Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Milazzo!!!

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Ciao to Tindaro, Nino, Filipo and Francesco. Best place to stay while in Milazzo!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Robin from Monterey

We love this hotel!

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
We loved this hotel. The staff were so nice, the room was beautiful, quiet, and clean, the fitness center was great and the breakfast was terrific. We will return!
4 out of 5
by Paul K from Canada

Terrific, well located hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed 3 nights although had planned to only stay 1. Terrific location for what we wanted to do in Milazzo. Hotel is clean and quaint and of great value. Staff, although not proficient in English, were good to deal with. Breakfast was satisfactory. Parking, if you can, was right at the door on the street. We were a short drive to Capo Milazzo, 20 minute walk to the port and 20 minute walk (straight up) to "the castle". Local fishermen worked directly across the street. The IL Principe offered us a lot of local flavor by being in that location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here several years and it was great. Somewhat disappointed this time around. Paint was peeling and some mildew in the shower. The breakfast was nowhere near what it once was. On the plus side the staff was fantastic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Covers the necessities for a short trip.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Il Principe is located perfectly, right on the sea front at the northwestern edge of the bay giving access both to daily fish markets, the castle and the town centre with only a short drive to Capo Milazzo. The hotel covers all needs but is fairly basic the biggest downside was the air conditioning being very noisy. We didnt experience the wellness suite but the rooftop spa was shut which was a didappointment. All in all I would recommend this for a one night stop over but not a longer trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Quite nice

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: The gym was all ours - no one else used it.
Cons: The showers were elderly -fancy extra nozzles most of which didn't work properly. The hotel could have the spa up and running - even if it is extra.
Location: We took a hydrofoil day trip to Vulcano and would recommend as a trip out of Milazzo.
The hotel is clean and comfortable. The first room we were sent to had no windows and was strangely kitted out to look like some kind of ship. Really odd! And very, very oppressive. The gym and "spa" were unplugged/switched off. We used the gym but were told it was extra to use the spa (in a way that suggested they would really rather we didn't bother) - which was in any case switched off. As a family of four we had two rooms (one for the kids) which weren't particularly close together - and one of the rooms was very pokey. But it was nice enough - provided you are out and about all day. Perhaps one more suited to the more mature customer.
2 out of 5
by Brian from Milano

Very disappointing and uncomfortable; not 4 stars

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels
This hotel was a big disappointment. They had recently remodeled, and it was clean, but the choices made in the remodel made for a very uncomfortable bathroom. 1) This hotel had the tiniest shower stall of any hotel I encountered on my 3-week Sicilian trip, and most hotels I stayed in were 2 stars! The shower drain was blocked and flooded after about one minute. I told the desk, but it took until the next day to fix it. 2) The toilet violently sprayed water all over the toilet seat and floor and anyone standing near it. Thus, the toilet seat was constantly wet... yuck. 3) The toilet paper dispenser was the locking kind that rations you to one square at a time. Just like high school. Other problems included... The AC was basically nonfunctional because it was so weak. And worse, it only worked when the key was in the panel, so you returned to a burning hot room and it never got cooled off. There was no Do Not Disturb sign for the door. When we arrived, we had two burned out light bulbs which I unscrewed and left on the bed for replacement; they were thrown out but not replaced. This hotel is definitely a far cry from 4 star service!! So, even though it was clean and remodeled, it was one of the most unpleasant hotels of my vacation. I feel bad they remodeled and put in such horrible showers and toilets. Should note: it has a nice location on the waterfront and 15 minute walk to the ferries. Also, there is no "private beach" or beach at all.
4 out of 5
by JJW

Probably the best option in Milazzo

Posted Sep 18, 2012 on Hotels
The Principe is a reasonable property in a pleasant location. I was one of only two or three guests staying for a night at the end of the season but was given a room that overlooked a loading bay and service area, rather than the sea. The power saving efforts of the management resulted in it being difficult to see the keyhole in the door and impossible to charge my camera while I was out of the room. Although very elaborately decorated, the general feel of the hotel was more travel lodge than boutique.