Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from White Plains, NY

Location Is A Problem

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The desk clerk was a total gentleman and he did everything in his power to help me enjoy my stay.
Cons: As mentioned above, their were some kinks which need to be ironed out.
Location: Francaville de Sicilia is the actual town where the hotel is located. Not much doing but worth some exploration and a few nice restaurants.
The location of the hotel was not anywhere near where I thought I was going to be, overlooking the sea at Taormina. I knew beforehand that it was not right on the water, but I thought I would at least have a view of the ocean and that was not the case. The staff at the hotel, particularly the man on duty at the front desk, were very nice and tried their best to help me in whatever way possible, but there were certain things that made the hotel a disappointment. The toilet did not flush, the lighting system was hard to get the knack of, and to reach the hotel required a long drive (22 km from Taormina) on a winding narrow road which was difficult if you are unfamiliar with the area. One of the reasons I chose the hotel was because it advertised "laundry facilities." I found I could only leave my laundry with the staff, and was charged fifteen euros to get it done.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire, UK

Don't go out of season!

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: The picturesque views and the friendly young girl on reception.
Cons: A bit old and dreary could do with updating. Let residents know before booking if the restaurant will be closed.
Location: Great walks, lovely scenery up in the hills
We stayed 2 nights at this hotel late October 2014. When we arrived in the evening we unpacked and then went downstairs for a meal only to be told by the man on reception that the restaurant closed the day before because it was out of season! There was no notice about this when we booked. We then spent 2 hours driving around in the dark looking for somewhere decent to eat but ended up back at the hotel with a bag of crisps! About 9:30pm we realized the receptionist had changed and the young girl spoke very good English. We complained about the restaurant closure and she said when it was out of season her mother cooked for the few residents they had staying but obviously it was too late tonight, but would be only too happy to cook a meal for us the next day. She then ordered pizza take away for us which arrived within 20 minutes and only cost 9 euros, the best meal so far. Once we had had a good meal we enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Giuseppe, Hotel Management
Dear willsue, thank you for your review. The service you booked was honorated. You did not book any restaurant service and as people made a reservation in bed & breakfast, we don't keep the restaurant always open. Happen many times we have the restaurant open and guests prefer to eat outside. As it is a risk for us when we keep open, it is a risks for you when you book in B & B when you have also the option to book half board or the evening meal. Finally you gave us 2 on 5 because you find the restaurant closed but the day after we arrange a delivery pizza service. Thank you :-(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Slightly grumpy staff on arrival but a lovely hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Giuseppe, Hotel Management
Dear Vanessa, thank you for your review. Usually our customare care is very care to our guests. Sorry if the first image was not that you expect. Giuseppe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North West England

Nice friendly family run hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: A fridge would have been nice in the hot weather, but understandable at the price paid
Location: A car is helpful if you want to get around although I think there are buses available. The Gorge was well worth spending a day at as was Etna.
Good hotel for the price - free wi-fi, decent breakfast, nice rooftop pool. Plenty of restaurants in the town to choose from, a few minutes walk away, but the hotel restaurant was also good - handy for when we didn't fancy the walk, eg. Thunderstorm just as we were ready to go!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Giuseppe, Hotel Management
Hello, we have mini-fridge in all rooms but some times can happend some one is out of order (broken) Last year we replace the missing one with new big and modern Indel mini fridge.
2 out of 5
by christinemur from Dublin Ireland

Nice location

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels
It was a good locatiion for touring. Very oldfashioned decor needs a good paint, plastering etc. I loved the pool on the roof with great views. Their was no information at reception re places to see or touring, no maps etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Giuseppe, Hotel Management
Dear christinemur, thank you for your opinion. It looks no very big problem but your score was very low. Also it is strange we did not provide any information because we have plenty of information for our guests and maybe we are more efficent than a public tourist information. Giuseppe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from malta

Staff was very friendly and helpful

Posted Jul 6, 2014
We will.definitly recommend this hotel and hope we will be back soon. it is also.close to very nice places and its location is quite and easy to find. the surroundings and view from the pool on the roof is beatiful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Giuseppe, Hotel Management
Dear Ritianne, thank you for your kind opinion. Giuseppe
5 out of 5
by Caporciano from Abruzzo

Fantastic alternative to Taormina

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & were made most welcome by courteous staff! very good value for money! You need a car perhaps - but that in turn allows you to explore the area.. lots to see & do! Taormina is easily reached & it is nice to get away from it too! We really cannot wait to visit again - a well run family hotel with attention to detail!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Giuseppe, Hotel Management
Dear Caporciano, thank you for your kind opinion. Now you know where we are :-) Giuseppe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Malta

Nice Hotel in a quiet area

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Pros: The big terrance and cleaning of the room
Cons: An electric kettle and coffee in the room !
Location: Only the Gole Alcantara 4kilometers away.
The Hotel is quite good if you want to stay relax but its quite far away from centers and point of interests you need a car or a bus. But on the whole and value for money its quite worth it and the staff is very nice too! and have a decent breakfast too .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Giuseppe, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, thank you for your kind opinion. Giuseppe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maureen & David from Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK

Lovely hotel, but have your own transport.

Posted Jun 30, 2013
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff, good food in the restaurant and the swimming pool.
Cons: No problems at all with the hotel. The main issue was the limited public transport as, without a car, the location is very restrictive.
Location: Francavilla is about 10 miles inland and is a small, quiet town. The hotel is on the main road but we never had any problems with traffic noise.
This hotel was very clean, comfortable and well run. The rooms were reasonably spacious with large beds, the breakfast buffet was well stocks with standard European fare and the restaurant served good, tasty dishes, including pizzas. This is quite important because there are very few alternatives in Francavilla itself, although, if you have your own transport, there are lovely small restaurants to be found in the surrounding area. The staff were generally very friendly and helpful and most spoke some English. The rooftop swimming pool is of a good size, was clean and well supplied with sunbeds and parasols. The main issue we had was not with the hotel but with public transport. We would certainly recommend anyone using this hotel to have some personal transportation. The public bus service is infrequent and the last bus back from Taormina leaves at 4.45pm, so it is difficult to plan an extended journey, say to Messina or Syracuse by train from Giardini Naxos, because the only way back to the hotel would be by taxi, which costs 50 euros. However, if you are looking for a hotel away from the tourist hotspots, in beautiful, rugged countryside, and are prepared to hire a car or can put up with limited public transport, then this is an ideal choice.
5 out of 5
by Tom from Billingborough.

Ideal for Entna

Posted Apr 14, 2013 on Hotels
The staff were most helpful, room was great and the food was fine. I would love to have had longer to linger in this part of Sicily.