Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pontypool

Cold and impersonal

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: The free car park.
Cons: Mattress cover on the bed. Have the entrance through the bar to at least have some contact with your guests.
Location: The tram station is a five minute walk to the left, the bus stop is five minutes down the road to the right. Tulip café supplies a cheap breakfast.
If you like cold and impersonal then this is the hotel for you. After signing in at the bar we went outside to a side door to get to our room and that was the last time that we managed to get in to the bar/restaurant area. Even though it was 5pm the room wasn't ready, we had no clean towels and the dirty ones were on the floor. The lady cleaning the room next door did bring us towels when asked but no apology was given for someone else's dirty towels. When we went downstairs to the front door for breakfast, it was all locked up. Luckily the Tulip café is five minutes up the road on the right of the hotel. Lovely friendly, polite staff. We did have plenty of tea bags and sugar. No blind on the window in the bathroom and the light comes on/off automatically. So people in the bus that stops outside can see directly into the bathroom at night. No contact with the hotel staff at all, not very friendly. I didn't like the bare mattress under the thin sheet, not very hygienic. On the plus side we did park our car for the three days there in the free car park and commuted by bus wherever we wanted to go. Bus stop and tram station close by.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Nico from Pelt

Ok for friends, definitely not Ok for family

Posted Mar 25, 2015 on Hotels
It's a good place if you want to go out with friends. There's a nice bar in the neighborhood. But I would definitely not advice this hotel if you want to go with a family (or just the wife). Also they should do something about the outdoor lock. You might get stuck outside if you stay here :p
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A functional stop-over

Posted Mar 8, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is in a great location for public transport links to central London, Croydon, Wimbledon. The room had everything needed but at a basic level and the decorating was a bit rough and ready. The restaurant downstairs also has a take-out facility but I didn't use either as the welcome upon check-in (in the bar) wasn't particularly warm. It was a convenient, economical base while I was working in south London but I wouldn't choose it for a romantic getaway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jonathan from Leeds

Poor service

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
Room was nice enough but beds were a bit worn. Very annoyed that we only had hand towels in the room and when I asked for some bath towels she basically didn't know where to get any from and fobbed me off not beat pleased
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
Pants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by CHRISTINE from Axminster

London break to see our son

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels
Very pleasant & convenient
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Null Service & dreckiges Interior& KEIN Frühstück!

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Dies ist kein Hotel, sondern ein Restaurant mit angeschlossenen Zimmern im Hinterhof. Daher wird kein Wert auf Service, Sauberkeit oder Zufriedenheit der Gäste gelegt. Die indischen Betreiber vermeiden jeden Kontakt zu den Gästen und sind unhöflich. Obwohl überall beschrieben, konnten wir auf Anfrage kein Frühstück bekommen, was extrem enttäuschend ist, wenn man sich darauf verlässt. Unser Zimmer war extrem klein und nicht 'spacious' wie auf der Website beschrieben, und für zwei Personen war das Bett eigentlich auch zu klein. Im Bett gab es eine Art Plastikunterlage, die Geräusche gemacht hat und bei jeder Beweung knistert und durch die Plastik jeden Luftaustausch verhindert. Die Matraze muss extrem alt sein, es gab eine riesge Kuhle in der Mitte. Überall Dreck und Spinnweben. Das Gemeinschaftsbad war kalt, ohne Heizung und wurde während unseres Aufenthalts nicht einmal gereinigt. Die Abflüsse waren verstopft. Wenn man keine Ansprüche hat, und günstig vor London übernachten will...reichts. Allen anderen rate ich, 20 Euro mehr auszugeben...Den Preis ist das Hotel nicht wert.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

OK for a 1 night stay

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels
Rooms above bar/restaurant and was very noisy. I may have been unlucky as there were parties in the bar. Room was Ok and noticed that others were being refurbed. The room was hatter than a sauna and could not turn the heating down which made it very uncomfortable. Fine for a 1 or 2 night stay but limited amenities
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andrew from Bolton

Mitcham

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels
Converted pub with simple rooms. Now a curry house and bar. Food of a good standard. Handy for London with free parking a bonus.