Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Picturesque hotel, bad food, poor service

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was charming with a great view of Mt. Etna. The food in the restaurant was not good. I would not recommend eating dinner here. The service left something to be desired. There was no desire to satisfy the customer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Remote

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is lovely and staff are pleasant. the views are stunning . We had a basic room which was comfortable enough and clean but the balcony was not any good for anything really, it was below street level and and got no sun. Our only niggle was only one power socket which made life somewhat challenging but we always carry an extension lead. Also no Kettle for tea and coffee and as the bar is closed during the day so unless you used room service you'll have a dry day, also the same applies to lunch "nada". Castlemola is great BUT it is at the top of a mountain and the bus service changed 3 times in 1 week , the last bus being at 9.40 when we 1st got there it was 11.40 (at least 45 walk down & the walk up would kill you). We did go in September but the hotel was dead and was lacking any sort of atmosphere. . That Said it is a lovely hotel and the location is beautiful but we felt like we were holding on the moon. I should also mention that the food that we eat there was of a good standard.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Absolutely incredible view-shame about the service

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Away from the busy tourist spots in a beautiful area but facilities need updating and staff were less than welcoming and not helpful. Bar area constantly unmanned which was frustrating - had to walk to reception to ask for staff every time we wanted another round! Smiles and advice not forthcoming - we felt we were an annoyance as guests. Food was overpriced and very poor quality. Garden rooms are a difficult uphill trek (even for a young couple!) to reach the pool and restaurant so we asked to be moved. Generally clean and looks good on paper but lacking the love, care and attention which would make it a great hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Beautiful and peaceful location close to Taormina

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Very relaxed hotel with fabulous views over Etna, close to but removed from hustle and bustle of Taormina. It's quiet and facilities aren't extensive but there's everything you need. Staff are exceptionally helpful and services excellent.Very nice pool area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Hotel with stunning views

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Excellent Hotel. Cottage Garden rooms are based below hotel with 125 steps up to main hotel. The rooms are excellent but be aware that there is a steep climb up everyday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel sonia

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Fabulous location, beautiful views from our balcony overlooking mount etna, lovely place in castelmola so many really good places to eat in such a beautiful location, no need to hire a car buses on your doorstep so you can go all around the area, very scarey if you were driving your own car.
4 out of 5
by adrian from Melbourne

Up the hill is the way to go!

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in a small no balcony room, which was cramped and had large furniture but a small bed. Probably not a practical result, though other rooms with balcony looked more spacious. A very tiny shower was the other impractical part of our stay. However, the hotel itself is wonderful. Lovely pool and sunbathing areas with lounges, and sweeping views to Etna which was spectacular from not only the pool area, but restaurant and breakfast space. Nice breakfast spread. 5 euros for parking per night was unexpected but not unreasonable. 150 metres from wonderful Castelmola makes this a superb location, as it is one of the great little European medieval towns with lovely restaurants and bars. Bus to Taormina is accessible, but suggest going to Castelmola stop rather than outside the hotel, so it definitely stops for you. The public bus drivers are 'inflexible' so to speak. Staying here is better than is busy Taormina.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oslo

Great location but not much else...

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Location Views
Cons: Breakfast Staff
Fantastic location with excellent views. However, the breakfast was poor, the staff were not that helpful (other than the late night receptionist) and the room was not clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Home from home

Posted Jul 22, 2016
This is a gorgeous, little boutique hotel (40 rooms) with excellent, quirky decor (only criticism would be the dining room, which could do with more style). It's peaceful & the views are magnificent. Staff are fluent in English and provide an incredibly high level of customer service. Thoroughly impressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney Australia

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Wotif
Location: Castelmola is up a high, very steep hill with stunning views of the landscape to Mt Etna and the sea.
Castelmola is an oasis away from Taormina. It was a pleasure to return to the hotel which has views casteloverlooking Mt Etna. The staff were professional, local, and helpful. The shuttle to and from Taormina is very useful. The pool and terrace also have wonderful views. The dining room and local restaurants are good.