Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: location, the uniquness of the hotel
Cons: nothing
great hotel, I wonder which country will be fortunate to stay at the San Domenico for the G7 meeting next year
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U, Canterbury

Quiet, relaxing, luxury hotel in an ideal position

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Location: San Domenico Palace is in probably the best position in Taormina with wonderful views over the bay, yet only 2 mins walk from the centre.
The room was exactly as advertised. We had booked a deluxe room with a sea view and we're really pleased to find we had a balcony too. San Domenico Palace hotel lives up to its name in that it is like a grand, rambling palace. The gardens are beautiful, tranquil with lots of different places to sit. The pool area, although not large, was lovely and the staff there were very attentive. Breakfast was always good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best hotel in Taormina

Posted Sep 22, 2016
An old convent reformed to become the best hotel in Taormina. A must!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bury St. Edmunds Suffolk

Swathed in history but...

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The hotel is steeped in history being having once been a monastery. It still has many original features. There are many fine original works of art etc
Cons: I think maybe the rooms could be improved, but to retain the character of the monastery this would be difficult. It would be a close call.
Location: Taomina is a town steeped in history with much to see and do. There is an absolute abundance of eating places, and people watching becomes a habit.
A quiet peaceful beautiful hotel with a wonderful history. This hotel has beautiful extensive gardens and wonderful sea views, but maybe because of the weakness of the pound against the euro since the UK vote on the EU, the prices charged for food and drink cannot be justified. (1,14 eu = £1) Who wants to pay 15-18 eu for a glass of unmeasured wine (small) or around 5eu for a tonic water, small bitter lemon, or around 8-10eu for a small bottle of beer. We opted for a Superior Room and paid the premium but it just wasn't worth the extra. It was very basic. All in all, Taormina is unfortunately pricing itself out of an acceptable place to visit now. This view is also one shared by someone we met whilst out there who is in the tourist industry. Having said all that, the place is a delight to experience and worthy of a visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire, England

Italian Elegance

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The large public rooms and open spaces, including the beautiful, natural and tranquil gardens. The artefacts and furniture of its history.
Cons: The breakfast. A beautiful dining room but the food could be improved.
Location: Perfect location in the heart of Taormina. Rather steep climbs up into the main street for the infirm. Surrounded by many good quality restaurants.
This is a beautiful hotel, retaining much of its original features, with very extensive public rooms and beautiful gardens overlooking the bay. It is very well situated in the heart of Taormina and surrounded by excellent restaurants. We had a superior double room with balcony with an excellent seat views. We only ate breakfast in the hotel because we thought the restaurants were extremely expensive. My only criticism would be that there was very little choice of fresh fruit at breakfast and we would not expensive to be offered tinned peaches, pears and prunes in such a costly 5 star hotel. Apart from that, the staff were attentive and friendly. We would like to return to this hotel, especially to relax in the tranquil gardens.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ragusa

San Domenico per vivere Taormina al TOP

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: mi è piaciuto tutto tranne il servizio in camera che non è all'altezza di un 5 stelle lusso
Cons: il servizio in camera: il frigobar non è stato riempito dopo la prima notte. servizio bar in piscina approssimativo e cameriere poco sorridente
Location: posizione TOP
Il San Domenico è sempre fantastico, un po' vecchiotto ma fantastico
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, Scotland

Fantastic Hotel. Highly recommended.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Fantastic hotel, does what it says on the tin and more. Their website does not do the hotel justice. Location is great, very close to the town. Staff are very helpful. Food was first class, albeit a little over priced, but that's what to expect from such a high class hotel. Mini-bar in room is very over priced. We found that we could buy a full bottle of the same make wine for less than 13 euros. A half bottle of same wine from the mini-bar was 16 euros. Breakfast choice was great. Views from the breakfast terrace amazing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Beautiful hotel with lovely gardens and a fantastic view Not your normal concrete built hotels If your looking for a hotel with history this won't be beaten
3 out of 5
by Yaffa from Melbourne.

Room with a great view.

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Charming dining areas, gardens and corridors. But not the rooms and bathroom. They need to be updated. The breakfast was magnificent.
5 out of 5
by maximo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels