Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London UK

Perfect views over volcano and sea

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Views, room, service and breakfast
Cons: Some of the room decor, faded with use (e.g. bathroom door) could be touched up a little (re-painted)
Location: High above the town of Taormina, great views across the bay and to mount Etna. The courtesy transport makes travelling 5 mins to/ from the town easy
A beautifully located boutique hotel, delightful staff and excellent breakfasts!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Best Hotel I've every stayed in.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Everything. Staff were just fantastic; pleasant, polite and always helpful.
Location: Get on the train or bus and see as much of the island as you can. Or, book a driver and go and see those special areas without the hassle of driving.
Why not just go and book for a couple of nights and experience the value of staying in this amazing hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Charming hill top hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2017
A beautiful charming and romantic hotel on top of a hill with five star facilities and spectacular view. The food in the hotel is amongst the best in Sicily and the experience is really akin to staying in someone's private home in Sicily. We loved our 1 night stay and cannot wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Impressive, with many personal touches

Posted Apr 12, 2017
This was my fourth visit in nearly as many decades to Taormina, a town with many outstanding hotels; this is one of them. The facilities are superb, but what particularly impressed both of us was the very high level of warm and personalized service. Potential visitors should be aware that for better and worse the property is at some distance from the touristic center; we generally saw this as an advantage since Taormina can be overwhelmed with tourists. On the other hand, the location does somewhat limit options, particularly dining, since getting to restaurants other than the one on site entails either a (scenic but arduous, many stairs over the course of about 15"-20") hike or reliance on wheeled transit; don't even think about taking a personal car into town. Fortunately, the Villa operates a complimentary shuttle, and even though the hours were stated to be fixed, the management volunteered to set up a special run to fit our particular schedule. As I mentioned, this is a very service oriented hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good times in Bologna

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Cons: They had a nice heater for morning tea/coffee, but only tea in our room. We like only coffee. No creamer either. The range of evening drinks very lim
The hotel location is amazing...twenty yards from the main plaza. The staff is friendly and very helpful. My wife needed help organizing a dinner for 20 and it was perfect! Our room was spacious and had an angle view right into the main plaza. The windows opened, so we slept well with the night fresh air.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and welcoming hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Villa Ducale has absolutely gorgeous views and impeccable service. We were greeted by name on arrival and immediately taken to the terrace and given glasses of wine while our luggage was taken to our room and our passports copied. The breakfast, tea service, and wine/beer offerings each day were lovely, and you could not ask for a more beautiful setting. The hotel is small; we met other guests easily while we were there. The atmosphere was relaxing and friendly, almost like visiting the (very nice) home of a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Boutique hotel - could have stayed forever

Posted Nov 7, 2016
This was a perfect hotel and we will definitely be back. The hotel interior was beautifully designed, the staff were amazing and welcoming, the food was delicious and the views were by far the best in Taormina. Our room (junior suite) was so comfortable and clean. It was about 20 minutes from town - easily walkable or there is a regular shuttle. A very quiet location - perfect for a relaxing break.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very friendly staff. Don't forget the mozzie spray

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful views over the bay far below and the peak of Etna above. Parking is a problem so needed to pay extra for private parking, we thought it should be inclusive as high price paid for accommodation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Perch Above the Fray

Posted Sep 15, 2016
The Villa Ducale is perfect for a short stay in Taormina. There is a bracing climb to and from the town, so I imagine that, for a longer stay, this would get tiresome. The hotel does have a shuttle, but the hours are a little irregular. I would also highly recommend the restaurant, with one of the best views imaginable, great food and decent prices. We actually paid more for our mediocre lunch on Taormina's main drag. The staff is uniformly warm and helpful, with invisible minions anticipating your every wish. After a rain, we though about taking a soak in the hot tub. We looked and the tub was open, with dry towels awaiting. If you only have a day or two in this town, this hotel,is definitely worth the splurge.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from anchorage Alaska

extraordinary staff and hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
I can't rave about the staff and the hotel enough. From the moment you walk in you are made to feel welcomed. Everything about our stay was perfection. From the delicious breakfast in the morning (note this is not a traditional american breakfast, If you don't try everything because you are not used to it you are doing yourself a disservice) to a relaxing cocktail in the evening to take in the spectacular views. Everyone was incredibly kind and helpful. As other reviewers have mentioned, you can walk into town going down stairs, maybe a 15 minute walk which we enjoyed every day. They also offer a shuttle with a convenient time schedule. We did not have dinner while we were there, but the menu looked very good, and I have no doubt it is tasty. Our room itself was spacious and spotless. The best part was the comfortable bed and beautiful view from our balcony. We regret we couldn't stay more than 4 nights. I can't say enough about the hotel and the staff, other than I am looking forward to a return trip to this beautiful town with another stay at villa ducale.