Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

To die for views

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Breakfast each morning was very good--tasty with much variety. Location was great for walking the city.
Cons: Rooms are a bit small and the bed is hard.
Great hotel. Friendly staff. Balcony was a perfect place for an afternoon drink. Very close to tow. HIll was a great workout.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible bed

Posted Jan 2, 2017
The hardest bed I've ever attempted to sleep on. We were on the top floor, under the restaurant.. really loud. It's also a hard place to find and park for, especially if one of the roads leading to it are blocked. We were supposed to stay 2 nights, but checked out after 1. Only positive thing about the hotel was the view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Good location for the centre

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Location and views
Cons: Replenish coffee and tea in the room. More atmosphere in the hotel. More comfortable beds. Less rules. show that they have food offerings
Location: Location up a steep hill to the centre. Plenty of bars, restaurants and shops.
The selling point of the hotel is its location. It is a steep walk into town but close so be prepared to walk. The hotel is still in the 1970's in terms of decor and staff. The rooms were spacious but the beds were too hard for our liking. The air conditioning is noisy and tended to keep us awake. You only get one set of coffee sachets and they will charge you to replace which I have never come across in all the hotels I have ever stayed in and certainly not in a four star. What would they do if they had people stay for one night. I take it they refresh for the next customer. Very odd. They have rules of not bringing in your own food and drink and if you put anything in the fridge that should not be there there are instructions saying they will remove without your consent. I have never felt dictated too before in a hotel room and certainly not one that charges that much. There is no-one around in the evening in the bar or restaurant so odd atmosphere. The views are stunning from the rooms and the restaurant and the breakfast is a standard continental but you need to catch them if you want a fried egg or bacon cooking. In my opinion this is not a four star hotel and apart from the location and views I would not recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel within walking distance of town centre.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Staff
Location: see above
Good location for restaurants and shops. Excellent food served in both the pool "cafe" and main restaurant.Staff very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Stunning view and comfortable room.

Posted Aug 24, 2016
At first I was not sure of the look of the building, a grey concrete. However, the stunning view impressed me straight away. The room was very clean and very comfortable. Everything was well thought out. All the staff very kind. I even had soya milk at breakfast which does not happen often. If only the wasps didn't chase me around on the balcony, I will say it was perfect!
4 out of 5
by Rob from Australia

Below expectations

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
We booked this hotel as it came highly recommended from friends. It was the most expensive hotel we had booked for our holiday so our expectations were high. We saved this stop for the end of our trip as we had decided to treat ourselves. Sadly we were disappointed. The room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke after we had requested a non smoking room. We were unable to use the balcony (level 1, close to the garden side) as it was full of Mosquitos. The 3rd bed we requested for an adult was tiny. My teenage sons feet hung from the end of the bed. We had a constant trail of ants in the room with us which came from the garden outside. After complaining about the ants on 3 occasions we were offered another room. Staff however were lovely and buffet breakfast was Devine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect setting!

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The situation, the staff, the pool and the views.
Location: Perfectly situated for exploring Taormina.
This hotel is fantastic. The situation is perfect as it's just off the busy streets of Taormina and looks out over an idyllic view of the sea and Mount Etna. It's built into the side of a cliff, which means that there's a bit of a steep walk up to the road (5 minutes) but you need a bit of exercise after the breakfast! The choice of food is outstanding and there's a great variety to suit everybody. All the rooms have views and are of a good size. Special mention should go to the staff, from the very helpful receptionists, to the lovely breakfast staff and the great pool team. I have never stayed anywhere where the pool attendants take such pride and care in their jobs. They put towels down on the sunbeds and then move them through the day to follow the sun or shade, whatever's your preference! Taormina is a very pretty place and easily walkable and this hotel is in the best place to explore it all. Don't change a thing, it's perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire

Quite location near good bars and restaurants

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: The pool attendant was first class. He ensured everyone was comfortable and the pool side well ordered. The breakfast selection was very good
Location: The location is the only issue in that it is a steep climb to leave and access the local bars and restaurants.
We found the hotel very comfortable and all the staff very polite and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Worth the climb

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Excellent breakfast service. Proficient and helpful staff. They provide wash cloths in the bath - an uncommon service in Europe. Scrupulously clea
Location: Central location, next to the public gardens. Many nearby restaurants.
The first week in May was probably the coldest early May on record. Since Taormina experienced summer-like weather in March, the hotel switched its climate system from heat to air conditioning. Cold nights and I could have used an extra blanket. It is a steep climb from the hotel to the access street, but the view is well worth the effort. Not only a commanding view by daylight, it is also a fantastic night time panorama with all the night lights surrounding the bay. My room (416) was at the far end of the building where foliage blocked the morning sunlight and the cliff behind the hotel blocked the afternoon sun. For those who prefer shade, this is ideal.