Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by W

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent carvery Superior service, very friendly, the rooms were clean and comfy.
5 out of 5
by elaine

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Very enjoyable stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea

Nice hotel Ideally situated.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and the room was excellent value for the money.
Cons: The double beds are hard and not very comfortable.
Location: The hotel is centrally located and close to the town, cinema and shopping complex.
This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. I was only going to stay for one night but then stayed for 2. The staff couldn't do enough for me, and went out of their way to ensure my stay was enjoyable. I would highly recommend this hotel, not only for the friendly staff but the excellent food on site.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My granddaughters 21st party

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff a lovely welcome and a nice clean hotel, rooms excellent tea and coffee in the rooms will come again.
Cons: No
Location: I originally come from Merthyr Tydfil and know the area well but some friends of mine came with us and wanted to see the sights which are close
My granddaughter was having a 21st birthday party close to the Bassemer And it was ideal for all guests. We received a lovely welcome from the lady at reception and even thought we were early our rooms were ready and we checked in straight away. I has some running around to do and as we left home early that morning we were all hungry so I brought back fish and chips, we were going to eat them outside but the fantastic staff told us the sit in the bar in the warm, they even supplied us with cutlery. I can't rate this hotel high enough fabulous staff and a lovely hotel and will definitely stay there again as will my family and friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good spot to stay.

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for 2 nights to tie in with going to watch Wales play rugby in Cardiff. Good room for the 4 of us as a family. 5 mins in taxi to train station. 1 hour train ride into Cardiff. Nice smart hotel. Nice bar and breakfast room. All the staff were pleasant and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine for a short break.

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for 2 nights when visiting for a friends wedding. It was fine for this purpose as we spent little time in the hotel. It could do with updating & the bed was only a double, not the king size you'd expect, however staff were friendly & it was reasonably priced, so can't complain too much.
4 out of 5
by Gerard from Howwood

Great value for money

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed whilst visiting family. Really friendly and helpful staff who even fetched sandwiches for us after a late arrival. Rooms lovely and clean hotels just a bit dated. Wouldn't hesitate to use again though
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Three motorcyclists roadtrip

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful.
Cons: As a real ale drinker, I didn't care for the pressurised draft beer. A few bottles of 'better' beer (not in a fridge!) would improve things.
Location: Middle of a housing estate with little nearby. Good as a place to overnight or as a base for day trips out, but nothing nearby.
We are 'mature' bikers and were on a 'mini roadtrip' including taking in the Brecon area. We needed a room with three beds, which the Bessemer could furnish. We didn't have high expectations of an inexpensive hotel in an out of town location, but were pleasurably surprised. The room had one double and two single beds, and an ensuite wet room. The shower was excellent - important after a hot day in the saddle! Sizeable bar, not luxurious but more than adequate. Large dining area, split into sections to cater for large and small groups. Food good, we had carvery; not haut cuisine, but actually very nice. Breakfast was continental.
4 out of 5
by stephen from Preston

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel has a great bar area and outside area
3 out of 5
by Don't expect any sleep from Isolated

Just ok

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel floor boards are a disgrace awoken early in the morning by what sounded like an elephant in the room above me