Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

In need of renovation and staff training!

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Very tired old hotel with rude staff and no private beach (unless you count the one a mile down the road which costs €5 to park and looks like somewhere drug users hang out). The photos are very misleading, and are either from a distance under very good lighting. This hotel seems to be aimed at old people and feels like it's stuck in the 80's. The seclusion is not a plus as there are insufficient amenities. The food is aweful and also very expensive. How this has 4 stars and lots of good reviews I'll never understand. We ignored the 1 or 2 bad reviews when booking, however these are the ones that turned out to be realistic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

So so service

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The view from the room
Cons: Service
Location: In the middle of nowhere have to take hotel shuttle to go anywhere.
Our TV did not work called 3 times for repair in 2 days no one ever came. Fridge didn't work. This hotel is way overpriced for its value. Gotta say the view is amazing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

would never recommend staying here

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The bar staff were nice.
Cons: Everything.
Location: There is nothing to do nearby at all. You have to get a bus to Taormina and that takes 20 minutes.
this hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Unless you like having to take a bus to go anywhere don't bother. The food is very poor and very expensive. I think its one of the worst hotels I have stayed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan/USA.

Unique and beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Room, private balcony, restaurant, pools
Cons: none
Location: Location is by the sea with breathtaking views. They have large pools and the free shuttle will take you to Taormina.
This was our first time traveling to Taormina. Hotel was very large, clean and beautiful. We had a spacious room with a private balcony. Their restaurant had excellent foods, buffet style. The hotel had a shuttle that took us up the cliff to Taormina. I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel staff. They were truly bilingual! Tina and Davide were helpful with all our questions. Tina was so pleasant and helpful. I wish other hotels would have this type of person on their staff. She's a model for efficiency and professionalism!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Fantastic views and friendly staff

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Location
From the moment we stepped in the hotel we felt welcome. The reception staff were amazing you could ask them for anything and they were able to help. They were very friendly and always helped with a smile on their face. There was a very large selection of food available for breakfast. The shuttle bus to the town and beach was fantastic with buses running until 11:45 in the evening. Fantastic!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire UK

A disappointment

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: The location and views are breath taking
Cons: Most things could be improved, particularly basic maintenance and manners from some not all staff. Accomodation photos are not truthful
Location: The location is near to a cobbled beach although very difficult to access worth the walk down broken steps and over large bolders.
On arrival the reception staff and duty manager struggled to provide attention leaving us to struggle with suitcases with no information at all. The accommodation a superior room with sea view was on par with a basic travel lodge but did have a fabulous sea view all be it with the smell of cooking from a chimney just in front of the balcony. The bed a large extra firm mattress with the feeling of sleeping on a park bench, facilities minimual and very basic ( dred to imagine what the standard room looks like). I would strongly suggest the extra payment for superior accommodation is o waste of money as the room provided is likely identical. The pictures on the hotels web site are cleverly angled making it appear as a luxury purchase which it is not. Some staff where excellent and very helpful where others (especially the hotel management) where uninterested in providing even the basic hospitality to guests. Breakfast is minimal and of poor quality, the coffee ( breakfast only) tasted like dishwater. In conclusion it appeared that every possible effort had been made to save cost at the expense of the customer, damaged equipment and decoration was left without repair, the 4 star rating extremely generous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pool great

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Charming town, lovely hotel! Well maintained, helpful staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Good location for exploring the area

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: The courtesy bus to Taormina which meant we could park up the car and enjoy the good Sicilian wine and the sea view from our room.
Cons: The hotel is used by tour groups and the breakfast is limiting at times. They should invest in a more efficient fresh orange machine.
Location: Built into the hillside so wonderful views. Courtesy bus to Taormina gives access to a wonderful selection of historical sights and restaurants. Etna!
Comfortable hotel with lovely helpful staff. Good base to chill out by the pool and/or explore Taormina.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harwich, UK

Hotel has nice surroundings but is a bit isolated

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Nice views, nice rooms, nice surroundings in Hotel.
Cons: Don't cut back on staff so much when its quiet. Offer shuttle to other local restaurants.
Location: Its not near any local restaurants so you have to drive or use the shuttle out to Taormina. Good position for Taormina and coast.
Came in a quiet week. The room was very good and in fact we were upgraded. Great views. Unfortunately it was a quiet week so no atmosphere. Not their fault. Hotel is a bit isolated but they offer a shuttle service to Taormina. This is very good but getting the shuttle back at 9.15pm is a bit early for eating out. We could have come back later but we were encouraged to take 9.15. This became a problem when the kitchen developed a fault and they were not able to offer us evening meals for 2nd and 3rd nights of our stay. Further problems occurred at Breakfast when a so-called soft or hard boiled egg was only a slightly warm raw egg!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

AMAZING!

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Really was an amazing experience! Hotel is in a beautiful location, quiet and serene.