Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whidbey Island

Close-knit community

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Friendly atmosphere, clean and well appointed. A refreshing change from the glitzy Hilton-style accommodations.
Location: We spent most of the early day in Brecon before coming to Merthyr Tydfil. If we'd stayed longer we'd have visited the iron and coal museums.
When we arrived the receptionist was busy elsewhere. Several locals apologized and helped orient us. This impressed me. Several mentioned the weekly Sunday dinner that the community makes reservations for on a regular basis. WE asked about the land slide disaster in 1969? and appreciated first had accounts from locals.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A 'gem'

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
What a pleasant surprise. Helpful and friendly staff, great food, and excellent value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was clean but really outdated shower over bath with outdated mixer taps . Moved rooms 3 times due to outdated shower mixer taps either trickle of water or boiling or cold water nothing inbetween . i'm from the area and i know ut a big old hotel but run down , needs alot of money spending on it to update the rooms and decor
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
overall horrendous
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Broadstairs kent

nice hotel close to bus station

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The hotel is fine staff good breakfast good
Cons: The hotel could do with a makeover & a good maintenance man little jobs need doing
overall we liked our stay for a 3* hotel what else can i say
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WOULD STAY AGAIN

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
Greeted by a very friendly young lady on reception who also helped us with a couple of minor issues we had. Hotel is a little dated but warm and clean and very centrally located. Secure car parking just across the road costs £3.50 for 24hrs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rob from Herefordshire

Far from a "executive room" as described.

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
Easy check in, with a very polite and helpful staff member. Plenty of car parking spaces within a 1 minute walk. Although in the middle of town, I did not hear much from outside. Some of the stair carpets were torn what looked thru wear and tear. The room was spacious with plenty of tea/coffee and a kettle. Plenty of wardrobe space and cloths hangers, and extra pillows. The bed was very comfortable with clean bedding. All looked good for what was described as a "executive twin with en-suite" from the door until you step in and look around the room. I have added photos to back up my review. One of the bathroom taps was broken on the top. One high wall light was hanging down and out of order, further head height wall lights over the bed had dust and dead flies in them. But the worst experience I saw was the amount of mold around the window frame, and on the wall paper around the windows, if I had noticed it prior to closing the curtains I would have asked for a different room I stayed in room 211, and I can only judge the hotel by that room. I tried to leave the hotel for a cigarette after midnight and although I was ringing the reception bell, I had a good 10 minute wait, before the night clerk let me out and a couple in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from essex

False advertising

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Ebookers
After a 4hr drive for our one night stay we arrive to find there is no "on site parking" as advertised and then to be told we DONT advertise that, So I showed the member of staff on my phone!! To which I was told oh!! Well you can park outside but only until 7.30am then you will have to find somewhere else or you will get a ticket,Was very angry as that ruined my stay having to get up so early and trying to find somewhere to park:( Also advertised was WIFI in all rooms,We couldn't get it in ours and wall paper coming off near the window due to mould, Wouldn't recommend
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't go here!

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Hi! It was dirty, shabby, poor standard, non-helping staff, hair in the food, noisy, plastic cutlery and poor food service! Can't recommend this to anyone unless you are desperate.