Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Nice enough and very good value

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Located outside centre of Messina and s very good price. Very comfortable. Only dislike was carpet in room was stained
3 out of 5
by Troy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by AGIll from UK (sometimes)

Hard to find

Posted May 9, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel not available on nav but eventually rolled up to the place [use number 170 as the address]. No restuarant open, no bar, no internet working so a bit of a dissapointment. Room was basic but enough for the stay.
5 out of 5
by Charles from Oakland, CA, USA

very helpful staff, quiet room

Posted Apr 28, 2013 on Hotels
For my purpose (business nearby) this hotel was terrific. My room on the street side was quiet -- light traffic and negligible mechanical noises in the hotel. The staff is very kind, patient with our language barrier, and did me several remarkable favors including a ride from central Messina. Maybe Sicilian hospitality is like that. The neighborhood on the edge of the city is pretty drab, but it does include a couple of modest eating places and being in the center of town instead would have meant an impossible commute every day, and surely noiser too.
4 out of 5
by Noel Tucker

Posted Sep 2, 2012 on Hotels
The condition and the cleanliness of the HOtel was very good and the staff courteous: however, it is all about "location!" Location!" We arrived by ferry at 11.30 PM after everything had closed down, There was only one taxi operating and because of the distance from the ferry the operator charged us 58 Euro to get there, Not a very good start to the beginning of our stay in the vicinity. We ended up catching Public Transport to return to the Ferry Terminal. The staff were attentive to our needs and the service was generally very good apart from the bad start. Located closer to town would be a more distinct advantage.
2 out of 5
by Luke

Impossible to find! Didnt feel welcome

Posted Jul 27, 2012 on Hotels
My wife and I decided to stay here after arriving on the ferry in Sicily. It seemed to be a reasonable hotel looking at reviews etc, but we could not find the place! There is no sign out the front, on the roof there is a Hotel sign impossible to see from the road, and finding the street numbers was also impossible. Spent 2 hours trying to find the hotel and asked numerous locals for directions. Drove up and down the main road, 114, which runs along the whole east coast trying to find the place. Once we arrived, after the restaurant had closed, I did not feel welcome by the gentleman at reception. It was simply here are your keys, bye. Room was reasonable comfortable, hard mattress, and the internet was ok. Breakfast was simple, but ok. I was happy with cereal and I also got a fresh coffee from the barista on duty. I would look at other options before staying here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spain/UK

Nearly got Lung Cancer

Posted Oct 18, 2011 on Hotels
When we booked in, we weren't asked whether smoking or non/smoking. When we opened the door to the room, the stench of cigarette smoke gave me an instant asthma attack. Awful. The receptionist changed it, but if the hotel had been full, I could NOT have slept in that stench. Hotel food expensive at 18€ PP for what it is. Not good quality ingredients, unusual in Italy. Breakfast poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

good spot for a base to explore eastern Sicily

Posted Nov 10, 2010
The Europa Palace, located in the southern part of Messina, was a good spot to use as a base for exploring the lovely area of southeastern Sicily. The staff was friendly and helpful, and seemed to enjoy struggling with our English as they served us. There is a friendly bar, a convenient restaurant, and the daily breakfast was both convienient and appealing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bendigo Australia

Not 4 star- 1 maybe.

Posted Oct 22, 2010
Staff were rude and unhelpful. Very dissapointed considering that this was a hotel from the Best Western Chain. The area was not for the tourist. unless you have a car then forget it. Breakfast was very ordinary. no coffee 45 minurtes after breakfast room opened. Limited help from the staff to get around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice Hotel, Bad Areas

Posted Aug 4, 2010
The hotel is nice (though I don't know if its a 4 star hotel), but its several miles outside of Messina, with very little around it. If you have a car, its fine. If you are going to be depending on public transportation, get a hotel closer to town.