Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

well worth the money.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: extremely beautiful view fro ever spot in the hotel and well maintained, parking available
Cons: shuttle to top of hill
extremely good facilities for the price. Beautiful pool, excellent breakfast. Only downside, you need to walk up a short but steep hill to get transportation or main part of town and shutle up the hill only could take one passenger at a time. If walking is no problem it is an excellent place to stay and I would do it again even with the inconvenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: The views from all rooms look over the bay and also towards Etna stunning views.
Cons: There is tea and coffee making facilities but they don't replenish this for free. Should also supply gowns and slippers. After all it is a 4*
Location: They are many cafe bars restaurants and shops in the town. There is also a very nice botanical garden with lovely views next to hotel.
Really like this hotel, stayed here many years ago. It does need abit updating, but the rooms are comfortable and clean and the views are stunning. Was quite surprised restaurant not open during our visit. We also asked why air con was not on either and was told they don't put it on till middle to end of May. The temperature was in the middle twenties and we found it stifling at night. Breakfast is very good, they have a good choice of breads cakes cereal etc. Staff excellent couldn't do enough to help us. There is a steep hill up to the town which might be a problem for the elderly or people with mobility problems.
4 out of 5
by Bradley M

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

To die for views

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Breakfast each morning was very good--tasty with much variety. Location was great for walking the city.
Cons: Rooms are a bit small and the bed is hard.
Great hotel. Friendly staff. Balcony was a perfect place for an afternoon drink. Very close to tow. HIll was a great workout.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible bed

Posted Jan 2, 2017
The hardest bed I've ever attempted to sleep on. We were on the top floor, under the restaurant.. really loud. It's also a hard place to find and park for, especially if one of the roads leading to it are blocked. We were supposed to stay 2 nights, but checked out after 1. Only positive thing about the hotel was the view.
4 out of 5
by David

Great hotel .....tea bag stupidity.

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is good although some might not like it's brutalist concrete appearance. The only negative was the ludicrous limit on sachets for making tea and coffee in the room. For a class hotel it is ridiculous to charge €2.50 for a sachet of bog standard Nescafé powder, or, even worse, €3.50 for a single black tea bag once you have used up your complimentary 2 of each per double room per stay. We noticed guests quietly grabbing their tea bags off the ample breakfast counter and followed their lead. We advise the hotel to withdraw this silly, mean, and unique, charge. Everything else was great although sadly the pool was closed for the winter. Guests need to be quite fit to get up and down the very steep slope to the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Good location for the centre

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Location and views
Cons: Replenish coffee and tea in the room. More atmosphere in the hotel. More comfortable beds. Less rules. show that they have food offerings
Location: Location up a steep hill to the centre. Plenty of bars, restaurants and shops.
The selling point of the hotel is its location. It is a steep walk into town but close so be prepared to walk. The hotel is still in the 1970's in terms of decor and staff. The rooms were spacious but the beds were too hard for our liking. The air conditioning is noisy and tended to keep us awake. You only get one set of coffee sachets and they will charge you to replace which I have never come across in all the hotels I have ever stayed in and certainly not in a four star. What would they do if they had people stay for one night. I take it they refresh for the next customer. Very odd. They have rules of not bringing in your own food and drink and if you put anything in the fridge that should not be there there are instructions saying they will remove without your consent. I have never felt dictated too before in a hotel room and certainly not one that charges that much. There is no-one around in the evening in the bar or restaurant so odd atmosphere. The views are stunning from the rooms and the restaurant and the breakfast is a standard continental but you need to catch them if you want a fried egg or bacon cooking. In my opinion this is not a four star hotel and apart from the location and views I would not recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel within walking distance of town centre.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Staff
Location: see above
Good location for restaurants and shops. Excellent food served in both the pool "cafe" and main restaurant.Staff very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Stunning view and comfortable room.

Posted Aug 24, 2016
At first I was not sure of the look of the building, a grey concrete. However, the stunning view impressed me straight away. The room was very clean and very comfortable. Everything was well thought out. All the staff very kind. I even had soya milk at breakfast which does not happen often. If only the wasps didn't chase me around on the balcony, I will say it was perfect!