Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO. USA

Sal was a sweetheart, a prince of a guy.

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Location, view, travel tips and owner are what we loved most. The property was squeaky clean and sat cozy just off the street.
Cons: Maybe the a/c maintenance for us hot-blooded Americano's. But don't let that deter you. It's a great place to stay. I'll return for sure.
Location: There's many deli's, grocery's (great, helpful employees) and more nearby. It's a pleasant change from busy Taormina.
We stayed for three nights. Large, clean rooms with kitchen. We didn't know about beforehand, but breakfast is only included for the rooms without kitchens. There's a charge for the guests with kitchens.. Sal suggested nearby stores that were both delicious and cheaper, thanks Sal! The A/C screamed like a banshee intermittingly and maintenance couldn't fix the issue. There was a brisk breeze, but to enjoy it, the front door had to be open. Not a good idea. Still minor problems at best. Great location. Great neighborhood to explore. Wonderful nearby shop owners. It's impossible not to love Sal, the owner. He lived in America for decades and speaks perfect English. His concern and welcoming charm was sincere. A truly great siciliano. His suggestions for sights to see were spot on. He made our stay wonderful. We'll definitely return. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, England

Nice apartment on the beach.

Posted Apr 18, 2015
We were a family of 4 in a two room apartment on the ground floor. It is basic, but suited our needs perfectly. You can wake up in the morning and look out from the balcony over the sea. The nearest beach in front of the hotel is stony, but a short walk along the beach brings you to a sandy stretch where we did have a swim. It was April and the water was still cold. The hotel director is very friendly and keen to help out. The hotel is well located for public transport (bus, train, excursions coaches) which we used regularly. Bring your own corkscrew though, as there wasn't one in the kitchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Jewel by the Sea

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Relaxed friendly atmosphere whilst retaining efficient and polite service
Cons: Proximity of railway, unfortunately a fact of life
Location: Sea fronting position with own lido. Nearby Etna, abundant historical sites & leisure activities. Stunning coastal & mountain scenery easily accessed
Notwithstanding two separate air flight delays plus huge traffic jam on auteostrada our very late arrival was absolutely no problem to our perfect host, Salvatore. Breakfast al fresco on a shaded terrace cannot be beaten with the weather we were blessed with. Made the most of attractions in the limited time available, could have done with another week or two. Local Bars, Restaurants, Shops also Supermarkets all good service and value Highlights, visit to Savoca & excellent lunch in restaurant 'Gelsonero', Cable car to Taormina town from Mazzaro, drive through Portella Mandrazzi pass in Monte Peloritani range with coffee at Novara di Sicilia, Gole di Alcantara park & gorge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

ncie small hotel by the beach

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: hospitality
Location: nice restaurants
The hotel was really nice and the owner is very very nice and friendly. I would definitely go back there the only downside it was the room view...next time i will ask for nicer view!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Giles from Oxford

Next to the beach

Posted Nov 7, 2013
The hotel is right on the beach, excellent for swimming. It is within walking distance of the railway station and there are bus stops nearby. Friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vilius from Vilnius

Nice terrace, but no internet

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: nice terrace with view to the sea
Cons: good wifi signal and fast internet
It had nice terrace, but one room had only small windows. Also there was no wifi Internet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J&M from UK

Great for a short break

Posted Oct 1, 2012
Pros: The location is terrific
Arrived at the Taormina Giardini station, the hotel was easy to find, just a 15 minute walk with a small case. Location was good for visits to Taormina using local buses and for walking the sea front to Naxos. Room was fine, occasional disturbance from passing trains but not a problem, air conditioning was effective, not sure about the mini-bar part fridge part cool box and emitted consider bale heat - useful for drying socks!! Restaurant area is superb right on top of the ocean, very friendly staff and a lovely breakfast. Enjoyed one evening meal at the hotel but there are less expensive options in the neighbourhood if you don't mind walking and exploring. Roof top terrace is superb but not well equipped. Probably the most costly hotel used during a two week travelling holiday but we enjoyed it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michelle from London

Great for what it is

Posted Aug 30, 2010
The hotel is down an alley way on the coast, can be slightly tricky to find. It appears to be part of a holiday home complex. Reception is attached to the restuatant. The hotel room was basic but newly refurbished to a good standard, it also had good air conditioning and an empty fridge. The hotel has its own beach where you can pay $14 a day for sunloungers and umbrella, or you could just walk up the beach and pitch your own towel for free. The beach was stoney but the sea is very clear. The hotel is a short walk to the station Taormina Giardini where you can get a coach to Taormina (it is possible to get their by walking up very step stairs - around 45mins). The airport bus from Catania also stops and picks up here. Overall we had a great time here and would recomend it to others, it is easy access to the beach and short ride to Taormina. Also lots of local restaurants walking distance along the coast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Italy

Wonderful customer service, even more amazing view and hotel!

Posted Feb 24, 2010
We stayed for two nights. The hotel was a little hard to find as we had to drive through running water, but it was worth it. The hotel room was amazing, we had a beautiful room with an exceptional view of the ocean. The staff was very curteous and the food (breakfast) was wonderful (traditional italian breakfast). The location is great, right at the bottom of Taormina. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sicily

Have to think about going back!

Posted Feb 24, 2010
When we arrived to the hotel..we first had to drive across a river, a rive that ran right into the ocean. It wasn't real deep but it was deep enough. Upon checking in the manager informed us that we did not have a ocean front room, which we paid for and he wanted to put us all in the same room. He then begin to explain that, that is how the rooms are set up through expedia but they come to him in a different way. We had to talk to him for about 45mins trying to figure out the room situation for 4 adults and 5 children. Finally the manager went ahead and opened 2 differnet rooms for us. Also, another couple that paid the same amount that we did, recieved a room that was the size of a small dining room and she was not happy at all, which resulted her in being real upset(crying) and wanting to go home. In the end we all recieved ocean front rooms, in which we orginally puchased.