Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2016
I think this hotel is probably one of the best I have stayed in. Fantastic sea view from all bed room windows. Beach is literally on the doorstep, very friendly staff, clean hotel, great food and everything else is in walking distance including fantastic restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

On the beach and near the funivia...

Posted Oct 3, 2016
While at first we were a little disappointed that the hotel hasn't updated much since our last stay 15 years ago.. They more than made up for it changing our room upon request, and nice little touches which were not requested but they anticipated. ( I felt at home in a way they left me sad when leaving.. Like saying goodbye to my family! The beach is beautiful, chairs and towels provided, breakfast included with delicious cappuccino! My next stay will be here as it has always been every time I come to Taormina! Grazie Lido Mediterranee for another beautiful stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, FL, USA

Great service and Location

Posted Sep 17, 2016
If you are looking for great service, a beautiful beach and good hotel food this is your place. The rooms need to be updated, and the bathrooms need to be redesigned. For the price we paid we were satisfied.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oz

Fabulous Hote with Stunning Views!

Posted Aug 31, 2016
We stayed for 3 nights but could have stayed forever! Staff were very attentive, helpful and polite . Stunning views from our cute little Balcony, lovely setting like something out of a novel. Lovely food, fabulous breakfast under the shade trees. Very quiet and peaceful. Loved it .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bellingham Wa

on the beach

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Wonderful older hotel right on the beach! It has been kept up very nice and the staff is wonderful. You are a $15 cab ride into town which is much earlier than driving and parking yourself. Town is unbelievable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wales

Quiet charming hotel right on the edge of the sea

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff and gentle charm and absolutely loved the food. All bedrooms face the sea and great to wake up every morning to the sound of the waves
Cons: A swimming pool would be great alternative to the sea. A courtesy bus into Taormina would assist greatly.
Location: Beautiful quiet location next to the sea but a little isolated from everywhere although hotels and restaurants within 1km. Taormina is simply amazing
The hotel has an old world Italian charm which for ourselves was perfect for the holiday we sought. A beautiful setting as close to the sea as you can get without getting your feet wet. The food at lunch time and dinner was exceptional and all Italian regional cooking and a menu that changed daily. Breakfast was perfectly acceptable. The staff were all very welcoming, helpful, cheerful and friendly. The hotel lacked a swimming pool and the sea with boulders and significant swell was not really suitable nor ideal for non-swimmers. Nevertheless having an easily accessible private beach and dedicated lifeguard should give all confidence. The sister hotel in Taormina had a lovely pool which we used. The hotel is on a fairly busy road outside Taormina but has small attractive resorts very close-by and restaurants etc. in walking distance, although unfortunately there are no pavements. You can get to Taormina high on the cliff by cable car (900m away) or by bus, both very inexpensive. Taormina is quite stunning and quite the most beautiful place you can imagine with loads happening. Would we go back? Oh yes!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Julian's Malta

Nice hotel in the best location

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: The breakfasts, free beach chairs and umbrellas, and the staff!
I can't say enough about my recent stay at this hotel. If you're expecting glitz, glamor and ultra-modern, this is not the place for you. If you are wanting a beautiful hotel that retains the charm of its past, then this is the place for you. The rooms were large and immaculately clean. The hotel staff is some of the best I've ever encountered. Always helpful, cheerful and wanting to insure you have an excellent experience. The location is ideal for relaxing and water sports. Taormina is about 10 minutes away and easy to get to by cable car, bus or shuttle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Holiday

Posted May 19, 2016
Hotel is a must for people wanting a retro style hotel. The staff were always on hand no problems to small. Local beaches and shops were enjoyed. The hop on and off red bus a must to get around the area. Cable car to Taormina is 5 mins walk. Keep up the good work hotel as you will keep on getting visitors returning with your can do attitude.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Pros: The quiet location by the sea. It is a very reasonably priced hotel with good value for your money
Cons: Internet access
Location: Taormina is a beautiful town with good restaurants and many shops. The nearby city Catania has fine architecture, fine churches and museums
Nice friendly staff, a nice room with a balcony overlooking the sea. Very good breakfast with lots of things to choose from and nice terrace where to sit and eat overlooking the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Perfect beach location

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Hotel is very classic Italian. Old, charming, but very clean. On the beach with a beatiful seaviews. Beach was very good, beach chairs were included in the room rate. I stayed in the room # 409, excellent view. Breakfast was served on the beatiful oceanview terrace, very good waiters. Wifi is 5 euro per hour. It is 1 km from the cable car by foot. I had a car, and hotel has a free parking. If you want to enjoy beach, it is a perfect gem.