hotel is clean and the rooms are in good shape. A few years since an update, but not worn or in need of a redo. The room seemed a little larger than the average hotel. The bed was very comfortable, plenty of pillows ( nice ones, I normally hate hotel pillows ) all the standard things were there and not really notable. However, a small detail that I loved was the coffee maker had actual mugs for use, not styrofoam cups. That makes a difference to me... however small it might seem. The internet is a private network via the school ( I believe ) and you can sign up for 12 hours of free access easily, it can be a bit of a pain getting through the firewall at first... but once up and running, it was blazing fast even uploads. The picture is deceiving though, it appears huge, but seems to be only 2 floors and the upper floors are appts for Umass students I think
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

freezing shower-not even lukewarm at best......

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Cons: water temp, heat
cold shower-lukewarm at most. Facility cold-throughout. Its called "Heat"
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Christine, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than acceptable. We appreciate your feedback and will address the issues with our maintenance staff. We do hope you give us another chance should you find yourself in the area again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod,Mass.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Location,Location, Location
Cons: FOOD
Location: Very centrally located.
Hotel was excellent, very close to where we wanted to go. Very clean and quiet. However, the morning continental breakfast was horrid. The bagels were VERY stale, as was the white bread for toast Only one choice of muffin, chocolate, not even close to what I would chose. When I mentioned this to the person in charge of the buffet It was obvious that I was NOT going to get satisfied. I was given an equally stale bagel and told " They are all like this!" I ended up eating an orange. Just don't eat there and your experience will be very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a Cluster

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
I checked in late but had pre-paid online. My reservation was booked through hotels.com using a corporate account. I was not allowed to check in because my name didn't show up on the reservation. I showed the confirmation email but that wasn't enough. I had to call and get the company owner out of bed to send me a copy of his driver license to check in. I was not given the type of room I had booked. The room I got had two small beds in it and the room was a barrier free room with no place to put the amenities in the shower. I couldn't find a hair dryer so it started out a bad hair day:( This was a business trip. MEANWHILE, another gentleman attempted check-in and was told that they had tried to reach him earlier because they had to cancel his room because they were overbooked. He explained that he had the confirmation and had just worked a 16 hour day and driven 45 minutes to get there. The desk clerk offered an apology and suggested another hotel. She was less than sympathetic or sincere. Someone jumped off the bridge into the canal near the hotel which, according to the desk clerk was a normal occurrence. It caused quite a congestion of emergency vehicles.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

clean, easy parking and friendly staff, easy check

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: very clean friendly staff easy parking
Cons: the room heaters are extremely noisy could hear other guests talking in hallway and other rooms. thin walls and doors.
clean, easy parking and friendly staff easy check in and check out
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels