Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Giuseppe

Pino

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Good hotel will stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Louise from London

Building with italian glamour and stunning views

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Just came back from a fantastic week in Taormina, staying in Bel Soggiorno. Reckon this hotel has quite possibly the best beach view going in Sicily (we were particularly lucky as we had a corner room so the sea wrapped round our balcony space, with a view of mount Etna to the side of us). Every time we caught the view from any window we were blown away.. there’s no way you could get bored of that!! Another good thing was that it seems every room had a beach view. The staff were fantastic- so polite and attentive.. it was a quite hotel where people seems to come and go, rather than hustle and bustle (this was perfect for us as we were out and about every day) .. but they were happy to get you anything you wanted from the bar etc/ for your room at all times. The hotel was situated only 10 mins from the main strip- the Corso Umberto.. a nice easy route, however bear in mind there is about 60 steps heading up into town.. this was no problem for us at all, however I reckon some people may struggle. Rooms were spotless, air conditioned, and were cleaned daily. The breakfast was lovely and fresh… and the terrace area where we ate was lovely- very relaxing, and another opportunity to take in the stunning views. You don’t come to a hotel like for all the holiday complex mod cons (no swimming pool- reckon if it did it would easily be 4 star).. this is the kind of hotel if you want to experience the true romance of Sicily and Italian grandeur, tradition and authenticity, which s
4 out of 5
by Dave J from Perth, Australia

Great Views

Posted Jul 21, 2013 on Hotels
Good 3 star hotel, awesome views, the rooms are basic and clean. Good location on the edge of town. Staff were mostly friendly and helpful. Happy to recommend it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Stow, OH

Hotel with spectacular view

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful. Delicious breakfast buffet. Decor - delightful touches everywhere. Blinds make room very dark for sleeping.
Cons: Be sure to ask all your questions, because staff did not always tell us every detail we needed to know (i.e. they serve dinner only on Wednesdays).
Location: Not quite a short walk to the upper city, up a fairly long staircase and then another 5-10 minutes.
On the side of the hill in Taormina, this has old world elegance. The view from room and especially the balcony and dinning area is spectacular, leading to a very relaxing atmosphere. Be sure to have good directions (GPS!) to find it. Parking is along the entrance driveway - very steep - so be prepared to be an excellent parallel parker if you have a car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelli from Canada

Spectacular views!

Posted Jul 4, 2013
We stayed two nights at this hotel and it was great. The view we had from room 27 was fantastic! The location was perfect for us but you do have to walk up stairs to get into town. Luigi and Sebastien were helpful with suggestions on restaurants and day trips. We took the bus to Castlemole which was an easy day trip. Beware of swimming as our neighbour got stung by a jellyfish. Not fancy but perfect for our needs to park the rental car and explore Taormina.
5 out of 5
by oded4652

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jodie from London, UK

Evokes old glamour of Sicily

Posted Sep 10, 2012
Pros: The main drawing room & wonderful view from the terrace & breakfast room
Cons: The shower was a little archaic
Location: Great a 5 minute walk up to the main streets little lanes & a 10 minute walk to the cable car to the beach.
A wonderully welcoming hotel up in the hills near Corso Umberto. The hotel harks back to the 50's glamour of Sicily, although not a modern or super luxurious hotel this was the perfect setting for a romantic short break in Taormina. Luigi at front of house was wonderfully welcoming. A great spot to explore Taormina.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Simon from London, UK

Delightful hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2012
Pros: Breakfast - plenty was grown in the gardens
Cons: I felt the rooms could have done with a small fridge for water and cold drinks - though room service was available
There's something wonderfully old fashioned about this place - a beautiful location and charming hotel, with staff who make you feel welcome without ever becoming overbearing.
4 out of 5
by JY

Excellent environment, beautiful and cozy

Posted May 27, 2012 on Hotels
An unforgettable experience though some people comment Taormina is too commercial and full of tourists, we do feel there is a beautiful place with excellent seaview, flower blossom and great food.
3 out of 5
by Ralph from Malmesbury, UK

Lovely views, shame about the room.

Posted Oct 18, 2011
If you want beautiful views over the bay toward Giardini Naxos and Etna beyond, you won't be disappointed. Unfortunately the room felt very dated and the house service, despite their enthusiasm to turf us out to clean the rooms didn't seem to be making much impact. The room suffered a bit from damp as there was no extractor fan from the en suite bathroom, which in itself probably wouldn't be a problem in high season with the searing temperatures but we visited in early October when the warmth of the day just didn't dry things out enough. The maids also didn't replenish our stock of shower gel or shampoo despite our stay of three nights. We resorted to using the stuff we brought with us so it was no big deal. But really you shouldn't have to ask for this, especially when you're paying over a hundred pounds per night. Which brings me to the breakfast, a buffet affair which was a bit lack lustre to say the least. They couldn't even serve milk that was properly chilled, or granola that wasn't soft.. Free WiFi made up for things slightly even if it was restricted to their communal lounge but then I'm a techy and I had been starved of internet access for over a week until we arrived here. So overall, I can't recommend this hotel and I won't be returning any time soon.