Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice boutique hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Nice boutique hotel. The museum is an unique feature. The location of the hotel is close to the clock tower and castle. Hotel is well maintained and staffs are friendly.
4 out of 5
by Lisa

Good value for the price

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
Chose this because it was between Algarve and Evora. Not an exciting town but the castle on the hill is lovely at night and worth the climb. Hotel is nice but bed was very firm. Nice breakfast and good value for the price.
3 out of 5
by Alyson

Good value

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
Check in was very slow. Room was clean and tidy if a little compact. We had views of the castle if you put your head out of the window. Breakfast was adequate nothing special. Good value for the money
5 out of 5
by Deanna

Great location by the river.

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice stay with everything we needed. Breakfast was great. The room had plenty of space. The only bad part for me was the really hard mattress....not my preference. We could walk to some great sightseeing and nice restaurants.
5 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location nice views

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: As above
Cons: As above
Location: We didn't visit the places outlined by reception, this was a pleasant stop over between the Great Bustard visiting centre near Castro Verde and Tavira
Good points- views, location,parking. WIFI in the room. Opertunities to improve -no tea making facilities in the room, breakfast very basic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location overlooking river

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Good restaurants nearby, terra utopica and tamije, both open at 1930 which is ideal for anglo saxons! River cruises and canoes can be hired. There are many museums in the castle including an interesting spinning and weaving cooperative.
5 out of 5
by Stephanie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chelsea, Que

Great view from balcony

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: The great view if the river at the back and the castle the front
Cons: Wifi reception in the room and more lighting in the reading /sitting area
Location: Birding in the area was excellent. Lots of self-guided walking tours.
Stayed at this hotel for 3 days while bird watching in the area of Mértola. From our balcony we enjoyed watching kayaking and paddle boarding along the river below. Very nice breakfast was served in Beria Rio next door. Limited wifi from our room 302 but better wifi when having breakfast at the Beria Rio. Nice little reading area in the room but would require more lighting in the evening. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by marie-pier from Canada

Mertola

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice stay at the hotel! Worth at least four star! Becarefull people with heavy luggages.... No elevator, only stairs! :)