Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Ellen

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel location is breathtaking. Parking is a bit of a challenge and we took a taxi to go to the town so we wouldn't have to give up our spot. Other than that, everything was perfect. Good food with variety in the dining room.
4 out of 5
by Charles from Bournemouth, U.K.

Great location

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, on the beach. Hotel a bit dated but overall clean and well present, will go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bellingham Wa

on the beach

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Wonderful older hotel right on the beach! It has been kept up very nice and the staff is wonderful. You are a $15 cab ride into town which is much earlier than driving and parking yourself. Town is unbelievable!
4 out of 5
by MITJA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mark from San Francisco

Easy access in Taormina with Awesome Beach

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
We were touring Sicily. We needed a good location in Taormina. The hotel was as reviewed. The best feature was the beach with deep clear water on a beautiful bay. The second best feature was easy access to Taormina. There is a 1,500 ft elevation gain from the beach to the city in 0.6 miles. Not easily walked. The hotel is an old resort but it has some fresh paint. The staff is experienced and helpful. We bought the 4 single roll away beds in the Quad package. It was a tight fit in a small room. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was adequate. Dinner was formal and above our budget. Given that most things in Taormina are expensive, we thought the location, beach, parking, wifi and breakfast made it a good value.
4 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wales

Quiet charming hotel right on the edge of the sea

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff and gentle charm and absolutely loved the food. All bedrooms face the sea and great to wake up every morning to the sound of the waves
Cons: A swimming pool would be great alternative to the sea. A courtesy bus into Taormina would assist greatly.
Location: Beautiful quiet location next to the sea but a little isolated from everywhere although hotels and restaurants within 1km. Taormina is simply amazing
The hotel has an old world Italian charm which for ourselves was perfect for the holiday we sought. A beautiful setting as close to the sea as you can get without getting your feet wet. The food at lunch time and dinner was exceptional and all Italian regional cooking and a menu that changed daily. Breakfast was perfectly acceptable. The staff were all very welcoming, helpful, cheerful and friendly. The hotel lacked a swimming pool and the sea with boulders and significant swell was not really suitable nor ideal for non-swimmers. Nevertheless having an easily accessible private beach and dedicated lifeguard should give all confidence. The sister hotel in Taormina had a lovely pool which we used. The hotel is on a fairly busy road outside Taormina but has small attractive resorts very close-by and restaurants etc. in walking distance, although unfortunately there are no pavements. You can get to Taormina high on the cliff by cable car (900m away) or by bus, both very inexpensive. Taormina is quite stunning and quite the most beautiful place you can imagine with loads happening. Would we go back? Oh yes!
4 out of 5
by catherine from St Albans

Beautiful position for a charming Hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel has an old world charm in it's décor. There is a large terrace for outdoor dining or just taking in the view and two lounge areas indoors and a dining room. The reception is on the 3rd floor and the dining and access to the beach is on floor 0. The constant attention on the beach from the lifeguard was amazing and so helpful. The hotel supplies towels for their private beach and there are no charges for sun loungers or parasols. Although the breakfast is adequate it was much the same every day and a little more variety would be nice. The fresh fruit however was delicious. I had booked two twin rooms for the four of us and was surprised to find that I had to pay a supplement of 20 euros a night for an extra person in each room.Please be careful as this has never happened to me before in years of booking hotels.Why would you request twin beds for one person? The hotel staff were extremely helpful at all times and made our stay very good. The bay is beautiful and do take a boat ride around the coastline from outside the Hotel. Beautiful! A source of annoyance on the beach was the presence of 'lookie lookie' people and offers of massages who are very persistent. It is a constant interruption to conversation or reading. I would recommend the hotel for its charm it is like walking into an Audrey Hepburn movie set!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Julian's Malta

Nice hotel in the best location

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: The breakfasts, free beach chairs and umbrellas, and the staff!
I can't say enough about my recent stay at this hotel. If you're expecting glitz, glamor and ultra-modern, this is not the place for you. If you are wanting a beautiful hotel that retains the charm of its past, then this is the place for you. The rooms were large and immaculately clean. The hotel staff is some of the best I've ever encountered. Always helpful, cheerful and wanting to insure you have an excellent experience. The location is ideal for relaxing and water sports. Taormina is about 10 minutes away and easy to get to by cable car, bus or shuttle.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels